BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 10h, 27m | CPU: 33% | MEM: 5519MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Internet Sharing problem        Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I have 2 PC's.

My Vista PC is connected to the internet and to my XP machine (with crosscable)

Diagram:

INTERNET ----- Vista ====== XP

--- = Regular internet cable
=== = Cross-over cable

I want that my Vista PC share the internet connection with XP

I now only can share files between them
My vista PC has the following network adapters configured

1) DHCP assigned
2) 192.168.3.50 --> 192.168.3.51 (on XP)

Both are onboard network adapter of the same model.


Can i use my XP machine to connect to the internet via the Vista machine?
Do i need to configure more or do i need to configure it different?

On Vista the following services are active:
Networkdetecten
Share files and folders
Secure with password

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 1:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Its easy to do with Vista and XP.

On the PC that will share the internet, select both network adapters and right click. Select "Bridge Connections".

(XP is easy but on Vista its a bit hidden: Control Panel > Network and Sharing Center > "Manage network connections" > Select both network adapters and right click. Select "Bridge Connections")

On the PC to get the shared internet, simply set it to Automatic IP assignment.

That should be all you need to do :)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Thanks Andy.

That worked perfectly.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
DjRob wrote:
Thanks Andy.

That worked perfectly.


It did? Bloody hell, lol. That has to be a first for any ICS tutorial I've ever written :P It always seems to work for me but never anyone else! Glad it worked :)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:42 am

Posts
173

Location
Manchester, UK

Favourite OS
AmigaOS3.9
My girlfriend and I had a "single user" ADSL... then we used a router to connect to the internet, and voila ;)

Cable from each computer to the router :D

Bascially, in this setup, the router does the "bridge connections" of your Vista ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:02 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Well, this is my Network.

Internet --> Modem --> Router -|-> PC (parants, shared pc)

| -> PC (Vista) --> PC (XP).

So its from internet to router and then there are 2 PC connected, and 1 PC is on my PC because i have only 1 cable to the router and not two.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS