BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 23d, 16h, 23m | CPU: 52% | MEM: 6066MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Building new computer        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Hi, im about to buy a new computer and i would like you to say your opinion on what i'm buying... Is something not needed or should i upgrate something to better component? Also, please help me choosing a good motherboard and case (with power suply) to this specification:
HDD: Western Digital SATA II 750 GB 7200obr 16Mb Cache Caviar Raid
GPU: Asus PCI-E GF 8800 GTX 768Mb GDDR3 TV DVI
Optical drives: LG GSA-H55L 20x LightScribe black & LiteOn 16/48 black
FDD: Alps FDD 1,44 black
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz BOX 6Mb 1333FSB
Memory: DDR2 Kingston 2x2GB 800MHz HyperX 5-5-5-15

Thanks :)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12459

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Motherboard I'd recommend is the same as mine, the ASUS P5K with built in WiFi.

For RAM, see if you can get hold of OCZ memory. Its timings are 4-4-4-15 (faster than you chose).

Rest looks good. Can't recommend a case with psu since I bought mine seperate. My psu is a hiper 590watts. My PC uses no more than 250watts so its plenty.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Andy wrote:
Motherboard I'd recommend is the same as mine, the ASUS P5K with built in WiFi.

For RAM, see if you can get hold of OCZ memory. Its timings are 4-4-4-15 (faster than you chose).

Rest looks good. Can't recommend a case with psu since I bought mine seperate. My psu is a hiper 590watts. My PC uses no more than 250watts so its plenty.

Yeah, ive looked at the P5K now and it's nice, will be propably my choose :)

But for the memory, it would be propably impossible to get by me. Is it really much faster?

And for the OS, what do you think about XPx64 & Vista Ultimate x64? Are there still many issues with the 64-bit systems (drivers???)?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12459

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
FiFi wrote:
Andy wrote:
Motherboard I'd recommend is the same as mine, the ASUS P5K with built in WiFi.

For RAM, see if you can get hold of OCZ memory. Its timings are 4-4-4-15 (faster than you chose).

Rest looks good. Can't recommend a case with psu since I bought mine seperate. My psu is a hiper 590watts. My PC uses no more than 250watts so its plenty.

Yeah, ive looked at the P5K now and it's nice, will be propably my choose :)

But for the memory, it would be propably impossible to get by me. Is it really much faster?

And for the OS, what do you think about XPx64 & Vista Ultimate x64? Are there still many issues with the 64-bit systems (drivers???)?


I can't tell if its faster having not had slower memory but if you want the best for your money, go for the fastest you can afford within a reasonable range of what you were going to buy.

XP x64 from what I have heard still has incompatibilities but Vista x64 seems fine. I use it myself and everything I use on it works so far except the software that doesn't officially support Vista. With such a new pc and spec I'd recommend going with Vista, mainly because without it you won't be able to make the most of the hardware.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:07 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
With such a new pc and spec I'd recommend going with Vista

Hehe, that's very different to what you would have said a week or two ago ;) But yes, Vista x64 is definitely the way to go. The CPU and graphics card you're getting look pretty extreme, nice! :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12459

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Andy wrote:
With such a new pc and spec I'd recommend going with Vista

Hehe, that's very different to what you would have said a week or two ago ;) But yes, Vista x64 is definitely the way to go. The CPU and graphics card you're getting look pretty extreme, nice! :D


Well I've seen sense :P Vista has not crashed on me yet and runs so smooth it can beat XP hands down. :P

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:03 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
XP x64 was terrible in 2005 and is probably terrible now, there were hardly any drivers for it, so unless Vista drivers are backwards compatible don't even think about using it for a main OS.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
All my hardware has XP x64 drivers available (not that I've installed it, but it's always in the list of supported OSes), I don't think things are anywhere near as bad as they were when it first came out, unless you're trying to use very old or no-brand hardware. Vista x64 is still the one to go for though.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Agreed, I had a lot of problems with graphics and TV-tuner cards when I first used it, but it's probably improved by now.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
The driver situation with XP x64 is much better now, when I ran it on my PC about half a year ago, everything had drivers except my (cheap) wireless adapter, which didn't have Vista drivers either. XP would be better if you want a faster OS, but if you are ready to put up with a slight decrease in speed (on a PC of that spec, it'll probably barely be noticable), Vista is definately well worth it. Definately use SP1 though, RTM was far too buggy compared to SP1.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 2:25 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
If you want to do a dualboot with XP x64...don't. Use Server 2003 x64 instead


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
happy dude wrote:
If you want to do a dualboot with XP x64...don't. Use Server 2003 x64 instead


Why, XP x64 uses the Server 2003 x64 Base anyway, its just a server 2003 build with the server stuff removed really =\

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Samuka and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS