BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 9h, 59m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 2670MB of 4311MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: STOP error while installing xp pro        Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 28, 2007 5:27 pm

Posts
29
hello,
i'm trying to install windows xp on an HP Pavilion dv7 notebook to dualboot with vista(cant use vmware/vpc/virtualbox, any type of bridged connection results in immediate termination of network access at my school, and i need to access the network). the setup begins to install, loads all of the components. when it goes to "setup is starting windows" it generates a stop error:
STOP: 0x0000007b
with the normal text, nothing else on the stop line i believe. i've tested the disc in virtualbox before i burned it and the disc did work. the specs on this pc are as follows:
intel c2d p7350 2.00GHz
GeForce 9600M GT
centrino 2 mobile chipset
optiarc BC-5500s BD Rom drive
320 GB HDD
intel ich9m/m-e sata AHCI controller
Any solutions to fix this problem?
Thanks!
-matt


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:50 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I would go into the Bios and disable "AHCI" (there should be an option to change to "ATA" instead of "AHCI" somewhere) - I had a BSoD when first loading Vista onto my new laptop and it was caused by this being enabled by default. Not sure if this is the cause of your problem as I think when I tried XP it loaded the components and then said that no compatible hard droves could be found and Setup would exit, but it's worth a try as this AHCI doesn't seem to help matters in my experience.

Is the XP disc slipstreamed with SP3? On such a new machine that's not really designed for XP it would help to at least use the latest version of XP, if you have to use XP.

Is there anything else on the BSoD apart from the Stop code and the standard text about removing recently installed software etc? eg file names or error descriptions?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 12:39 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 28, 2007 5:27 pm

Posts
29
the disc has sp2 on it, and there is nothing else on the stop screen. i will try disabling ahci and see what happens
EDIT: there is no AHCI in the setup menu, but i think i found out why it isnt installing:
http://www.insydetech.com/products/products-efi-h2o.htm
apparently my computer comes with insydeH2O V. 3.5 and that may be why xp wont install.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
A machine that new would have AHCI and even if you manage to get by the STOP error you'll have to find AHCI drivers or like VUR2 said it won't be able to see the hard-drive. More and more machines are removing AHCI options in the BIOS because turning it off can degrade performance and Vista comes with AHCI drivers. You'll have to find out what AHCI controller it is and download the XP drivers for it and put them on a floppy drive in the root directory and put them into a USB floppy drive or you can integrate them into the XP disc with nLite. It's easier and faster to throw them on a floppy but for a lot of people that's not an option. Also, you'll need the Universal Audio Architecture which is only available through OEMs officially but you can find just the update itself on various forums. It comes packaged with SP3 or usually (but not always) it comes with the sound drivers for your card if you can find them for XP. If your laptop manufacturer doesn't supply XP drivers, good luck finding most of them. The video is especially difficult to find for laptops when the OEM doesn't offer them and you can pretty much forget things like media-card readers, thumb-print reader, extra buttons that are specific to your laptop, etc. Sometimes these things will work but chances are you'll be left in the cold.

Fact is, hardware manufacturers don't want to have to support more operating systems than they have to and the further away we get from Vista's release date the harder it is to find XP drivers.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:18 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
QuiescentWonder wrote:
More and more machines are removing AHCI options in the BIOS because turning it off can degrade performance and Vista comes with AHCI drivers.

How much can performance be increased if you enable this then? In the Bios on my laptop it says that changing the setting after having installed the OS can render the OS unbootable and mean you have to reinstall; is this true? (just that I was thinking maybe I should now enable it if it helps performance - I turned it off before as Vista crashed with a BSoD when trying to install with it enabled but apparently SP1 has these drivers so it's ok (I installed it just before SP1 came out so was using an original SP0 DVD).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Posts
422
I have this same problem, and I just integrated SATA II driver to XP instalation disk with nLite. Check your chipset, and try find on internet, and integrate this into text mode setup, and this should works.

_________________
I don`t know what i am looking :P
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
How much can performance be increased if you enable this then? In the Bios on my laptop it says that changing the setting after having installed the OS can render the OS unbootable and mean you have to reinstall; is this true? (just that I was thinking maybe I should now enable it if it helps performance - I turned it off before as Vista crashed with a BSoD when trying to install with it enabled but apparently SP1 has these drivers so it's ok (I installed it just before SP1 came out so was using an original SP0 DVD).


I don't have a clue, I read it in a BIOS setup screen though, so I've always assumed it was true. I would see how turning the setting on would make it unbootable because Windows wouldn't be loading the drivers for it and wouldn't have a chance to boot up and install the drivers. I don't know what turning it off would do though. You might have to reinstall, if you really wanted you could probably hook it up to a USB-IDE adapter and boot from it that way after you turn AHCI on, then it would find the hardware and install the drivers and you could put it back into the computer and it would work. Other than that, I don't know how else you would install them and enable it without reinstalling Windows. I'm not sure about Vista though. Just turn it on, if your computer doesn't boot up then turn it back off.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS