BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 49d, 2h, 11m | CPU: 83% | MEM: 6249MB of 11063MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: PC doesn't work        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
I got a PC for free from a guy who told me it didn't work. When I turned it on, it gave me 1 long beep and nothing else. I didn't know what this meant at the time so I opened it up to see what was inside. I found two sticks of DDR RAM at the bottom of the case and two DDR RAM slots free on the motherboard. I instantly interpreted the beeps as a RAM error (and a quick Google search confirms my interpretation). I plugged in both of the sticks of RAM and booted it up hoping results. Unfortunately, I got the same as before just without the beep.

I know it's not really important as I got it for free and have a much faster PC than this one, but I just thought it would be cool to get a "broken" PC up and running.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:52 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
I noticed you read the beaps, does it have a debug card? Do you have one?

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:31 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:06 am

Posts
48
The lack of beeps probably means that the pc has passed the RAM check. Have you tried?
-checking to see if the monitor/graphics card work/are plugged in correctly
-the BIOS is operating properly


It'll probably help you if you can find out the motherboard manufacturer and model. after this you can check the manual on the manufacturer's site. if you need more help post that info here


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 2:19 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Frozenport wrote:
I noticed you read the beaps, does it have a debug card? Do you have one?

I'm not sure what a debug card is so I can't really answer the question.
tomwalter wrote:
-checking to see if the monitor/graphics card work/are plugged in correctly

I don't think it's even booting. The red hard drive light stays lit so I don't think it's booting.
tomwalter wrote:
It'll probably help you if you can find out the motherboard manufacturer and model. after this you can check the manual on the manufacturer's site. if you need more help post that info here

The motherboard is an Asus P48266-C but the Asus website seems to have nothing documented on it. If it helps, the CPU is a Socket 478 Pentium 4.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:27 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2648

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Faulty parts?? CPU? MOBO? Graphics?
Since i know about socket 478's as i own 3 somethings dead inside
Tried resetting the BIOS?
Oh and tried turning it of and on again? :P

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Find the motherboard number and google for a manual. The manual will have the troubleshooting beep error codes in it and should tell you whats wrong. If you can't find one, go back to basics. Disconnect everything and plug in everything one by one and only plug in what you need to have a working system (e.g. no modem card or anything like that).

Reseat the CPU, Memory, any PCI/AGP/PCI-E cards, power connectors etc etc.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Turn the monitor on then. :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:53 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:06 am

Posts
48
download site to motherboard (it should be P4B266-C not P48266-C):
http://support.asus.com/download/downlo ... uage=en-us

manual:
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/soc ... 6c-101.pdf


if you still need help you'll need to describe what is happening in a bit more detail

Andy's idea of doing a "hardware check" will probably help too.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
According to the manual posted by tomwalter, 1 long beep means no RAM.

I have reseating everything (expansion cards, cords, RAM, CPU) and still I get the same result. It turn it on, both the power light and hard drive light stay on and no signal goes to the monitor. I don't hear any beeps at all meaning something is wrong because if it completes POST properly, it should give me 1 short beep.

Apparently, if there's no graphics card (there's no onboard graphics) available it should do 1 long beep and 3 short beeps. But when I take out the graphics card, it still doesn't beep at all which I think means that it's not completing POST.

I've also tried to replace the CPU with one of my own but I get no difference.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:06 am

Posts
48
it could be the BIOS. you can reset it by clearing the CMOS. see page 45 of that manual


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
tomwalter wrote:
it could be the BIOS. you can reset it by clearing the CMOS. see page 45 of that manual

I did that but it still gives me that same result.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:14 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Take everything out of the machine except what you need. It's not necessary to physically remove the optical or hard disk drives, just unplug the data and power cables. Remove any expansion cards, including video if there is onboard video. Now try, if it still doesn't work, try each stick of RAM individually and in each slot a couple of times. If it still isn't working then you'll actually have to buy hardware to get it working, unless you have some laying around.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
If it still doesnt work, the motherboard is broken, i mean burned out.

I have a few computer that have it, and exactly the same problems as you.

(for me its just throwing them into the trash (saving CPU/Graphics and all other if its not broken), becuase its at work/school).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
DjRob wrote:
If it still doesnt work, the motherboard is broken, i mean burned out.

I have a few computer that have it, and exactly the same problems as you.

(for me its just throwing them into the trash (saving CPU/Graphics and all other if its not broken), becuase its at work/school).

Yeah I figured it was the motherboard. I have used the PSU in a different computer and have removed everything except the motherboard. Now to figure out what to do with the case and mobo.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:43 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
It could be the RAM or the CPU, not necessarily the motherboard, although it usually is. Could even be the power supply, unless you've tested it in another computer since this one stopped working. You could try adding a video card even if nothing else works and you're really desperate to get another computer working.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 7:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
QuiescentWonder wrote:
It could be the RAM or the CPU, not necessarily the motherboard, although it usually is. Could even be the power supply, unless you've tested it in another computer since this one stopped working. You could try adding a video card even if nothing else works and you're really desperate to get another computer working.

I mentioned before that I had switched CPUs but I guess RAM just slipped my mind. The power supply works since as I said before, I used it in a different computer and it works fine. Besides, I've pretty much lost hope in the computer.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 3:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
its problary one of the caps or a small power chip thats burnt out.
If you know how to find and replace the part, it should be good. If you not sure, don't go there. Getting it professionally repaired is pretty expensive.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
I didn't think about that. When a motherboard goes bad you can check to see if the caps are bulging/leaking. Those aren't too had to replace, but still a lot of time, and you have to buy the capacitors from somewhere... the shipping would end up costing more than the caps themselves with such a small amount. With the amount of time it take to do all of that, it would probably wind up being cheaper to just by a new board.

You might try testing the CPU in another machine before you go out and buy another motherboard though. Don't forget that you need to reapply thermal paste if you do that.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS