BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 14h, 0m | CPU: 34% | MEM: 2945MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Belkin router problem        Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
My Belkin router isn't working. It isn't working with the Internet. It sometimes does, but only for about an hour, then it goes again. I'm directly plugged into the modem now and we've just had the engineers in from my ISP to have a look at the modem and they found no problems with it. The make of the router is F5D8233-4v3. The version is 3000x.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
There's a solution that solves most problems with Belkin routers; it's commonly known as a "dustbin" or "garbage can", depending on where you're from... ;) Seriously, these things are bad, we had one and it was total crap. If your connection is fine when plugged directly into the modem then bin the router (you can try pushing the "reset" button first if you want, this clears everything from the router and requires you to re-enter all of your settings, but it sounds like what usually happens to Belkin stuff has happened and it is finished), if the problems persist then it's your connection.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
There's a solution that solves most problems with Belkin routers; it's commonly known as a "dustbin" or "garbage can", depending on where you're from... ;) Seriously, these things are bad, we had one and it was total crap. If your connection is fine when plugged directly into the modem then bin the router (you can try pushing the "reset" button first if you want, this clears everything from the router and requires you to re-enter all of your settings, but it sounds like what usually happens to Belkin stuff has happened and it is finished), if the problems persist then it's your connection.


Unfortunately I have to agree with this statement. All Belkin routers that I have heard of have gone bad pretty quickly. They're one of the worst makes you can buy at the moment. I suggest replacing it with something a little better, like Linksys or D-Link. They seem to get the best ratings these days.

The only thing you could try before changing it is a firmware update, and see if that helps anything.

Also, is your connection ADSL? Try setting the Idle timeout to "Always on" and see if that helps, if its not already set to that.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 21, 2007 5:08 pm

Posts
192
Thank you for all your help, everyone. It's now working fine.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Make sure it has good ventilation. If you have papers stacked on top of it or it's in a cabinet or carpet you might have overheating problems, which will also make the hardware not last as long. If you start having the problem again and have to buy a new one, I would recommend (if you aren't afraid of a little tinkering) that you buy a Linksys WRT54GS and load DD-WRT on it. They cost a little more than the WRT54G but they have twice the RAM. Even the micro distribution of DD-WRT takes up 95% of the RAM right after it's booted on a WRT54G, which is why I suggest WRT54GS to people. Check out http://www.dd-wrt.com/ for more info on DD-WRT.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
QuiescentWonder wrote:
Make sure it has good ventilation. If you have papers stacked on top of it or it's in a cabinet or carpet you might have overheating problems, which will also make the hardware not last as long. If you start having the problem again and have to buy a new one, I would recommend (if you aren't afraid of a little tinkering) that you buy a Linksys WRT54GS and load DD-WRT on it. They cost a little more than the WRT54G but they have twice the RAM. Even the micro distribution of DD-WRT takes up 95% of the RAM right after it's booted on a WRT54G, which is why I suggest WRT54GS to people. Check out http://www.dd-wrt.com/ for more info on DD-WRT.


I have the GL version but despite this I'd still say go for DD-WRT. Its very powerful and totally stable in my experience. I've not once encountered a crash.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS