BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 0h, 44m | CPU: 24% | MEM: 2958MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Remote Desktop        Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:55 pm

Posts
69
I found a 500MHz PIII machine in my neighbour's trash some weeks ago and I'm looking to turn it into a torrent server when I'm done with it.

As of now, I've upgraded the RAM to 192MB (I had a 128MB stick of PC133 from another machine I found in the trash and it seems to work well with the existing PC100). Since it didn't come with a hard drive, I just put an old 8GB WD in there for now. I'll be putting an 80GB drive in once I can free the screws holding it in place in another computer I have (apparently the screws I used were slightly smaller than the hole, so they're stuck -- any ideas on this?). Finally, I'm going to pick up a 100Mb NIC to replace the existing 10Mb one (going to spend ~$10 or so on this).

Now, I want this to operate headlessly. What remote desktop server/client software should I use?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:56 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
The one built into Windows is surely the best one (faster than any alternative and very easy to use), the server is built into 2000 and 2003 Server and XP Professional and the client will run on anything from Windows 95 upwards, or OS X.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
1993

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Indeed. It owns :-D


I use it on my eMachines.

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:55 pm

Posts
69
Is Microsoft's remote desktop persistent? In other words, can you start an app and keep it running even after you stop using the remote desktop? This link seems to say that it isn't because of the logging on and off.

Aside from Microsoft's, are there any other remote desktop servers/clients?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:30 pm

Posts
156

Location
France

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1 x64
theSpam wrote:
keep it running even after you stop using the remote desktop?

Yes, it keeps the programs running after you leave.

theSpam wrote:
Aside from Microsoft's, are there any other remote desktop servers/clients?

Here is one I use which I find quite good ... http://www.realvnc.com/

I use RealVNC for local computers (XP, Vista, etc.), and 2003's own remote desktop for my OVH server.

_________________
~ Dan


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I use NetSupport. It costs but of course I "aquired" it. Its very powerful and unlike RDC it uses a "real" desktop rather than a virtual one in the background. Let me know if you would like a copy to try.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
DanielC wrote:
theSpam wrote:
keep it running even after you stop using the remote desktop?

Yes, it keeps the programs running after you leave.

When you finish using RDC you can "log off" the machine ie end your session and any programs running under it, or "disconnect" (close the RDC window but leave yourself logged on and your programs running). If remoting to a client version of Windows rather than a server, no-one else will be able to log in without ending your session if you just disconnect and don't log off.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm

Posts
524

Location
Monson, MA

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
there is even a version of mstsc for windows 3.x. you can create install disks for 16/32 bit from server 2k, or for 32 bit, you can use an xp setup cd.

_________________
............................Visit my gopher site!
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS