BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 10h, 44m | CPU: 22% | MEM: 5563MB of 10855MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Finally on Vista        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Hello all,

I decided to upgrade my PC to Vista Ultimate 64bit today because I can't get the full potential out of the hardware on XP 32bit.

I have it all installed and up to date, including SP1. See the screenshot below :-)

Image

I should note however that this is only a trial and I could go back to XP at any time if Vista doesn't work out! I'm hoping it will since it looks nice, and I've never really given it a fair chance.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 5:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
it cant hurt to try.

But as someone ones said to me,
Quote:
you really cant judge something before you tryed it
and then gave me a i486 with Windows 95 (when i got it, it was just 2 days in the retail stores).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
Is it better than XP Andy? Or does it just look pretty?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:16 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
About time if you ask me! :P 0.1 more than me on your Experience Index score too, what did you get for your sub-scores? By the way, got enough MSN windows open there, how do you manage to talk to 8 people at the same time?! :P

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
About time if you ask me! :P 0.1 more than me on your Experience Index score too, what did you get for your sub-scores? By the way, got enough MSN windows open there, how do you manage to talk to 8 people at the same time?! :P


Ha :P Yes it is about time. DanielC persuaded me.

I got 5.9 for everything but the CPU which was 5.5. Bit of overclocking to 3.6ghz should sort that though! :)

Yes I can manage to talk to 8 people at a time. I can type pretty fast so its not hard :)

Few niggles on the software side. Two programs so far don't work. NetSupport which I use for RDC'ing into the BA server only works for logging into the servers not so somebody can log into this pc (not a problem as of yet). A newer version fixes this as its designed for Vista.

Also Norton Ghost 9 doesn't work on Vista either. The service fails to run. Not a problem now though since mrpijey aided me in making a BartPE disk with my RAID drivers and Norton Ghost 8.2 on it which can easily make an image of my Vista boot partition (even if it is 19gb 8-))

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
5.9 even for hard drive?! :o I'm guessing that's the difference your RAID stripe makes then, as I only get 5.6 and that's on a standard 7,200 RPM SATA 300 drive like everyone else has. Odd that you get 5.5 for CPU though, I got 5.4 and have exactly the same processor as you (and am running at the same 2.67 GHz as you now too) - good luck overclocking it though, I'd be far too scared to ever attempt anything like that!

Given that the current version of Norton Ghost seems to be 14, I'm not surprised to hear that 9 doesn't work on Vista :P I would recommend only installing the latest version of all your software on Vista, newer definitely works better with Vista as it was specifically designed for the OS.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
5.9 even for hard drive?! :o I'm guessing that's the difference your RAID stripe makes then, as I only get 5.6 and that's on a standard 7,200 RPM SATA 300 drive like everyone else has. Odd that you get 5.5 for CPU though, I got 5.4 and have exactly the same processor as you (and am running at the same 2.67 GHz as you now too) - good luck overclocking it though, I'd be far too scared to ever attempt anything like that!

Given that the current version of Norton Ghost seems to be 14, I'm not surprised to hear that 9 doesn't work on Vista :P I would recommend only installing the latest version of all your software on Vista, newer definitely works better with Vista as it was specifically designed for the OS.


Yes, 5.9 for hard drive. RAID0 makes one hell of a difference. When using FRAPS I can't record at 1280x1024 full resolution at 60fps with a single drive configuration. With RAID0 striping I can. I did a test and managed around 135MB/s peak writing speed with 80MB/s sustained.

CPU one is a bit odd but I think I know why it could be up a bit; Motherboard manufacturer and model? Possible a higher model can make a difference too.

Overclocking isn't as hard as you think. These days motherboards won't let you do any harm to the hardware. If it fails to overclock then the BIOS will either hang, resulting in you resetting it via the pins on the board, or it will tell you to hit F1 to restore defaults, in which case you can try again.

The core2duo that we have requires very little modifications in the BIOS to get it up to 3.6GHz. I can just adjust the FSB up a bit and increase the cpu voltage (although it seems to adjust OK on auto) and et viola, easy overclock. Might not be stable but it will work to some extent, and then it just needs tweaking. Because the c2d runs so cool as well (average 20*c on this pc 8-)) you can do some severe overclocking before upgrading your cooling method.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 4:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
i got 5.8 for my harddrive and its just some 500gb sata. I get 5.9 for everything else except cpu, 5.1 :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Ghost works with vista from Version 12 up.

But if you just ghost Vista and deploy on the same computer, vista WONT boot up.
Run 3 sysprep commands from PE 2.0 and then Ghost, then it will work.
Because the bootfiles and some system32 files are specific to hardware and when installing vista the bytes differ some what.

I know this works because we use it before we ghost vista.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:37 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Well mrpijey uses the "DOS" version of ghost 8.2 and he says it works perfectly, since it mirrors the partition, not just the files on it. I had to make a BartPE disk to run it because I needed to run my RAID drivers or ghost can't see the hard disks.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:22 pm

Posts
175

Location
Germany
I think Vista is a good operating system because they almost finally managed to make things look "matching" (Dunno how to describe better)
So you don't have 25 different dialogs that all look different, I read the Windows UI Guidelines and I was really surprised.
I started using many of those things in my own application projects.

But Vista won't run on my PC because the Hard Disk Controller isn't supported by Vista. I have got a newer one but I won't plug it in unless I have to (Never touch a running machine).
The newest Windows that runs natively on my machine would be the Longhorn 40xx's (4074 I have) or Server 2003 if you want to run a "final" OS...

:(


Top  Profile  ICQ
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2646

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Ensign Joe wrote:
I think Vista is a good operating system because they almost finally managed to make things look "matching" (Dunno how to describe better)
So you don't have 25 different dialogs that all look different, I read the Windows UI Guidelines and I was really surprised.
I started using many of those things in my own application projects.

But Vista won't run on my PC because the Hard Disk Controller isn't supported by Vista. I have got a newer one but I won't plug it in unless I have to (Never touch a running machine).
The newest Windows that runs natively on my machine would be the Longhorn 40xx's (4074 I have) or Server 2003 if you want to run a "final" OS...

:(

I've managed to run vista BETA2 on a skt 478 board wiht a intel p4 2.80Ghz with 700+mb DDR ram.
Ran well until the hard disk didn't want to work :(

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:06 am

Posts
25
I ran Vista for about a year, I have used both x64 and 32-bit. Both of them had trouble with my PC's hardware, even though I bought it all as Vista came out, and it was all supposed to be Vista capable.

My machine would randomly lock up, and hardly EVER booted up on the first try.

I went back to Windows XP Professional, and I don't regret that. :S It did take me awhile to get used to not having my sidebar though.

-Kirk


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Kirk wrote:
I ran Vista for about a year, I have used both x64 and 32-bit. Both of them had trouble with my PC's hardware, even though I bought it all as Vista came out, and it was all supposed to be Vista capable.

My machine would randomly lock up, and hardly EVER booted up on the first try.

I went back to Windows XP Professional, and I don't regret that. :S It did take me awhile to get used to not having my sidebar though.

-Kirk

me too, cause vista takes too much space and i kinda need the space
so xp it is, plus xp runs alot better than vista


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:43 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2646

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Quote:
plus xp runs alot better than vista

Actually im starting to like vista....
Mine loads up faster then my grans computer (XP) my gaming computer(XP)
But my vista unit is a core 2 duo laptop.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:04 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Quote:
plus xp runs alot better than vista


I beg to differ now I've been using it on decent hardware. ;) When I first ran vista on my old laptop, it was totally crap and slow.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Andy wrote:
Quote:
plus xp runs alot better than vista


I beg to differ now I've been using it on decent hardware. ;) When I first ran vista on my old laptop, it was totally crap and slow.


What I hate is that people will install Vista on a PC designed for XP and then go "omfg lol it sucks its soooo slow"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
happy dude wrote:
Andy wrote:
Quote:
plus xp runs alot better than vista


I beg to differ now I've been using it on decent hardware. ;) When I first ran vista on my old laptop, it was totally crap and slow.


What I hate is that people will install Vista on a PC designed for XP and then go "omfg lol it sucks its soooo slow"


I suppose you have a good point there. It should be emphasized more next time someone says it sucks.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
Andy wrote:
Quote:
plus xp runs alot better than vista


I beg to differ now I've been using it on decent hardware. ;) When I first ran vista on my old laptop, it was totally crap and slow.

Yeah, problary we need a good processor and atleast 2 GB of memory to have a good experience with vista.
Back in the days, everyone just had 1GB of ram, whihc wasn't so great for gaming.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 4:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:41 am

Posts
28
i first tried vista RTM back in November.. On my HP Laptop..

1.45Ghz 512Ram 80Gb HDD
I know not the Best Choice in the World..
i thought Vista was cool but too slow.. now i have a New Laptop

AMD 64 Athlon X2 1.75Ghz 2gb Ram 120Gb Hdd
256 ATI Radeon.. and it runs Great!

i say.. give Vista a Try.. ad turn off UAC.. really gets annoying..


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 5:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You'll find a great improvement wth SP1 installed also. It makes a huge difference.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS