How to get BIOS password?

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

How to get BIOS password?

Post by Dr Eggman »

Hey all,



Recently, i wanted to move some partitions, install this, do that, so i wanted to go to my BIOS. However, when i got there, it's asking me for a Password. I NEVER SET A PASSWORD! So, now i want to know if there's a utility for windows (or linux) that will find the password of the BIOS.


....I have a strange feeling that the GRUB bootloader caused this.

BIOS (from CPU-Z)
Brand: Acer
Version: V1.30
Date: 05/09/2006


Help!
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Look around on the internets for the default BIOS password list ... most BIOSes have a backdoor password for this very reason. Otherwise you could clear your CMOS using a jumper on your motherboard, check your motherboard manual for more info.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

Post by Dr Eggman »

I looked and tried but to no avail.


I am thinking of opening up the inside and jumping it, but i've also seen people saying that they took out the battery, think its worth a try.

EDIT: I forgot to mention, its a laptop, Acer TravelMate 2450.
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

In some computers there is a button or jumpers or take out the battery for 24-hours (1/2 is also good).


XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

to clear the bios:
take the battery out
set the jumper to clear state for ~20 seconds
set the jumper back to orginal position
put the battery in

this will clear the password, but also all setting including time, boot priority and etc.

Kirk
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:06 am

Post by Kirk »

I don't ever recall this being so complicated. My CMOS goes dead if I pull the battery out, and it's out long enough for me to get it realigned with the slot to put it back in. It really doesn't have to be more than a couple seconds.

-Kirk

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

Kirk wrote:I don't ever recall this being so complicated. My CMOS goes dead if I pull the battery out, and it's out long enough for me to get it realigned with the slot to put it back in. It really doesn't have to be more than a couple seconds.

-Kirk
depends on your motherboard, the jumper is right beside the battery
and it may clear without moving the jumper

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Post by RentedMule »


empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Dr Eggman wrote:....I have a strange feeling that the GRUB bootloader caused this.
Highly unlikely. GRUB doesn't interfere with the BIOS.

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

A computer boots by
BIOS
-POST & memory check
-check boot device
-trigger the boot devices (depending on settings)
BOOT Loader is loaded
OS will now load
-OS access the devices though BIOS
-OS loads it's drivers and services
OS is loaded
Logon services loads
-User Account prompted
-User login
Desktop?

OS and boot loader could not affect the BIOS, they will use the BIOS for information, but not modify it. It must be done manually before OS loads.

This is a good thing because virus could not modify the BIOS.
Or we would have computer (hardware) destroying virus.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

Or we would have computer (hardware) destroying virus.
AntiCMOS Virus.

Post Reply