BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 7h, 29m | CPU: 11% | MEM: 4121MB of 10339MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Something is using Port 80 on my machine?        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:57 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
I just downloaded XAMPP, with the intention of playing with some web applications on my machine, but for some reason Apache didn't want to start. After some investigation, it seems that something else on my machine is using port 80. How can I find out what it is that is using this port? I don't have IIS or any other web server installed on this machine...

I tried telnetting to port 80, it connects... if I type in more than about five chars it gives me some garbage.

Any ideas?

EDIT: Nevermind, found the culprit. Skype. :? Apparently Skype listens on port 80 and 443 as alternatives to whatever port it listens to, probably to dodge firewalls. Info here: http://qgyen.net/archive/2006/09/14/Sky ... 2100_.aspx[/url]

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Last edited by pr0gram the pr0grammer on Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:02 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
do you use a firewall? type netstat -a -b in your command prompt and check if an application is using this port

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:16 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@Luckie
You beat me to it :D

Additionally, you should perform a port scan on your machine. There are some online services that do this, google for them. Another program I can recommand is the Process Explorer (from Sysinternals). This program will list all processes running on your machine and in the Properties page, it'll also show if an application is listening on a port. And although I don't think this is spyware or a backdoor or something like that (normally, they use other, odd port numbers) you should run a spyware/AV check on your system.

To me, it appears as if you're running a (small) web server on your machine. Maybe it's come with one of your installed applications? If you enter http://localhost in a browser's address bar, what does it do? And what kind of garbage does telnet show? Does it do that regardless of what you enter? Try to connect and type:

Code:
GET /index.htm HTTP/1.1 <enter>
Host: www.none.org <enter>
<enter>
<enter>


Does this work or do you get kicked out after some characters as well? If this is accepted, you'll see some lines fly by. Scroll back to the line "Server:". If there's a web server running, this should be its name.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:20 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Thanks for your comments ... though I found and resolved the problem (and edited the post above). Quite annoying that Skype takes port 80 by default.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:23 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Glad you got it sortedx out. Good to know that!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:28 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
ok, great to here :)

@empireum

you are to slow :P

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:36 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Luckie wrote:
@empireum

you are to slow :P

Sometimes, but not always! :wink:


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS