BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 32d, 13h, 9m | CPU: 33% | MEM: 2503MB of 3947MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Gaming Computer        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
Intel® Core™ 2 Quad-Core Processor Q6600 (2.40Ghz, 1066MHz FSB, 8MB cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 - English
4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [4x1024]
Hard Drive 1 TB Serial ATA non Raid (7200 Rpm)
1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® 9800 GX2 graphics card
TV Tuner (analog/digital) with Remote Control
16X DVD+/-RW (Read/Write DVD, CD)

Are these good specs for the more most power demanding games?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:40 am

Posts
345

Location
The Netherlands
you'd better get a e8400 (better for games, but dualcore).
And 2x ati hd4870 in crossfire, much faster than 9800gx2.
Good luck ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I'd probably go for a Core 2 Duo with a higher clock and FSB speed instead - cheaper and usually better for games as they tend to perform better with faster cores rather than more cores.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Well i only would change the 1024MB Video to 512MB because:

1) There is no actually any different in performance
2) Its a hell of a lot cheaper.

Besure to use a x64 SYSTEMBUILDER! (Systembuilder is way cheaper then a retail and includes all the same), for ultimate you pay about 50€ extra (so not more expensive).
And if you stick to Home Premium, if you install VPC or VMWare, ignore the not designed for that version because thats a load of crap, it works fine.

For the TV Tuner (I have a Pinnacle TV Analog card (ANALOG DOESNT WORK WITH x64, So my card is useless), Only digital work with Vista x64.

And for Power Demanding, get an 600W or more.

Almost the same as my PC, its going to be good.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:05 pm 
Reply with quote
You should buy an E8400 oder (the upcoming) E8600 (or E8700?) - also you shoud use a GTX280 or ATI Radeon 4850/4870.


Top
 PostPost subject: Re: Gaming Computer        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12410

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Beta Freak wrote:
Intel® Core™ 2 Quad-Core Processor Q6600 (2.40Ghz, 1066MHz FSB, 8MB cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 - English
4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [4x1024]
Hard Drive 1 TB Serial ATA non Raid (7200 Rpm)
1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® 9800 GX2 graphics card
TV Tuner (analog/digital) with Remote Control
16X DVD+/-RW (Read/Write DVD, CD)

Are these good specs for the more most power demanding games?


Sounds good but as above, get a higher spec Core2Duo and not a Quad core. Virtually no games can use more than 1 or 2 cores at the moment so the extra cores will be wasted and performance lost. I also recommend the ASUS P5K-E WiFi motherboard. Its what I have and I wouldn't swap it for the world. Supports 1333MHz FSB and all the multi-core Intel processors in-case you ever want to upgrade.

The memory is good so keep that.

Hard drive, again good, but make sure its one of the Samsung Spinpoint F1 drives, they're the superior drives and also cheaper because of their popularity.

If you can afford it, get a Radeon HD 4870. They beat all the GeForce cards out at the moment.

Personally I wouldn't bother with a TV tuner. You can get online TV for free now (www.zattoo.com)

DVD drive is bog standard so any make would do the job just fine.


What I will recommend though is that you install Vista Ultimate x64 because otherwise you're not getting the best out of the system, your graphics will suffer due to not having the latest Direct X and also the system will perform overall better on 64bit. Believe me, I've been there and tried it! 32bit XP vs 64bit Vista there is just no match at all. Vista took the lead.

If you need Vista, drop me a PM ;)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:27 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 27, 2008 6:38 pm

Posts
34

Location
The UK
As above, drop the graphics card an get an ATi HD4870. Best bang-for-your-buck card on the market right now.

I also have an P5K-E motherboard, and it's a brilliant piece of kit. ^.^

_________________
Spreading the Companion Cube love!
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12410

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I forgot to add that you should get a half decent PSU. I have a hiper 590watt silent PSU and its great. Don't go expensive on everything else and leave the PSU to suffer because you will suffer when it gives up the ghost and has no protection circuitry that takes the rest of the system components with it!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
Did I mention it was Dell? (waits for sudden onslaught of posts saying don't buy it :P )
Will I be much better buying the parts and building it myself? I'd rather not if a) it won't save me that much and b) ill be likely to [censored] it up.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 7:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I don't think there's anything wrong with Dell, they are usually good value and are better quality than some of the other OEMs, though building your own gives you a lot more choice in terms of parts so you can get everything exactly how you want it, and also tends to be cheaper - it's not especially difficult, even I managed to do it and I'd never done one before :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 7:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12410

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Beta Freak wrote:
Did I mention it was Dell? (waits for sudden onslaught of posts saying don't buy it :P )
Will I be much better buying the parts and building it myself? I'd rather not if a) it won't save me that much and b) ill be likely to [censored] it up.


Its always better building it yourself. When its custom build you know exactly what make of parts has gone into it etc. You also get the full manufacturers guarantee from all the parts and won't have to deal with Dell's customer support.

Upgrades on Dell PC's online builder are stupid. The PC you're asking for I could build for about £600, like I did my own. I can bet Dell's builder is about 25% or more higher than that?

Building a PC isn't as hard as it sounds, and since I only live 15 miles or so away from you, I'd be more than welcome to meet up and show you how to build it! The hardest part is putting the heat sink on the board, and I'm serious about that (took me about 10 mins!).

If you want to custom build it I'll help you out on MSN. Bear in mind it too me 1 month to fully design my custom PC with the parts and specs I wanted!

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
Think i'm going to stick with a Dell, are these specs any better?

XPS 420 E8500 Core 2 Duo Processor (3.16GHz, 6MB, 1333MHz)
4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [4x1024]
1.2 TB (2x 640 GB) Serial ATA (7200 Rpm) Dual HDD Config No Raid
Graphics 512mb ATI Radeon 3870 graphics card (is everyone agreed that 1GB makes no difference?)
Blu-Ray RW Disc Drive (read/write CD/DVD/Blu-Ray Disc)


Last edited by Beta Freak on Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:02 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Wouldn't bother with the Blu-Ray personally, you'd be paying a fortune for that and I don't see that it has much use if you have a DL DVD writer and large hard drive, both of which are dirt cheap nowadays.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Wouldn't bother with the Blu-Ray personally, you'd be paying a fortune for that and I don't see that it has much use if you have a DL DVD writer and large hard drive, both of which are dirt cheap nowadays.

Included in the price, no choice for anything else.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
The most blu-ray drives are cheaper now.
Because the most can only read it, not write, writing is more expensive.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
You should get 2x2gb ram, that gives you the 4 gig you're after but also leaves you 2 free slots for another 2x2gb at a later date. Then you dont have to scrap all 4gb to upgrade to 8, you simply have to buy another 4gb.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Posts
786
Ok. Just want to check again, is everyone agreed that 1gb graphic card is no better than 512mb performance wise?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
The difference would be marginal. It just menas it can load more textures into memory for potentialy faster execution, but with enough fast system ram to swap to, you're unlikely to be able to tell the difference in game with the 512mb card. Benchmarks might be higher with the 1gb, but they are not real world.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
It's the core of the graphics card that really makes the difference. The onboard RAM isn't even noticeable in most scenarios.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:11 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
if you are going to buy dell, don't even boot into windows, just boot a vista dvd and format.

about the bluray, if you are actually going to watch movies and have a decent size monitor or tv then get it. I have one and i love it :D. Get some decent surround sound and it rocks


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:18 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
___ wrote:
if you are going to buy dell, don't even boot into windows, just boot a vista dvd and format.

___ has a point. I remember the first time I fixed my friends Dell Inspiron 1300 laptop (when it had XP home and 512mb ram). So much bloat! The mcafee crap as well asked for a password to do anything :|

Needless to say, it now has 2gb of ram and Vista ultimate


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
happy dude wrote:
___ wrote:
if you are going to buy dell, don't even boot into windows, just boot a vista dvd and format.

___ has a point. I remember the first time I fixed my friends Dell Inspiron 1300 laptop (when it had XP home and 512mb ram). So much bloat! The mcafee crap as well asked for a password to do anything :|

Needless to say, it now has 2gb of ram and Vista ultimate

Yeah Dell do tend to shove a lot of rubbish on their computers.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
happy dude wrote:
___ wrote:
if you are going to buy dell, don't even boot into windows, just boot a vista dvd and format.

___ has a point. I remember the first time I fixed my friends Dell Inspiron 1300 laptop (when it had XP home and 512mb ram). So much bloat! The mcafee crap as well asked for a password to do anything :|

True of any OEM system, why would you ever use the Windows that comes pre-installed? (especially with Vista as you don't even need to find an OEM version of the right edition of Windows that is just the MS files and no crapware, the retail discs accept the OEM key on the machine unlike with XP and previous)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:04 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I set up my aunties new Dell laptop not long ago, by that I mean removed all of the pre-installed rubbish.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:18 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:26 pm

Posts
104

Location
Bristol

Favourite OS
Windows XP MCE Build 2600 ;)
AWSOME PC :D why dont you have vista ultimate or are you considering it?

_________________
--Signature Coming Soon--
--------------------------


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS