BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 52d, 23h, 56m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 5802MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
I'd personally move it from the strange setup system that's part WinPE, part i386 that it has at the moment, and Make it a WIM install like Vista. It's pretty simply done, You just install the OS in a virtual machine, make the modifications (such as remove the timebomb), and sysprep it. Then just mount the VM Hard drive, take a WIM capture using the widely-available ximage tools, and put that in one of the Microsoft WIM-based setups from Vista.

Alternatively, you can remove the timebomb from the i386 installation, by editing the Registry Hives, though I don't have a guide for that handy, you can find it with a bit of effort.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:21 pm

Posts
458
mdogg wrote:
I'm going to try and h4x0r it to a full version.


lol, TweakNT works on that build btw ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Namronia wrote:
mdogg wrote:
hounsell wrote:
mdogg wrote:
I'm going to try and h4x0r it to a full version.

It probably won't be too hard. You could simply remove the timebomb from the setup and repack it.

Sorry for the n00bism, but how?


may with tweaknt? it still works since its nt based and pre-vista ;)

Okay. What file(s) do I have to repack to remove the timebomb on install? Or does anyone have some instructions how to do it?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
mdogg wrote:
Namronia wrote:
mdogg wrote:
hounsell wrote:
mdogg wrote:
I'm going to try and h4x0r it to a full version.

It probably won't be too hard. You could simply remove the timebomb from the setup and repack it.

Sorry for the n00bism, but how?


may with tweaknt? it still works since its nt based and pre-vista ;)

Okay. What file(s) do I have to repack to remove the timebomb on install? Or does anyone have some instructions how to do it?

If you can't use tweakNT, you really don't deserve to use the operation system.

PS: are you trying to make a posting record or are you really board? I didn't really notice you on this board until you were making alot of post this month. Are you on summer vacation @ a computer? :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I dont think that TweakNT works with SETUP FILES.
mdogg, after installation use tweakNT.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
He's asking how to remove the timebomb from the install, not after the install, in which case, TweakNT is essentially useless. He'd need to edit the reg hives, though I can't remember what to edit to remove the timebomb.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
hounsell wrote:
He's asking how to remove the timebomb from the install, not after the install, in which case, TweakNT is essentially useless. He'd need to edit the reg hives, though I can't remember what to edit to remove the timebomb.


I know what he meant.
But i just said that TweakNT doesnt work with setup files.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
DjRob wrote:
hounsell wrote:
He's asking how to remove the timebomb from the install, not after the install, in which case, TweakNT is essentially useless. He'd need to edit the reg hives, though I can't remember what to edit to remove the timebomb.


I know what he meant.
But i just said that TweakNT doesnt work with setup files.


I didn't see your reply. Obviously you posted yours while I was typing mine ;)

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
TweakNT doesn't work with setup files since it edits the registries.
For setup files, edit setuphiv.reg and change all values to 00.

PS: anyone receive a email saying that these kits are on back order?


Last edited by XDude on Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
hounsell wrote:
DjRob wrote:
hounsell wrote:
He's asking how to remove the timebomb from the install, not after the install, in which case, TweakNT is essentially useless. He'd need to edit the reg hives, though I can't remember what to edit to remove the timebomb.


I know what he meant.
But i just said that TweakNT doesnt work with setup files.


I didn't see your reply. Obviously you posted yours while I was typing mine ;)


Ok, now i see the time, exactly the same, damn this has happend many times.

If the phpBB3 was out, you could see if anyone has replayed in the time your were typing before converming it.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 11, 2007 4:48 pm

Posts
148

Location
UK
Nice one finally free for the UK!!!!

Anymore free stuff for us ukers?! :D


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:49 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:14 am

Posts
210

Location
Care-a-Lot
XDude wrote:
TweakNT doesn't work with setup files since it edits the registries.
For setup files, edit setuphiv.reg and change all values to 00.

PS: anyone receive a email saying that these kits are on back order?


Not me, I haven't had the problem with backordering yet

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:59 pm 
Reply with quote
XDude wrote:
TweakNT doesn't work with setup files since it edits the registries.
For setup files, edit setuphiv.reg and change all values to 00.

Wont work...

hounsell wrote:
Alternatively, you can remove the timebomb from the i386 installation, by editing the Registry Hives, though I don't have a guide for that handy, you can find it with a bit of effort.

Wont work...

The dpcdll.dll does a check during bootup, of the PID generated during the
installation...
If the PID was generated via a Pidgen.dll from a build that was
a trial, then the dpcdll.dll will see that, & the timebomb will still be present,
regardless of whether or not the build string is gone from the desktop...
& if you use a pidgen from a full build, you'll receive another error right
at the welcome screen, stating that the systems license is invalid, & get
a row of numbers after it, which result in zip when googling for it...
Believe me, been there, done that, on the 3706 VLK build I made a couple
of years ago...
I also went through this when removing the timebombs from the R2
betas whilst they were being released...
& your regular wpa fix used on the XP builds wont work with this one
either as there's other checks done during bootup, though I don't
see this as a thread for discussing hacking an OS, so I'll leave it there...


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
XDude wrote:
mdogg wrote:
Namronia wrote:
mdogg wrote:
hounsell wrote:
mdogg wrote:
I'm going to try and h4x0r it to a full version.

It probably won't be too hard. You could simply remove the timebomb from the setup and repack it.

Sorry for the n00bism, but how?


may with tweaknt? it still works since its nt based and pre-vista ;)

Okay. What file(s) do I have to repack to remove the timebomb on install? Or does anyone have some instructions how to do it?

If you can't use tweakNT, you really don't deserve to use the operation system.

PS: are you trying to make a posting record or are you really board? I didn't really notice you on this board until you were making alot of post this month. Are you on summer vacation @ a computer? :P

I know how to use TweakNT. I just don't know how to repack it into the setup which was what I was asking.

And in response to your question, I used to post on more than this forum, but this month I kind of stopped posting on other forums. Instead, I spend all the time I usually spend browsing all the forums I used to post on, on this forum.

And also, thanks for your analogy, KenOath.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
539

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
This should be in the free stuff thread :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 3:48 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:19 pm

Posts
66
Did anybody recieve it till now?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:05 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:56 am

Posts
50
I found a page http://clipmarks.com/clipmark/A23CBF16-B28D-4436-A9B5-40839DD30203 and it explains how to convert server 2000 and server 2003 evaluation to full copies pre install. I am not sure it it works with home server, though it would be worth a try :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Randomiser wrote:
I found a page http://clipmarks.com/clipmark/A23CBF16-B28D-4436-A9B5-40839DD30203 and it explains how to convert server 2000 and server 2003 evaluation to full copies pre install. I am not sure it it works with home server, though it would be worth a try :)

Kenoath said that doesn't work


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:41 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
I ordered a German and a English Kit three days ago, and what did I get today.... a Spanish Kit 8-)

EDIT: I tried to order two new Kits......

Image

Seems that someone does not want me to get the proper Kit >.<

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Atleast you got something


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Just got an e-mail from Microsoft, that they runed out of packages, when new ones come they ship it to me.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
539

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
Argh! It doesn't say UK anymore :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Sure it does, click INTERNATIONAL ORDERS --> EUROPE --> UNITED KINGDOM.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
539

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
DjRob wrote:
Sure it does, click INTERNATIONAL ORDERS --> EUROPE --> UNITED KINGDOM.


OOOH! I didn't see that :P Thank you very much :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
539

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
Hmm... Can you order 2 different languages?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS