BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 27d, 3h, 58m | CPU: 19% | MEM: 5654MB of 10741MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Doom 4 Announced (screenshot inside!)        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 6:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Shacknews wrote:
id Software today announced that it has begun production on Doom 4, and is now in the process of expanding its internal team of developers to work on the shooter sequel.

"Doom is part of the id Software DNA and demands the greatest talent and brightest minds in the industry to bring the next installment of our flagship franchise to Earth," said id Software CEO Todd Hollenshead in a release.

"It's critical for id Software to have the best creative minds in-house to develop games that meet the standards synonymous with our titles."

The company is currently accepting applications to fill job openings covering roles such as producer, lead designer, and lead animator, among others.

Though no further details on the game were released, the studio will likely make use of its new id Tech 5 engine for the project.

id Software lead artist Kevin Cloud recently told Shacknews that one of the strengths of the company's new engine is its cross-platform performance.

"You don't even have to worry about how it's going to look on PS3 or 360. Right now we've got it running cross-platform running 60 hertz, and it looks really good," said Cloud. "In terms of what artists are available to achieve--it's something you have to see for yourself. I can say this, but you still won't get it until you see it."

id will be hosting the 13th annual QuakeCon convention on July 31.


Image

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 7:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 pm

Posts
419
(L) UAC


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 8:32 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Great! :D

Are there other screens?

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 8:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 am

Posts
216

Location
Poland
Dude, it's a screenshot of the Doom 3 alpha (with the help of Photoshop).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 9:07 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
YES!
Image

For this installment they are really going back to their roots.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu May 08, 2008 3:48 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am

Posts
748

Location
Guelph, ON, Canada
it would be nice if they did and somewhat go back to their old graphics or just update them a bit more.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu May 08, 2008 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
It has been a LONG time since the goal of iD's work was simply to make a game. Every game, since AT LEAST Quake 1, has been to show what you can do with the engine they want to sell to other developers. It doesn't matter to them that Doom 3 was mediocre. The money they made from licensing the engine alone padded their pockets plenty.

To aim their work at looking like some nostalgic just doesn't make business sense... that is unless they make NICE looking graphics resembling the old ones.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 5:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
how many games actually used the engine, besides games from id? Prey and?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 8:03 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Doom 3 – id Software
Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil – Nerve Software
Quake 4 – Raven Software
Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles – Capcom
Prey – Human Head Studios
Enemy Territory: Quake Wars – Splash Damage
Return to Castle Wolfenstein II – Raven Software

So half of the Tech 4 games are made by id themselves.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 5:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
isn't rtcw2 using the newer engine? but still that isn't many games compared to the quake 3 engine


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:03 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:45 am

Posts
628

Location
UK
Better be good. I found Doom 3 and R.O.E. to be rather lackluster and got pretty boring very quickly.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am

Posts
224

Location
Yorkshire, England

Favourite OS
Windows 7
I think time shift used an improved version of the engine Doom 3 used.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:48 am

Posts
38

Location
York, Pennsylvania
Doom 3 was a good game, I wonder if this one is going to be better then the last one.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:29 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
longview wrote:
So half of the Tech 4 games are made by id themselves.


Actually, only one of those games was actually made by id. That would be Doom 3.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 2:22 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:36 pm

Posts
33
looks good


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7435
Moved it to the Jokes and Funny Stuff forum... The announcement may be valid or not, but the screenshots are from Doom 3 but modified with a lot of contrast removed... So I was guessing the announcer put them there to make pun of the dark scenes of Doom 3 (which was appreciated by many!).

If you make an announcement make them proper, and don't add modified screenshots.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Yes, I apologise for being funny while posting, it won't happen again.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS