BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 21d, 19h, 20m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 6093MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Vista thumbnails        Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:51 am

Posts
150

Location
Bucharest, CA

Favourite OS
Windows Vista SP1
I watch AVI movies with SUB/SRT subtitles on my Vista Home Premium laptop (with WMP and VobSub 2.23). However, Explorer creates thumbnails (for large/medium icon views) only for the video files with no subtitles attached to them. For example, when I move the SRT file to another folder and refresh the folder with the videos, their default AVI icons change into thumbnails. Also, when I installed DirectVobSub 2.38 (the latest version), WMP11 didn't even play the videos.

How can I fix this issue?


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:58 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I know that the .avi problem can be solved by using the VLC media player or if you want to use media player (i use this to) install a version of nero 7 or 8 this has the .avi drivers in them (the divx installer doenst work on vista).

And the thumbnails, vista uses 1 frame of the movie, mostly the one without subtitles (but do you need them with a still image?).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:51 am

Posts
150

Location
Bucharest, CA

Favourite OS
Windows Vista SP1
You don't understand the problem.

I can watch the files without any issue.

The only problem is that Vista doesn't create thumbnails for the AVI files that have subtitle files in the same folder. It just displays a generic AVI icon (unlike the ones for the AVI files which are in a folder that doesn't contain anything else, where the "frame" thumbnail is shown).


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:30 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:43 am

Posts
725

Favourite OS
SVR 2012R2/Win10
That sort of thing is usually handled by the codec and windows media player's activeX plugin. Thus, what are you using for codecs? Divx, xvid, ffdshow, or are you using a codec pack?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 9:52 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:51 am

Posts
150

Location
Bucharest, CA

Favourite OS
Windows Vista SP1
Only DivX 6.8 and VobSub 2.23.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:51 am

Posts
150

Location
Bucharest, CA

Favourite OS
Windows Vista SP1
Does anyone else have an idea?

*bump*


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 6:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:22 pm

Posts
175

Location
Germany
Does it refuse to create those thumbnails itself?
You could actually try to refresh the thumbnail image.
Rightclick -> "Refresh Thumbnail" (don't know how it's called in English and if this is still available in vista)

But I don't think this'll work ;)


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:51 am

Posts
150

Location
Bucharest, CA

Favourite OS
Windows Vista SP1
It doesn't work that way. It doesn't create the thumbnail until you move the SRT to another folder and refresh the first folder.


Top  Profile  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS