BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 9d, 4h, 11m | CPU: 51% | MEM: 2004MB of 4919MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: This is a retarded question but how do I get a high res...        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 10:32 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
1993

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
to squish and fit into a smaller monitor

I wanna do 1280X1024, but my monitor only goes to 1024x768 :S.

is there a way I can get a bigger res fitting?

(This is on my laptop)

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 10:34 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
No, the maximum resolution of the screen is not changeable, and if you tried to set a resolution than it can take you would most likely damage it. You should really get a better screen if the maximum on yours is only 1024x768...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:53 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
If you set a higher resolution it will simply scrolls around the screen. I'm not sure how to explain it, but the monitor isn't actually running at a higher resolution than it's maximum. It just makes the actual space on your desktop larger and lets the entire viewable area of your desktop scrollable up/down/left/right so that you can see the entire thing. I don't know who came up with this because it's practically worthless. You won't damage your monitor by setting resolutions/refresh rates it can't handle though. And yes, you can replace screens in laptops. It's best to have someone that knows what they are doing to do it for you/help you decide which screen to buy.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:19 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
965

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Get a new laptop. If it only does 1024*768, then it sounds like quite an old machine, so junk it (or send it to me :P) and get a new one.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:13 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
No, LCDs have a fixed maximum resolution and can't support anything over it since the LCD has a certain amount of pixels in it that make up the LCD. The only real way to get a higher resolution would be to use a feature in some graphics chips that let you have a virtual resolution of whatever you want, however your only able to see what the native resolution allows you to see, for example, your only able to see 1024x768 of a 1280x1024 resolution at a time, meaning you have to scroll around the screen to use the extra space.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:24 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
There exists a registry tweak that enables some kind of scaling feature... I think it was somewhere on the old OSBA archive.

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:32 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
965

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Yeah, I've used it, but it makes everything unreadable.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:37 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Yeah, the only way that could work is to just not display pixels... I can't imagine it looking even decent.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS