BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 9d, 2h, 17m | CPU: 51% | MEM: 2796MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Another RAM issue... :/        Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
So I bought a 1GB DDR2 stick for the family computer after everyone wanted Vista then realised how slow it is on 512MB RAM.

So I put it in and it works...sort of.

1) The system will boot with the 512MB by itself
2) The system wont boot with the 1GB by itself
3) The system will boot with both the 512MB and 1GB sticks however the system only reads 1GB.

Any reason as to why this happens? Computer in question is an Acer Aspire e500.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Simple. Incompatibility. Likely, you are using a high density chip module and your board simply doesn't support it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 4:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Some mobos do not support double sided ram. If the 1gb stick has chips on both sides of the stick its double sided. Odd though that it would read an additional 512 from the 1gb with the other 512 stick in, either that or the addition of the 512 is causing the 1gb to be recognised. You can use CPU-Z to see what memory is being read from what bank and wether the whole 1gb is being seen or only 1/2 of it. If thats the case, return it and get a 1gb dual channel kit. That should consist of 2 single sided 512mb sticks.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 4:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:06 am

Posts
48
Check the manual of the motherboard as sometimes it will only work when the correct type of ram is in a certain slot i.e. the dual channel RAM has to be in a specific slot and the single channel in another.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 6:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
It's single channel :|

CPU-z reports 1536MB, Vista reports 896MB (1024 -128 for video).

Image

EDIT: I'd like to revise my first post. The system turns on and everything else does when the 1GB is in by itself however it doesn't get to POST and there's no display on the screen.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:14 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:33 am

Posts
81
I would just send it back and try a different set.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
If you upgrade memory, try to use the same ones, eg: same amount in every stick, same speed, same brand.

Then you are good.

It doesnt matter with SD-RAM, but DDR and DDR-2 and DDR-3 are pretty picky.

EDIT:
Also try to use a memorystick that has the same or lower busspeed (that is supported).
What you can also try is to put the slower memory in the first bank and the faster one in the second bank.

Every BANK has its own number:
0 = first
1 = second
2 = thirdt
3 = fourth

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS