Dimension 2100 will not power on.

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
missingno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Dimension 2100 will not power on.

Post by missingno »

So, I just got a Dell Dimension 2100 from a friend. We can't seem to get it to power on at all.

I've checked and double checked everything on it.

The power supply is operational - the motherboard power light glows.

But on pressing Power, the light in the button doesn't come on, and no signal is displayed on the monitor. The HDD light comes on for 30 or so seconds.

The diagnostic LEDs on the back (the A B C D lights) aren't on, and my reference doesn't help me.

No lights:
Make sure that the computer is connected to a known working electrical outlet, and then check whether the front-panel power light is on or off. If the power light is off, check the power supply. If the problem persists, see "Contacting Dell" in the Solutions Guide for instructions on obtaining technical assistance.

Remove all cards. If the computer still does not start, see "Contacting Dell" in the Solutions Guide for instructions on obtaining technical assistance.
Power supply... checked.
Cards... removed.
Still nothing.

And I'm out of warranty by give or take 4 years, so seeing the "Contacting Dell" section in the Solutions Guide won't help me... and besides, who wants to waste 5 hours on the phone with an outsourced tech?

WinPC

Post by WinPC »

You could try replacing the video card, however, I'm afraid that it's probably a motherboard issue. It could also be a RAM problem or even a CPU problem, however, in my experience when things like this happen it's often the motherboard.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

First thing I always recommend is a BIOS reset. Someone could have tried to overclock it and failed, but the motherboard won't go back to defaults automatically.

Also try re-seating the memory and processor check its not shifted.

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

The very first thing I would check if the electrolytic capacitors located around the CPU socket. Have they reuptured or are they leaking? If so, then that is most likely your problem. I've seen loads of Dell Optiplex's and Deminsion's do this. (That comes from using lower-quality parts and components in the motherboard and it was also a manufactuing defect.) If you don't see any of those issues, then go with your basic stuff first. But oddly enough, this may be the first thing to check since I've repaired about 40 machines with like issues/symptoms and most of the time this was the problem. If this is it, find someone who can solder new ones on (you can get them from eBay or you can do them yourself, it's not very diificult.) Let us know what you find.

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Post by RentedMule »

Just because some lights come on doesn't mean your power supply is "good". It could very well be broken to where it simply isn't pushing out the power it should be. Out of the hundreds of machines I have owned, this seems to happen a lot more than one would think

defect17
FTP Access
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:11 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Post by defect17 »

The fact that you're not getting any diagnostic lights suggests the motherboard's not even reaching POST. Also, the motherboard power light might indicate the 5V rail, or the 12V rail. But I wouldn't think it checks them all. It's simply not an accurate indicator of power supply status. Ergo, I agree it sounds like a motherboard / power issue. It could even be both. I've had a bad power supply take down a motherboard as it's last Earthly action.

Edit: Or an unworkable CPU of course.

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

Sounds like something CPU related

jimmsta
Donator
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:43 am
Contact:

Post by jimmsta »

4tified wrote:The very first thing I would check if the electrolytic capacitors located around the CPU socket. Have they ruptured or are they leaking? If so, then that is most likely your problem.
I keep seeing more and more boards with leaking/burst capacitors on a day-to-day basis in my computer shop. Seriously, if a system shows no signs of life, check to make sure that nothing is leaking or burst (or for that matter, missing). I had one video card come in that had exploded - fan blade was shot off the card, and a sealed capacitor exploded off the board.

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Post by RentedMule »

jimmsta wrote: I keep seeing more and more boards with leaking/burst capacitors on a day-to-day basis in my computer shop. Seriously, if a system shows no signs of life, check to make sure that nothing is leaking or burst (or for that matter, missing). I had one video card come in that had exploded - fan blade was shot off the card, and a sealed capacitor exploded off the board.
Of course you do. See http://www.badcaps.net/

While that page cites problems as far back as 1999-2000, most of the world didn't start having real problems until mid-late 2002. If my memory serves me correctly, this Dell machine can fall into that category, but it sounds like the computer was well gone over... and an exploded/leaked capacitor is pretty apparent.

Replacing these can be done, but it takes a lot of patience, as they are usually grouped up with many others, making a normally simple soldering job much more difficult. Also, you have to pay attention to what direction they are going. With a machine that old, I would say, if that is the case, throw it away.

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

RentedMule wrote:
jimmsta wrote: I keep seeing more and more boards with leaking/burst capacitors on a day-to-day basis in my computer shop. Seriously, if a system shows no signs of life, check to make sure that nothing is leaking or burst (or for that matter, missing). I had one video card come in that had exploded - fan blade was shot off the card, and a sealed capacitor exploded off the board.
Of course you do. See http://www.badcaps.net/

While that page cites problems as far back as 1999-2000, most of the world didn't start having real problems until mid-late 2002. If my memory serves me correctly, this Dell machine can fall into that category, but it sounds like the computer was well gone over... and an exploded/leaked capacitor is pretty apparent.

Replacing these can be done, but it takes a lot of patience, as they are usually grouped up with many others, making a normally simple soldering job much more difficult. Also, you have to pay attention to what direction they are going. With a machine that old, I would say, if that is the case, throw it away.
On the other hand, you could save some money fixing it yourself it that is indeed the issue. The materials and prices it would take to replace those caps should be cheaper than getting another board....now that's depending if you already have a solder gun, solder rosin, etc. If not, and you don't have the knowledge/patience for that task, and your board is indeed suffering rather than the power supply, then is probably would be a better idea to just buy another board.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Maybe the powerbutton in broke.

Does its make a clicking sounds, otherwise the cables can not be correctly placed.

missingno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Post by missingno »

I'm checking back in,

Seems all caps are fine. The cabling is connected properly - checked, double checked, and triple checked.

RAM is unknown - I don't have other machines that take its RAM to check.

My friend I got it from says it's probably a CPU issue. I'll need to check with that. Probably a $15 or so Pentium III would work from Amazon.

I'm actually not sure with the powersupply for several reasons.

For starters, the machine HAS actually showed all 4 diagnostic lights turn on... for only a split second. All lights, A-D, are orange and then turn off, so I know the system board is receiving power, but the BIOS is not executing.

And the harddrive and CD-ROM whir to life when the Power button is pressed. But I don't see any activity from there on.

Thanks for the help so far!

Edit: Checked mainboard prices - $35 or so for a new board at last resort.

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

Unplug *EVERYTHING* then plug it all back in. missingno, what your describing, I had happen to me. Was a loose CPU

missingno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Post by missingno »

happy dude wrote:Unplug *EVERYTHING* then plug it all back in. missingno, what your describing, I had happen to me. Was a loose CPU
*sigh* Tried it, no luck again.

missingno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Post by missingno »

missingno wrote:
happy dude wrote:Unplug *EVERYTHING* then plug it all back in. missingno, what your describing, I had happen to me. Was a loose CPU
*sigh* Tried it, no luck again.
Oh hell. Left it unplugged for 24 hours. Fired it up to get the initial ABCD flash up on the back. Didn't come back at all thereafter. THAT means...
Dell wrote:Image
System board is receiving power, but the BIOS is not executing.
Set the configuration jumper to Maintenance mode, and restart the computer. Enter the system setup program and ensure that the processor speed is set correctly. Exit and save the setting. Turn off the computer, reset the configuration jumper to Normal mode, and then restart the computer. Remove all cards and restart the computer to determine if a resource conflict exists. If a conflict exists, resolve the conflict.

If the problem persists, see "Contacting Dell" in the Solutions Guide for instructions on obtaining technical assistance.
And it's not happening thereafter. I need to check the powersupply. How'd I go about that, first? I don't have any other Dells in the house accessible to me (I don't think my sister'd let me touch her Dimension 3000...).

And yet again, seeing the "Contacting Dell" in the Solutions Guide wouldn't help me >_<).

Well, time to go out looking for a PIII in town.

missingno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Post by missingno »

And so the story comes to a close...
I'd like to thank y'all for your help in this. Seems it WAS a bad processor after all.

Image
The lights mean it's happy.

Ordered a new PIII 933 off of Amazon from a seller - used yet like new. The 'mension is running it at 700 MHz... kinda odd for a machine that supports the same processor I ordered.

Oh well, time for a DBAN on the free hard drive...

Image
The 2100 in it's networked nook.

Post Reply