BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 2h, 28m | CPU: 46% | MEM: 2118MB of 4303MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: CMOS Help!        Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 8:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
I was using CmosPwd to recover my bios password on my old Compaq Presario 1245 laptop. I killed the cmos using "cmospwd /k" in a DOS boot disk, which killed the CMOS. I accidentally reset my laptop, not knowing that I had to power up the CMOS. Now I can't save BIOS changes and I can't even boot from floppy. (This computer doesn't have an OS) Does anyone know what I can do to fix it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 8:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
You have killed your computer, if CMOS doesnt work the computer doesnt work anymore.

Sadly, the only thing you got left for that computer is the trashbin.
(At least the motherboard)

There are many warning if you use that switch.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
DjRob wrote:
Sadly, the only thing you got left for that computer is the trashbin. (At least the motherboard)


Unless you can find an identical PC to swap the CMOS chip out on.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am

Posts
556

Location
Minnesota, USA
I think that it was just a temporary problem, though now I can't store files on my computer. Thanks for the help.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:32 am 
Reply with quote
Andy wrote:
DjRob wrote:
Sadly, the only thing you got left for that computer is the trashbin. (At least the motherboard)


Unless you can find an identical PC to swap the CMOS chip out on.

CMOS Ram (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) is part of a motherboard, not something
that can be changed.
You're thinking of the bios chip.
When your CMOS becomes corrupt or lost, the bios just usually loads default settings
upon bootup.
Usually, if you can't save bios changes, the small button cell battery is dead as
it's what powers the CMOS, enabling it to store the defaults.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 1:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dion wrote:
Andy wrote:
DjRob wrote:
Sadly, the only thing you got left for that computer is the trashbin. (At least the motherboard)


Unless you can find an identical PC to swap the CMOS chip out on.

CMOS Ram (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) is part of a motherboard, not something
that can be changed.
You're thinking of the bios chip.
When your CMOS becomes corrupt or lost, the bios just usually loads default settings
upon bootup.
Usually, if you can't save bios changes, the small button cell battery is dead as
it's what powers the CMOS, enabling it to store the defaults.


You learn something new every day. I always thought the CMOS was part of the BIOS chip.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Andy wrote:
You learn something new every day. I always thought the CMOS was part of the BIOS chip.

Nope, it resides in the southbridge chipset.


Top
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS