All Laptop?

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
stitch
Permanently Banned
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

All Laptop?

Post by stitch »

I've found myself going all laptop these days. I rarely use a desktop, exepct when I have to sign on the mac and do some crap for atheme. Anyone else just use a laptop and eliminate desktops?

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

I've been wanting to for a while but 1) not until I get my laptops overheating problem fixed 2) Buy a 512MB stick of RAM for it (only has 256mb as it is)

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

I agree. I only use my desktop now for messing on VMWare, video editing and games. I use my laptop daily for everything else.
Image

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

KCLiVES wrote:I agree. I only use my desktop now for messing on VMWare, video editing and games. I use my laptop daily for everything else.
Same, or unless vista doesn't want to work

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

Toshua123 wrote:
KCLiVES wrote:I agree. I only use my desktop now for messing on VMWare, video editing and games. I use my laptop daily for everything else.
Same, or unless vista doesn't want to work
XP
Image

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Actually, what I tend to do is use both. I will use a laptop and use remote desktop, over my wireless network to my desktop. This way, I get through all the problems I have with laptops being underpowered in certain ways, and I can pretty much do anything except games. Im thinking of getting an EeePC soon, almost solely for that purpose.

mulholland
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:36 pm

Post by mulholland »

I use my laptop when I am not in my apartment, but once I am back home I have my laptop and one of my desktops connected with Synergy. I've found that I end up using both more often than I originally thought I would.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I use my laptop only when I'm not at home or when I really need an x86 box (my main box is PowerPC). When none of these cases apply, my laptop sits in its bag, my desktop being the primary machine.

constrictor
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: New York

Post by constrictor »

My laptop sucks. Its an old IBM Thinkpad T23 thats running Windows 2000 and worst of all the battery is dead.
Image

stitch
Permanently Banned
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Post by stitch »

I don't know how I'd live without my laptop now. I'm just chilling on the couch with Mountain Dew, my $50 earbuds, and tunes. I don't think I could really goto a desktop again.

BTW: Specs:

Tabaqui:
Intel Core Duo 1.6ghz
1GiB DDR2 RAM
100GiB Hard Disk
ATI Radeon X1300 GPU
Windows XP Pro

Applications:
Winamp ,Remote Desktop ,Thunderbird ,PuTTY, Visual Studio ,Crimson Editor ,Photoshop, GIMP ,X-Chat ,mIRC, LimeWire, uTorrent, Cygwin, MS Office XP, Trillian, Psi, Mercurial, Subversion, Git, and some games.

Chicago
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:47 am
Location: $HOME

Post by Chicago »

Well, I first got a Laptop when I was eleven because my dad told me he would give me anthing I asked for, and I hadn't seen him on 8 years, so I asked for a laptop becuase I wanted to play "James Bond" and have my "secret word files" lol.
Since then I've always looved laptops, and have had no desktops.
My computer became two months yestarday, and she has a Core 2 Duo at 1.8 ghs, 240Gb(120x2) HDD, GeForce 8600gt SLI w 756 mb Vid ram, 2 gigs RAM, Win Vista, Bluetooth, Fingerprint Reader, DL DVD Writer, HDDVD reader, WiFi, 5.1 speaker system integrated with Dolby Home Theater Tech, a 5 in 1 card reader, a Synaptics Touch pad With Dual Mode, 1 HDMI output, 1 SVideo output, and 6 USB 2.0 Ports.
I loooooooove her!
She is fast, and amazing
Never will have a desktop!
hehe
Last edited by Chicago on Fri Feb 29, 2008 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Koptor
FTP Access
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: Lincolnshire UK

Post by Koptor »

I scrapped my desktop due to wanting space, and yeah, I've never looked back.
lol, internet

InsaneNutter
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am
Location: Yorkshire, England
Contact:

Post by InsaneNutter »

I use my laptop when I’m doing coursework so I can sit in my room where its nice and quiet and get on with it, my laptop is my main pc for work/internet then my pc downstairs is the main pc for gaming

marxo
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:56 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by marxo »

I use only laptops (have 2 of them) and haven't used a desktop for ages...
May our software be open-source, and our women closed-source.

kvitske

Post by kvitske »

I use a laptop, because I'm in conservatory so i'm only at home in the weekends and it's really good if you can take your computer (your entire virtual you) with you. Everywhere.

WinPC

Post by WinPC »

constrictor wrote:My laptop sucks. Its an old IBM Thinkpad T23 thats running Windows 2000 and worst of all the battery is dead.
Right now I'm using a Dell Latitude Notebook with a Pentium II Processor, Windows ME, and Internet Explorer, and it's not that bad. Even though it's battery isn't very good, I don't mind using it's Power Brick. I'm one of the few people here who don't mind using such old products. And I'm even using it to write this post.

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

Well, I have two laptops and both of them are crap compared to today's standards, but I find myself using a mix of my desktops and my lappys. Right now I'm using my Granny's iMac G3.

-Zach
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Up until a few weeks ago when I got my new PC, I was all Laptop. I had my mac and I used that one hell of a lot more than my desktop PC (but only because my desktop PC sucked). Now I use my desktop PC more because its better. I will be getting a new laptop soon, so when I do I'll probably end up using a mix of the two again.

hougtimo
FTP Access
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm
Location: c:\tmp\*
Contact:

Post by hougtimo »

I use my laptop almost exclusively for now...mostly because I'm out visitng clients a lot so it makes sense.

The laptop I have is only a 1.7ghz celeron, 512mb ddr2 ram, 80gb hdd...but it does. I only use it for boring tasks anyway.

Am looking to build me a "new" pc soon though. Been collecting parts for ages. Currently got amd 4000+ (939), mobo, 2gb ram, 500gb of hdd space..and has cost me £30 in total. So not bad.

stitch
Permanently Banned
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Post by stitch »

hougtimo wrote:I use my laptop almost exclusively for now...mostly because I'm out visitng clients a lot so it makes sense.

The laptop I have is only a 1.7ghz celeron, 512mb ddr2 ram, 80gb hdd...but it does. I only use it for boring tasks anyway.

Am looking to build me a "new" pc soon though. Been collecting parts for ages. Currently got amd 4000+ (939), mobo, 2gb ram, 500gb of hdd space..and has cost me £30 in total. So not bad.
Got a hookup for that kinda costs?

Post Reply