Register Nicknames

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
prx984
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:38 pm

Register Nicknames

Post by prx984 »

Topic is '-[ BetaArchive.co.uk IRC ]- -[ Register your nicks! ]-

whats that mean?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Registering a nickname will assign a password to it (a self-chosen one), so that you can always join with your nickname if you enter your password and noone else can (ab)use your nickname.

Usually, this is done by:

Code: Select all

/nickserv register <nickname> <password> <email>
or something like that IIRC.

prx984
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:38 pm

Post by prx984 »

thank you

after a bit of playing around, i got it.

heres the format i did it in:

"/nickserv register password e@mail.com nickname"

without the quotes of coarse (don't use <or> i tried that and it wouldnt work )

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Okay, glad you figured it out. Sorry for mixing up the order of the commands. And yes, you had to type it without the "<" or ">" signs, I just used them to indicate that this part is meant to be replaced with your own data.

Other thing: Can you download from the IRC server? The_Distracter has some of his packs online, but I can't download them. Each time I try, I get a "sending..." message, but my IRC client doesn't receive the transfer...

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

IRC is a bit buggy for transfers ive found.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

OK, glad I'm not the only one with this problem. My problem is there are some packs (the Codename Hydra one for example) that I really would like to download.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Try another client. Not all of them seem to work. mIRC tried but fails.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I use Colloquy (on Mac OS X). Will try another one.

prx984
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:38 pm

Post by prx984 »

thanks for helping me getting my name regged

i use dcipher .97 for windows, im not sure what your os is, but maybe that might work if your on windows.

else, i have a list of clients for all different types of OS's thats been pretty good for me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_IRC_clients

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@cygnus
I use Mac OS X primarily, but as an Intel Mac can dual-boot to Windows, I'll try it there as well.

prx984
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:38 pm

Post by prx984 »

empireum wrote:@cygnus
I use Mac OS X primarily, but as an Intel Mac can dual-boot to Windows, I'll try it there as well.
kool, if you cant find the program. let me know, and ill send it to you

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I'm ready to try with X-chat now, but last time I checked, The_Distractor was not online, thus the bot was inactive.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

kinda new to IRC, someone better not register ___ before i do

Shrimp
FTP Access
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:41 am
Location: NY

Post by Shrimp »

I just registered my nick

Koptor
FTP Access
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: Lincolnshire UK

Post by Koptor »

Bit late with this, but in response to "IRC file transfers" ([X]DCC) not working, ports must be forwarded in order for it to work ("DCC ports"), check your clients settings/docs for more information on this.
lol, internet

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

OK, thanks!

Post Reply