BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 30d, 8h, 59m | CPU: 21% | MEM: 2342MB of 3971MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: does upgrade install fix windows errors?        Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
140
does upgrade install fix windows errors? or does a clean install do a better job?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Clean install would always do a better job, as it starts with a fresh copy of everything

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat May 24, 2008 10:05 am

Posts
2045
Not really, in most cases the problem's are passed on to the new OS.
I suppose if it were a driver problem, an upgrade to Vista might help, but otherwise, best do a clean install.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
In theory, if it replaces the effected system file (if that is the problem) then it may solve the problem, but if the problem is outside the core os files, then the problem is likely to spread to the other operating system.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: does upgrade install fix windows errors?        Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:02 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:24 am

Posts
140

Location
Fort Washington, MD USA

Favourite OS
OS 7
seika wrote:
does upgrade install fix windows errors? or does a clean install do a better job?


You may wish to try a "Repair" Install ...


Quote:
How do you perform a reinstallation of Windows XP, sometimes called a repair installation?

Configure your computer to start from the CD-ROM drive. For more information about how to do this, refer to your computer's documentation or contact your computer manufacturer. Then insert your Windows XP Setup CD, and restart your computer.

1.
When the Press any key to boot from CD message is displayed on your screen, press a key to start your computer from the Windows XP CD.

2.
Press ENTER when you see the message To setup Windows XP now, and then press ENTER displayed on the Welcome to Setup screen.

3.
Do not choose the option to press R to use the Recovery Console.

4.
In the Windows XP Licensing Agreement, press F8 to agree to the license agreement.

5.
Make sure that your current installation of Windows XP is selected in the box, and then press R to repair Windows XP.

6.
Follow the instructions on the screen to complete Setup.



Straight From M$ .... works pretty well, if your not really hosed up.

if you have any concerns Google "Repair Install"


Although there is this potential Issue ....

http://windowssecrets.com/2007/09/27/03 ... -XP-repair


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:21 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
...why the [censored] does everyone have to post M$, if you don't like buying their [censored] then don't, just stop posting M$ 8-)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:34 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
happy dude wrote:
...why the [censored] does everyone have to post M$, if you don't like buying their [censored] then don't, just stop posting M$ 8-)

I think Andy should put "M$" into the word filter so it turns it into ms.
Easy solution.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:47 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
merty wrote:
happy dude wrote:
...why the [censored] does everyone have to post M$, if you don't like buying their [censored] then don't, just stop posting M$ 8-)

I think Andy should put "M$" into the word filter so it turns it into ms.
Easy solution.


He's tried, theres a bug in PHPBB and the "$" symbol


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS