BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 14h, 13m | CPU: 30% | MEM: 5538MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: All Laptop?        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
I've found myself going all laptop these days. I rarely use a desktop, exepct when I have to sign on the mac and do some crap for atheme. Anyone else just use a laptop and eliminate desktops?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
I've been wanting to for a while but 1) not until I get my laptops overheating problem fixed 2) Buy a 512MB stick of RAM for it (only has 256mb as it is)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
I agree. I only use my desktop now for messing on VMWare, video editing and games. I use my laptop daily for everything else.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2640

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
KCLiVES wrote:
I agree. I only use my desktop now for messing on VMWare, video editing and games. I use my laptop daily for everything else.

Same, or unless vista doesn't want to work

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm

Posts
228

Location
North England.
Toshua123 wrote:
KCLiVES wrote:
I agree. I only use my desktop now for messing on VMWare, video editing and games. I use my laptop daily for everything else.

Same, or unless vista doesn't want to work


XP 8)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Actually, what I tend to do is use both. I will use a laptop and use remote desktop, over my wireless network to my desktop. This way, I get through all the problems I have with laptops being underpowered in certain ways, and I can pretty much do anything except games. Im thinking of getting an EeePC soon, almost solely for that purpose.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:36 pm

Posts
59
I use my laptop when I am not in my apartment, but once I am back home I have my laptop and one of my desktops connected with Synergy. I've found that I end up using both more often than I originally thought I would.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I use my laptop only when I'm not at home or when I really need an x86 box (my main box is PowerPC). When none of these cases apply, my laptop sits in its bag, my desktop being the primary machine.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:07 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm

Posts
235

Location
New York

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Build 7600
My laptop sucks. Its an old IBM Thinkpad T23 thats running Windows 2000 and worst of all the battery is dead.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:22 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
I don't know how I'd live without my laptop now. I'm just chilling on the couch with Mountain Dew, my $50 earbuds, and tunes. I don't think I could really goto a desktop again.

BTW: Specs:

Tabaqui:
Intel Core Duo 1.6ghz
1GiB DDR2 RAM
100GiB Hard Disk
ATI Radeon X1300 GPU
Windows XP Pro

Applications:
Winamp ,Remote Desktop ,Thunderbird ,PuTTY, Visual Studio ,Crimson Editor ,Photoshop, GIMP ,X-Chat ,mIRC, LimeWire, uTorrent, Cygwin, MS Office XP, Trillian, Psi, Mercurial, Subversion, Git, and some games.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am

Posts
606

Location
$HOME
Well, I first got a Laptop when I was eleven because my dad told me he would give me anthing I asked for, and I hadn't seen him on 8 years, so I asked for a laptop becuase I wanted to play "James Bond" and have my "secret word files" lol.
Since then I've always looved laptops, and have had no desktops.
My computer became two months yestarday, and she has a Core 2 Duo at 1.8 ghs, 240Gb(120x2) HDD, GeForce 8600gt SLI w 756 mb Vid ram, 2 gigs RAM, Win Vista, Bluetooth, Fingerprint Reader, DL DVD Writer, HDDVD reader, WiFi, 5.1 speaker system integrated with Dolby Home Theater Tech, a 5 in 1 card reader, a Synaptics Touch pad With Dual Mode, 1 HDMI output, 1 SVideo output, and 6 USB 2.0 Ports.
I loooooooove her!
She is fast, and amazing
Never will have a desktop!
hehe


Last edited by Chicago on Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:06 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
I scrapped my desktop due to wanting space, and yeah, I've never looked back.

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:22 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am

Posts
224

Location
Yorkshire, England

Favourite OS
Windows 7
I use my laptop when I’m doing coursework so I can sit in my room where its nice and quiet and get on with it, my laptop is my main pc for work/internet then my pc downstairs is the main pc for gaming :D


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:40 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:56 pm

Posts
177

Location
Serbia

Favourite OS
Windows Lupus Project
I use only laptops (have 2 of them) and haven't used a desktop for ages...

_________________
May our software be open-source, and our women closed-source.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:53 pm 
Reply with quote
I use a laptop, because I'm in conservatory so i'm only at home in the weekends and it's really good if you can take your computer (your entire virtual you) with you. Everywhere.


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:33 pm

Posts
3899

Location
Where do you want to go today?

Favourite OS
All Microsoft operating systems!
constrictor wrote:
My laptop sucks. Its an old IBM Thinkpad T23 thats running Windows 2000 and worst of all the battery is dead.
Right now I'm using a Dell Latitude Notebook with a Pentium II Processor, Windows ME, and Internet Explorer, and it's not that bad. Even though it's battery isn't very good, I don't mind using it's Power Brick. I'm one of the few people here who don't mind using such old products. And I'm even using it to write this post.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:00 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm

Posts
124

Location
In front of a Thinkpad
Well, I have two laptops and both of them are crap compared to today's standards, but I find myself using a mix of my desktops and my lappys. Right now I'm using my Granny's iMac G3.

-Zach

_________________
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:50 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Up until a few weeks ago when I got my new PC, I was all Laptop. I had my mac and I used that one hell of a lot more than my desktop PC (but only because my desktop PC sucked). Now I use my desktop PC more because its better. I will be getting a new laptop soon, so when I do I'll probably end up using a mix of the two again.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:14 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
I use my laptop almost exclusively for now...mostly because I'm out visitng clients a lot so it makes sense.

The laptop I have is only a 1.7ghz celeron, 512mb ddr2 ram, 80gb hdd...but it does. I only use it for boring tasks anyway.

Am looking to build me a "new" pc soon though. Been collecting parts for ages. Currently got amd 4000+ (939), mobo, 2gb ram, 500gb of hdd space..and has cost me £30 in total. So not bad.

_________________
Cheapy cheap VPS and hosting for BA members!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
hougtimo wrote:
I use my laptop almost exclusively for now...mostly because I'm out visitng clients a lot so it makes sense.

The laptop I have is only a 1.7ghz celeron, 512mb ddr2 ram, 80gb hdd...but it does. I only use it for boring tasks anyway.

Am looking to build me a "new" pc soon though. Been collecting parts for ages. Currently got amd 4000+ (939), mobo, 2gb ram, 500gb of hdd space..and has cost me £30 in total. So not bad.


Got a hookup for that kinda costs?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS