Cannot Install Memphis Beta

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
splatterdodge

Cannot Install Memphis Beta

Post by splatterdodge »

I cannot seem to solve this problem, so I figured I would ask you guys for some help...

I am trying to install Windows Memphis BETA Build 2185 on my computer. When I put in the disc running XP, I get the following error:

Image
So I started the computer to a prompt, and put in E:Memphis_2185 (name of the setup file), but it said "This program requires Microsoft Windows" I also get the same message if I try setup from the win98 folder. Any suggestions???

gracz54
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 am
Location: Poland

Post by gracz54 »

Try entering "dossetup" instead of "setup" in DOS mode.

WinPC

Post by WinPC »

Try renaming Setup.exe to Setup2.exe or something like that. That would probably work.

You might also want to try installing this Build in an emulator such as Virtual PC.

gracz54
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 am
Location: Poland

Post by gracz54 »

Renaming the file won't help.

WinPC

Post by WinPC »

gracz54 wrote:Renaming the file won't help.
Renaming the file has worked for me before. I was able to get into Setup (for Nashville Build 999) in Windows 98 by renaming the Setup.exe file to "Setup2.exe" or something like that. Unfortunately (although I never thought of this until now), it might force you to install in the same directory as your current installation of Windows. which would cause problems.

Just try an emulator such as Virtual PC and you'll be safe.

splatterdodge

Post by splatterdodge »

Okay, I'll just use a virtual machine, then.

Do you know of any Memphis builds that do not give that error and can be installed on a hard drive from DOS?

Also, gracz54, I tried the dossetup, but it didn't work.

nickenzi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Monson, MA

Post by nickenzi »

If you want to install it on your hard drive/new partition, you would have to restart the computer in dos mode using a boot disk (with cd rom drivers)(pm me if you need one) and then run setup.exe from the dos prompt. Once it installs, however, you would have to take your xp setup cd and use recovery console to repair the master boot record (mbr) as win 98 (memphis) overwrites it when it installs.
............................[url=gopher://nickmaslon.com]Visit my gopher site![/url]
Image

splatterdodge

Post by splatterdodge »

Ah, okay. Thank you. That is what I was doing, but I didn't know that Memphis messed up the master boot record.

nickenzi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Monson, MA

Post by nickenzi »

that it does any non-NT OS (from MS-DOS to ME) that is installed, eats the mbr and makes its own. The xp cd copies the bootsector to a file, writes the nt one, and then creates a link to the memphis file, so it is possible to do it; it's just slightly annoying.
............................[url=gopher://nickmaslon.com]Visit my gopher site![/url]
Image

air101

Post by air101 »

you cant install memphis on top of windows xp.... you either have to use a second hdd or use virtual server/pc from microsoft or vmware to create a virtual computer and install memphis there.

- air

nickenzi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Monson, MA

Post by nickenzi »

trust me. it's possible.as long as memphis has its own partition, you can install it. you just have to fix the mbr to allow xp to boot afterwards.
............................[url=gopher://nickmaslon.com]Visit my gopher site![/url]
Image

air101

Post by air101 »

well yes it is possible but who wants to f.u.c.k. up his system for win98? lol

splatterdodge

Post by splatterdodge »

It is just an older computer that I am messing around with, so I really don't care how goofed up it gets.

Thanks for the advice, guys, I didn't know Memphis was such a pain to install!

Post Reply