BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 29d, 8h, 3m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 2328MB of 3931MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: It feels like I'm on dial-up        Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 1:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
I pretty much am on dial-up as my broadband has been shaped. It's so slow that as I'm writing this sentence, the smilies to the left still haven't loaded. But to top it all off, my internet is randomly dropping the connection. Sometimes it will just do it for no reason, but most of the time, it will drop the connection when I hang up the phone. It's starting to get more and more frequent and hence annoying. I have replaced the splitter but it's still the same result. Also there's not much in my connection. Basically it's like this:

Wall Socket>>Surge Protector>>Splitter>>Modem/Phone

I'm pretty sure it's not the surge protector because when the internet conks out, the phone is still alive.

So I'm getting speeds of 7-8 kilobytes per second and the internet conks out when someone calls. It really feels like dial-up.

Does anyone know what I can do to help this problem or where the problem might be?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 1:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
been capped? cause thats the speed i get when i go over my limit


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12410

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Who is your ISP? Some ISP's shape down to 64Kbps when you go over your download cap.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
599

Location
Vienna, Austria
Could be a dl cap... I was capped too


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 6:48 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:26 pm

Posts
104

Location
Bristol

Favourite OS
Windows XP MCE Build 2600 ;)
Could be you been capped, or could be something to do with your modem/router your best bet is to test them and your connection, you can do this by giving your ISP a call if your on a BT line and they will tell you if there is a fault on your line normally within 24 hours and they will usaly do there best to fix the problem you are encountering, as it has happened to me in the past i had a max connection speed of 2mb and i was only getting 100kbps download speed on unlimited bandwith package and this kept on happening for 10 months and then it was fixed, must of been a big fault lol :S

Thanks

Jordan

_________________
--Signature Coming Soon--
--------------------------


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
If the Internet is going out when you get a phone call, do you have filters on every single phone, fax machine, satellite receiver, etc. Anything that isn't a DSL modem should have a filter on it. BUT make sure there is no filter between the DSL modem and the wall socket anywhere. If that isn't the case, just try not using the surge protector, if that fixes it just buy a new surge protector.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:55 pm

Posts
69
I'm assuming you're on DSL?

If so, can you access your modem's web interface and post what speed it's currently syncing at, attenuation and SNRM?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Well we all know aussie land has [censored] DSL because
1) The data costs from US>AU
2) Telstra's monopoly

The speeds are right but the dropouts

- Does every phone/fax have a filter?
- Does the modem have a filter? If so remove it
- The surge protector may be interfering with the DSL
- Is your landlines phone crackly? If so its probably a line fault

If its a line fault (yes, I know youre in aussie land :P) call Telstra and say you have a fault with your voice service (DONT mention DSL or internet or anything cause they'll either charge you like $300, try to move you to bigpond, or just not do anything at all


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
we have the same problem here, except it is telecom not telstra. I remember when we first got broadband, we forgot to put a filter on our Sky reciever (pay tv).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
___ wrote:
we have the same problem here, except it is telecom not telstra. I remember when we first got broadband, we forgot to put a filter on our Sky reciever (pay tv).


If I remember correctly Telstra own Telecom NZ. And for the record, it used to be known as Telecom Australia until it renamed/was privatised


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS