BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 6h, 24m | CPU: 35% | MEM: 2110MB of 4243MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: why doesn't earth alerts work with x64?        Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
140
why doesn't earth alerts work with x64? it crashes at the splash screen.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
This was kinda answered in the other topic, based on the most common reason for .Net programs not running under 64-bit - what error does it give?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
140
none it just exits.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 2:19 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Check in the logs. Right click Computer and select Manage, you should see application logs in there somewhere.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:18 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
140
i didnt find any log files.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
You didn't find any or you didn't find any related to Earth Alerts?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:27 pm

Posts
140
nothing. its not that it crashes. it just doesnt work.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
I was talking about logs... Did you find any logs at all, or were you saying that you looked through them and you couldn't find any related to Earth Alerts. If it opens and then just closes that means it's crashing (unless you want to debate the definition). You should see something about it in the Application Logs.

I didn't have a Windows machine in front of me before, so this should make more sense. Did you right-click Computer and select Manage, then open up Event Viewer and look in there under Windows Logs -> Application?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Start -> Control Panel -> (two ways from here)

In XP/Vista ''new'' menu:
System and maintance -> Administrative tools -> Event viewer

In Older/XP/Vista ''classic'' menu:
Administrative tools -> Event viewer

Or:

Right-Click my computer --> Manage --> Event viewer (on XP/Vista).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I just tested this program in my XP Pro x64 test VM and it seems to run fine - when you first load it it goes into the system tray so I thought it had crashed but actually it was there and clicking it brought it up. This is a pretty clean XP with just the .Net 3.5 full download package installed. The program seems to run as a 32-bit program on mine, suggesting it has already been compiled to target x86 only as otherwise it would run as a native x64 app.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
I never even thought about that.

Are you running Vista x64 or XP x64?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
On the site they seem to say it doesn't work with XP or Vista 64-bit, but then it did for me...maybe it depends on other things like what versions of .Net you have etc :S As far as I know with .Net it shouldn't make a lot of difference what the unerlying OS is though, the only difference is whether your app gets compiled and run as a native x64 one or not, but this one seems to be set to run as x86 anyway, and the x86 Framework on Windows x64 should be the same as on Windows x86.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS