BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 1h, 35m | CPU: 15% | MEM: 2194MB of 3035MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: IP updater?        Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Is there any script that can update the IP on http://sfsbeta.co.nr/ like where its hosted?
as he runs a server on me but i don't have a static IP so could there be a script made to get and renew the IP on the site?
(Sounds confusing i know)

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
538

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
If you got a good enough router, you can use dyndns and your router should be able to update it (thats what mine does)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
No it cant use anything like that,
Has to be the actually IP

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Posts
538

Favourite OS
xboxkrnld.15574
It would be the actual ip, since your router would update it when the IP changes...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Thats what im saying
when a new ip comes is there a script to update the IP on his site?

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Posts
274

Location
The Bermuda Triangle

Favourite OS
WFW 3.11/Win 98SE
sorry, i only know of is for dyndns, "dyndns updater", ill search around and see if i cant dig anything up...

EDIT: i read your hoster thing's FAQ, it sounds like there's something in your account that can do the trick:

Quote:
What is Dynamic IP support?

This feature is for those who would like to run a webserver from their home computer, but unfortunately, have a dynamic IP address.

thats all it gave me, i dont have an acount there, so i cant check further...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 4:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
With a bit of ingenuity, you could code up a batch file that uses cURL or Wget to send updates to the site ... though you'll need to look at how the form works on their site and write wget/cURL commands that will send the expected data. If you're doing it this way you need to get your downloader to keep its cookies in a file, so you stay logged in. Look up the docs for wget/cURL, it should be not too difficult...

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Posts
352
EveryDNS.net. If you point the name servers on his domain to that address, you can set the perl script up on the server to update it with your IP address. I use it for all my domains.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS