BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 12h, 22m | CPU: 42% | MEM: 5548MB of 10732MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Going to get a GMA900/950. Should I?        Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Hey all,


My friend at school is going to give me a Intel GMA 900 or 950 gfx card, i heard it is good for DWM or something, so i think i would through it down on my test machine and put LH4074 or something Vista-aero-longhorn-ish.

So, bottom line, should i get the GFX Card?

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:55 pm

Posts
69
He's going to have a hard time giving it to you as it's onboard...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
No, he has a few like sitting around.

I think he took it out of some machines. But, if i get it, can i put it in my test machine?

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Its more of an integrated chip... Traditionally its physically sodered onto your board and nibbles at your ram when it needs to do graphics operations.

The bottom line that as a graphics card this chip fails. YET, as an onboard chip its usable...

Don't expect to be playing any games, consider instead to buy an 8600 from nVidia or possible a GeForce 7950 GX2 if you want high performance and have a low budget.

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:04 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
Frozenport wrote:
Its more of an integrated chip... Traditionally its physically sodered onto your board and nibbles at your ram when it needs to do graphics operations.

The bottom line that as a graphics card this chip fails. YET, as an onboard chip its usable...

Don't expect to be playing any games, consider instead to buy an 8600 from nVidia or possible a GeForce 7950 GX2 if you want high performance and have a low budget.

The chip is physically soldered on to the motherboard, so your friend can't give one to you (unless he's giving you the board).

Its terrible for anything really, I'm not even sure if it works for DWM. :o I would get a 7300GT if you really want DWM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814130025


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
If DWM's requirements are at least somewhat similar to Aero's, I can tell you Aero works absolutely fine on a GMA950 here (which is only available as an on-board solution, no separate cards exist). Gaming's a bit of problem unless you're satisfied with an 800x600 resolution or something along these lines. Older games tend to run fine on higher resolutions, though.

Dr Eggman, if the card he's referring to is an ADD2 card, it's worthless as it is only an extension to the on-board GPU to expand its connection capabilities.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:55 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:41 am

Posts
114

Location
NY

Favourite OS
Arch Linux
It's an integrated card... he can't give you one unless he gives you a new motherboard, it's crap anyway I highly recommend you get an 8500 GT or 8600 GT from NVIDIA, those will run DWM excellent. (my 8600 GT does anyway)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am

Posts
224

Location
Yorkshire, England

Favourite OS
Windows 7
The GMA 900 will not run Aero, its capable but no WDDM driver was released for this paticula card. However from what i have read on the net some beta versions of Vista support Aero with this card, the GMA 950 should run Aero fine.

I have to agree with what everyone else is saying and tell you to get a cheap ATI or Nvidia card... i belive this GMA cards are built in to the motherboard anyway....


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
If you're looking for a motherboard, get one with an X4500, I heard those support SM4.0 and DX10


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS