Video Card Question

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Video Card Question

Post by inxsfan92 »

Hi All

I have two video cards and would like to know which one is better.

1: nVidia Quadro FX 1000
128MB DDR2 128-bit AGP 8x
2: nVidia GeForce 6200
256MB DDR2 64-bit AGP 8x

I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate w/ SP1

I'm also planning on buying a HIS Radeon HD 3850

thanks for your comments and opinions!

RGaspar
User avatar
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:51 am

Post by RGaspar »

It depends of what do you want to do with these cards.

Nvidia Quadro and GeForce are created from the same chipset, but they have distinct firmware. For an explanation about Firmware > http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firmware.


The Nvidia Quadro series is aimed to CAD professionals. If you're an engineer or an architect, so go ahead.

For gamers Nvidia GeForce series is the best choice.

--------------------

In your particular case the Quadro FX 1000 is built from the Geforce FX 5800. All in all the FX series was a big disappointment in terms of performance. And it was outperformed by Ati's counterparts at that time.

But the GeForce 6200 is the lower entry of the 6 series. Although it has support for Dx 9.0c when the Fx5800 hasn't (just 9.0a).

Damn I can't found any good benchmark of both cards together.

------------------

The Ati HD 3850 is a big leap ahead over those cards. If you can afford it just buy that one. Keep in mind that the HD 3850 could run Dx 10 games pretty well. It's a complete different perspective than those old Quadro and Geforce.

But what are your other system specs?

The 3800 would goes to waste running on slow systems.
Last edited by RGaspar on Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I'm so newbie here.

I'm speechless

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

Hi

I currently have both the Geforce and Quadro.

My system Specs:
Intel Xeon 2.8GHZ (im going to buy another one with the 3850, so there will be 2 processors)
2GB of RAM (gonna buy 4GB with the 3850)
the current card i have installed is the Quadro (i can't even play Halo 1 without problems)
I also have a 300gb hd, 70gb hd, and am running Vista Ultimate SP1

RGaspar
User avatar
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:51 am

Post by RGaspar »

inxsfan92 wrote:Hi

I currently have both the Geforce and Quadro.

My system Specs:
Intel Xeon 2.8GHZ (im going to buy another one with the 3850, so there will be 2 processors)
2GB of RAM (gonna buy 4GB with the 3850)
the current card i have installed is the Quadro (i can't even play Halo 1 without problems)
I also have a 300gb hd, 70gb hd, and am running Vista Ultimate SP1
Your system specs looks quite fine. Buy the HD 3800 then.



It's the inverse of what I was thinking about. That PC configuration with a Quadro Fx is a big shame.
I'm so newbie here.

I'm speechless

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

well thanks

i will buy that card

RGaspar
User avatar
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:51 am

Post by RGaspar »

I'm curious.

Is it your Vista Ultimate 32 or 64 bit??

And your Xeon is single or double core???

Nothing bad at all, even if Vista is 32bit and the Xeon single core.

Specially if you will install a second processor.

(What a beast you have! Congrats!)

Just make sure you've a good power connection.
I'm so newbie here.

I'm speechless

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

its not so beastly

my proc is a single core, but if i get two i guess its not so bad

Its Vista Ultimate 32

I have a 750W Power supply

the system is actually a Dell Precision Workstation 650

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

Why dont you install Vista x64? Majority of PC's >2Ghz support x64.
My crappy AMD Sempron @ 1.6Ghz has Vista x64 installed.

RGaspar
User avatar
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:51 am

Post by RGaspar »

happy dude wrote:Why dont you install Vista x64? Majority of PC's >2Ghz support x64.
My crappy AMD Sempron @ 1.6Ghz has Vista x64 installed.
Yeah second that.

Plus, your computer will use better your future 4GB of RAM.
I'm so newbie here.

I'm speechless

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

slight problem

both processors are 32-bit

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

Code: Select all

www.bwired.nl/images/how/dell650.pdf
have a looky at my computer

i thought about buying two 3.06GHZ cpus to replace my one 2.8ghz

RGaspar
User avatar
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:51 am

Post by RGaspar »

inxsfan92 wrote:slight problem

both processors are 32-bit
Enjoy your Vista 32 Bit!!



It was a suggestion, after all.

------

Wait a minute.

2 new processors + Ati HD 3850???

Isn't it too much money??

I think a better upgrade is: current proc+ second proc same speed + HD 3850.

If the 2 new 3 Ghz procs are in the same line as the old one, the improved performance won't worth the higher price.

IMHO
I'm so newbie here.

I'm speechless

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

well one 2.8ghz proc is $64.26
(i don't remeber where i saw it)
and two 3.06GHZ procs are $68

Code: Select all

http://www.pacificgeek.com/product.asp?ID=92561&C=201&S=1085
so i figured what the heck why not buy the 3.06GHZ ones

and heres the video card im gonna buy:

Code: Select all

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161225
gotta love newegg

OG
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am
Location: UK

Post by OG »

The HD3850 is a half decent card, however, for a few beans more you can pick up an Nvidia 8800GT which in all honesty will eat an HD3850 for breakfast. Add to that the fact newer G92 8800GT's are CUDA enabled and PhysX capable and the 3850 (and the 3870 for that matter) is pretty much a waste of money. Also, the developement of apps using gpu power seems more prevelent on the Nvidia cards with an H264 app just released, soon an MP3 encoder should be available. I use my 8800GT for folding@home and crank out 10WU/day, 3x more than a PS3.

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

my problem is my pc is AGP only

OG
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am
Location: UK

Post by OG »

Ouch. Well in that case a 3850/3870 might be overkill. The HD2600 or older 9800 Pro are dirt cheap and better than any of the Nvidia AGP offerings (except maybe the 7900GT). The 9800 Pro/AIW in particular is a very good card if you can find one. No point buying a decent graphics card for an AGP slot now, its a false economy. Pick up something cheap and put the rest aside for a good PCIE16 when the time comes.

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

what agp card would you recommend?

i had the 7600GT in mind, saw it on newegg for like $105

edit:
saw the HD 2600 on buy.com for $80

edit2:
also saw a 2600xt, any better?

Code: Select all

http://www.provantage.com/sapphire-100229l~7SAPP00J.htm

OG
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am
Location: UK

Post by OG »

The The HD2600 XT is at least on par with, and in some cases, better than the 7600GT. Theres a full review here;

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ATI/HD_2600_XT

inxsfan92
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 544
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:38 am
Location: USA

Post by inxsfan92 »

im buying the xt, no doubt about it

thanks

QuiescentWonder
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2365
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Post by QuiescentWonder »

My dad used to have one of these only with a 3GHz CPU. Let me tell you this: just because it says "Xeon" doesn't mean it's better than a current gen consumer chip. These are some pretty old procs. It only supports PC2100, at least in dual-channel. I'm pretty sure it's only AGP, which means your out of luck when it comes to newer graphics cards. DO NOT BUY an ATI 3000 series anything, it won't fit in your machine. You need an AGP card, not a PCI-Express card. Not a bad machine though. The shitty folding case is a pain in the ass, isn't it? I hated that case.

If you don't want to spend any money on it, just use the 6200 card.

Post Reply