BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 22h, 34m | CPU: 72% | MEM: 5626MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Freevents X59 laptop running offensively slow        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
I've just reinstalled Vista Home Premium on the damned thing and it's going so slow that even my NES emulator lags. Linux was no better (actually, it was worse, because, of course, my laptop can't run Linux due to the Ethernet compatibility problem.

It started to be like this about 4/5 months ago. I was running Vista Business, and had a rather full HDD, so I took that as an oppurtunity to migrate to Ubuntu. That was OK for a while, but it started to go wrong if I had the machine turned on for more than about 15 minutes. Yesterday I decided to try Vista again, and it's painful!

What might be wrong?

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Most likely the hard drive is on its way out. www.hdtune.com offers a free utility to test hard drives. Might be worth a try.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Check what frequency your CPU is running at ... if it's running at something considerably lower than the specs say it is (like if it's running at 1.1GHz or lower) then your CPU might be being clocked down to save battery life. If you disable SpeedStep in your BIOS (it's SpeedStep for Intel machines, can't think of what it is for AMD right now) then it will run at full speed, at the expense of battery life.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:
Check what frequency your CPU is running at ... if it's running at something considerably lower than the specs say it is (like if it's running at 1.1GHz or lower) then your CPU might be being clocked down to save battery life. If you disable SpeedStep in your BIOS (it's SpeedStep for Intel machines, can't think of what it is for AMD right now) then it will run at full speed, at the expense of battery life.


Also check that its not being thermally throttled. If its overheating it might be slowing the clock speed down. AMD's is called Cool 'n' Quiet.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Hard drive's OK. Not sure how to check/set the CPU frequency, but it does get rather warm :fire:. This model's notorious for it AFAIK.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
What CPU's in there?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
1.6(or7) gig Intel Core2 Duo.

What happens is it seems to run OK for a few minutes, and then it starts to go very slow.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Can you run CPU-Z on it to check if the CPU's running at its correct speed? Mobile C2Ds can go down to 800MHz if idle, at least mine does. And check the task manager if something's turning out to be a CPU hog.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
At idle I get 997MHz. It goes to about 1330MHz when I've got the emulator running.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2639

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Hard disk must have bad sectors, one of my IDE's did and it died.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
930
Uh. Are you sure you arent running the SVGA video driver?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
I checked the hard disk and there were no problems (as I've already said), and I'm not using SVGA, I'm using WXGA.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 12:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7361
marktuson wrote:
I checked the hard disk and there were no problems (as I've already said), and I'm not using SVGA, I'm using WXGA.


Well, thank god you don't use SVGA :) (SVGA = 800x600 256col, originally 16col).

Since it occurs after a while you should check the drivers. Perhaps some driver goes into some kind of compability mode or something that causes the slowdown. Just to try the CPU thing, go into your power management settings and turn off all power management. That should put your CPU up to max speed (verify with CPU-Z). But don't get any drivers from the laptop manufacturer, get them from the hardware manufacturer instead. Perhaps you got some old driver causing the problems...

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable)
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:12 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:44 pm

Posts
17
Quote:
At idle I get 997MHz. It goes to about 1330MHz when I've got the emulator running.


997 MHz ? :o I think it's too high for a Core2 in idle mode.
Are you able to get CPU temperature ? As Andy said, it could be thermally throttled.



PS:
Does your hardware have the latest BIOS available from manufacturer?

_________________
Matte


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
I can get HD temp, which seems to like to be about body temperature, but does go up to 50 or so on a regular basis.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:54 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:44 pm

Posts
17
Quote:
does go up to 50 or so on a regular basis


mmh ... too hot for my point of view.

Is fan working correctly ?



To check temp and other core2 parameters i suggest to try "notebook hardware control" (shareware). Works with Vista.

_________________
Matte


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
I fixed the fan :).

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 6:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
50*c is fine for a c2d. My laptop often hits 65*c and higher. My macbook was the same, often hitting 72*c at full load and full fan.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, I think Core (2) CPUs will go up to 100*C before an overheating protection gets in. My 1st gen MacBook would hit up to 90*C when under full load.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:44 pm

Posts
17
The Temp indicated by marktuson is HD temp, i think he should find the actual cpu temp using some tool (just to be sure).


Quote:
I fixed the fan


:)

Did you remove the CPU heatsink for fixing the Fan ?

_________________
Matte


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Yes, sorry, it is HD temp, It gets to the 80s as far as I know.

The CPU heatsink won't come off.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2639

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
marktuson wrote:
Yes, sorry, it is HD temp, It gets to the 80s as far as I know

Ouch!
Its gunna hate you :P God that's frying.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:44 pm

Posts
17
Quote:
Yes, sorry, it is HD temp, It gets to the 80s as far as I know


Quote:
Its gunna hate you :P God that's frying.


Now the problem is to understand why it's sooooooo hot (#)


Quote:
The CPU heatsink won't come off


mmh ... could be a bad coupling between CPU and heatsink, probably by missing/broken/dried thermal compound ?

_________________
Matte


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS