Virtual Disk drive images

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Virtual Disk drive images

Post by hypr »

I was wondering if this was possible it is in regards to a hard drive I has, since Compaq made a OEM type tabbed program manager for Windows 3.1 its on the hard drive; I was wondering if it would be possible to make a virtual PC image from the data on the drive or not as I want to see about uploading it to FTP.

Thanks.

teriaki 511
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: The Bermuda Triangle

Post by teriaki 511 »

norton ghost should be able to make a .img file of the HDD for you
Image

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

even if the hard drive is bad? Like its hooked through the USB - IDE controller, and I desperately want to get this release of Windows w/ Compaq Tabworks.

teriaki 511
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: The Bermuda Triangle

Post by teriaki 511 »

hmm, if its on a usb to ide controller, id use winimage instead, i thought the drive was still in a machine,

anyway, can you still access the drive? if you can,and winimage cant make an image,id make a plain install of windows 3.1 and copy the files into the image
Image

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

if the HDD is dying put it in a sealable bag andp ut that in the freezer for 24 hours. Shrinks the platters that the data is on

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

sure, i'll put it in the freezer right now, and in 24 hours I will hope it works, does it work every time ?


I did get some off but should I try and get more off it from a Windows 98 box or something ?

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

It doesnt have to be 24 hours but the longer the better...
usually works most times...but if the HDD is dead, then youre out of luck.
should get quite a few freezes out of it before it completely dies

doesnt matter what box you use it on but the quicker you can get it plugged in and copying the batter

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

Ahh ok; does it matter if the HD hasn't been used in months?

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

hypr wrote:Ahh ok; does it matter if the HD hasn't been used in months?
no, again, as long as it hasnt fully died

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

ahh good, I will check it sometime tomorrow its 11 PM EST here .

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Be sure to wipe off any condensation before plugging it in or you could zap the electronics.

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

After trying to do it and wiping the condensation off, it somehow wiped everythnig off the hard drive, but its still working, whats a good program for file recovery?

teriaki 511
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: The Bermuda Triangle

Post by teriaki 511 »

Get Data Back for FAT

you need a key to actually save the recovered data to a new drive, but they're everywhere and easy to find, google is your friend
Image

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

thanks I will try it and see what happens, I won't use the USB interface for it, I gotta plug it into another PC

If I can get the stuff back, which I hope and won't be too much trouble like what happened with my backup CD, then it should all be good.

hypr
Donator
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Guelph, ON, Canada

Post by hypr »

Hey I recovered the stuff, I will soon be transferring it over to a virtual PC image, but at the same time I will need to fix up the links and references to programs and items as they broke during the transfer, but everything including the Tabworks shell is there.

Post Reply