BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 29d, 8h, 1m | CPU: 52% | MEM: 6178MB of 11306MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Doomsday Engine for Doom        Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:40 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
Have you guys ever heard of the Doomsday Engine? Well, IT ROCKS! Search up videos on youtube about it. Their website is www.doomsdayhq.com . I'm pretty sure they're working on a new site. The Doomsday Engine really soups up Doom, The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2, Hexen, Heretic, and some other games. And if you want to get Doom or those other games, search up Abandonware Games, and click on the first thing you see; Squake. You'll figure out how to download what you want if you browse around. Tell me what you think about this.

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
There are tons of these, check out Doomworld's page on ports: http://www.doomworld.com/classicdoom/ports/ If you like Doom just check out Doomworld itself. They still come out with new map packs. There are ports that run on EVERY architecture you can imagine plus a few. I've even seen one that runs on an video camera. They add all sorts of features to the game, there was even one that added multiple levels. Check out Odamex: www.odamex.net It's meant to run on practically every platform, it's open source, and it is supposed to mimic the original gameplay as close as possible. Plus, if you want to play multiplayer you can just open up the launcher and pick a server. It's still actively under development. To bad no one ever plays though.

If you guys want to play Quake check out glQuake or Tenebrae. I would recommend Tenebrae if you want to make Quake look it's best. Check out how Tenebrae looks: http://tenebrae.sourceforge.net/index.p ... nshots.txt
Way better than the original engine. My favorite Quake game still has to be Quake II, the 3D explosions are awesome even if they are 10 years old.

Does anyone know if there are any source ports of the Quake II engine?

EDIT: Nevermind, apparently someone decided that they were going to be [censored] awesome and made this: http://quake2xp.quakedev.com/ and this http://jdolan.dyndns.org/trac/wiki/Quetoo (which has high-res textures) and this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qfusion - http://www.hkitchen.net/qfusion/ (because bump-mapping makes old games look awesome).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Yeah, there are a lot of ports.
For Doom i use Doom Legacy (i used Doomsday, it's nice but slow as hell, who needs every object having dynamic lightining?!)
For Quake i use Tenebrae on my PC and glQuake on my mobile.
For Quake 2 i use Quake2xp with hi-res textures pack.

Oh, and there was GL port of Wolfenstein3D, WolfGL or GLWolf or something like that...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
Doomsday works great for me, no lagging what so ever, and I have a ton of addons that I use to make doom look modern. :P

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
Quake's cool, it would be nice if I could run it on Doomsday. They have Doom for the palm, that can play WAD files, but it doesn't work with my palm... :? Anyways, if you guys are wondering how I run Doomsday so well (Doomsday lags when you're around a bunch of monsters), here are my specs:

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™
Version 6.0.6000 Build 6000
System Model MS-7309
System Type X86-based PC
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+, 2008 Mhz, 2 Core(s)
BIOS Version/Date MS-7309 V1.A, 12/7/2007
SMBIOS Version 2.5
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Total Physical Memory 958.81 MB
Available Physical Memory 447.54 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.12 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.32 GB
Page File Space 1.23 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:10 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
It shouldn't lag unless you're have a crappy graphics card. You're PC is pretty mid-grade, I'd think (it being Doom and all) that it should run fine on even much older PCs.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
gammainfection wrote:
Quake's cool, it would be nice if I could run it on Doomsday. They have Doom for the palm, that can play WAD files, but it doesn't work with my palm... :? Anyways, if you guys are wondering how I run Doomsday so well (Doomsday lags when you're around a bunch of monsters), here are my specs:

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™
Version 6.0.6000 Build 6000
System Model MS-7309
System Type X86-based PC
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+, 2008 Mhz, 2 Core(s)
BIOS Version/Date MS-7309 V1.A, 12/7/2007
SMBIOS Version 2.5
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Total Physical Memory 958.81 MB
Available Physical Memory 447.54 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.12 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.32 GB
Page File Space 1.23 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys


Looks good.
But what kind of OS are you using the x86 or x64 version.
You can run the x64 version (the processor is designed for x64).
But maybe also put an extra gig of memory in it.

And still using the RTM?, the SP1 solves lot of problems and it a bit faster for me.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:42 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
My motherboard supports 4GB of RAM. I run the x86 version of Vista. There are a lot of drivers and stuff that I use that only supports x86, and I think I'm gonna stick with x86 until everything computer related turns 64 bit.

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
And what does jdoom (doomsday) look like (with addons)? Well, this will solve all of anyones questions:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9FV37Sq ... re=related

The video buffers during showing what regular doom looks like, but that just expresses how cruddy plain ol' doom looks, and sounds. :D
EDIT: The plain old doom is running on Doomsday, but without the Jdoom Resource pack. So this is to show what addons do.

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Meh, the 3D models look pretty amateurish IMO. I'll still play with the sprites. The originals may look shitty by todays standards but they look awesome compared to the 3D models. I'd rather see my enemies explode when I shoot half of their body away with a shot gun than just fall over dead.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 4:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
Get some gore mods for jdrp! :D

http://forums.newdoom.com/showthread.php?t=33035

Check out the Skippy-FormerSergeant and X-Cyberdemon. They're kind of creepy. :|

And you forget you're looking at a YouTube video, try actually playing it. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:22 pm

Posts
175

Location
Germany
I have Doomsday on my PC. It rocks.
Doom 1, 2 and Hexen :)
It even works with my 1280x1024 no huge pixel blocks, a smooth old-fashioned look

Screenshots if wished ;)


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 6:17 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
You mean if we wish to see them? Cause if that's what you meant, well, I'd like to see some! :)
Doomsday, by far, is the best solution to making doom and other WAD games look good. I'm glad you use it. The only thing I hate is that when you get the new version, jdrp works, but you can't put in an improved soundtrack... And if I get the old version, the good improved soundtrack works, but I can't seem to get jdrp working... :? I'm the kind of person who likes midi, but only on a really good sounding piano.

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
JDRP working on 1.8.6! I'm Happy!!!! :)

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm

Posts
550

Location
Earth

Favourite OS
I don't pick favorites.
I hate how nobody answers when a post isn't on the front page... :x ... :D

_________________
Instagram: samxthomas
Flickr: https://www.flic.kr/lucemsequimur


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS