Server error

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Server error

Post by Rob Jansen »

Look what was waiting this morning about 7.30 at work.
Image

Just managed to get a screen of this (windows give me access to paint).
and safed it on a floppy just before the server got an BSOD.

Luckely i had a backup server running with all data from last friday so the users never noticed.

But Windows give me no error codes to work with so look at the screen its looks like a video-driver error.
So i reboot in to safe-mode and removed the video-driver and then server rebooted in to ''normal'' windows (without network drivers because of the hardwareprofile).
Found new videocard, installed drivers, rebooted.
When i tryed to open Active Directory to add new users, put in the CD-ROM of new users (yes we keep all data on CD's) but then again, the screen got black again, and then this returend.

What about my luck.

Booted with windows CD to do Recovery,
Press any key to boot from CD... (pressed space)
Press F2 to start automatic system restore (F2)
Please insert the disk labeled:
Windows Automated System Recovery Disk
into the floppy driver.

(put the floppy in after searching it for about 30 minutes)

Press any key when ready (now pressed enter)

Then the restore started as normal.
Rebooted the Server.

And again this..

I am getting really tired of this...
So i had a conversation with some other system administrator and desited that i had to reinstall the server completely.

Now..

Puted in the CD-ROM again, booted (pressed shift this times ), loaded driver files.

And what about that and BSOD.
Now this error code turns up (finnaly an code what i can work with)
Stop 0x00000050 or PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

Maybe bad memory?
Replaced the memory and then it was already 14.00 so i thought i leave it to tomorrow i have other jobs to do.
I totally forgot the get coffee and get something to eat.

(No this is real!)

RichardG867
FTP Access
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by RichardG867 »

Looks like memory is screwed up. "OK" is at wrong position.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

RichardGatinho wrote:Looks like memory is screwed up. "OK" is at wrong position.
Its not made its REAL.
I had a few screen of that on regular windows XP too.

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

DjRob wrote:Its not made its REAL.
Erm... no-one suggested it wasn't? :/

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

moonlit wrote:
DjRob wrote:Its not made its REAL.
Erm... no-one suggested it wasn't? :/
He said that the OK was in the wrong position so i thought.
But this job was prettymuch the whole day.
And tomorrow a reinstalled (that should take with all configuration a good 2-3 days).
I have other ICT-jobs to so i dont spend the full 8 hours on the server.

RichardG867
FTP Access
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by RichardG867 »

DjRob wrote:Its not made its REAL.
I had a few screen of that on regular windows XP too.
As I said, looks like memory is screwed up.
About the strange Server 2003 title and error icon, this only appears while the server is running on 8-bit.
If you don't know, if video (and driver) works properly, our second suspect is the memory.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

RichardGatinho wrote:
DjRob wrote:Its not made its REAL.
I had a few screen of that on regular windows XP too.
As I said, looks like memory is screwed up.
About the strange Server 2003 title and error icon, this only appears while the server is running on 8-bit.
If you don't know, if video (and driver) works properly, our second suspect is the memory.
I have checked it with right-click on the desktop and the properties (before the BSOD) and then it stated 4-bit colour.

RichardG867
FTP Access
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by RichardG867 »

Looks like memory failed somewhere, then Windows changed to 4-bit. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)

Suggestion: Use an alternate server and keep memtest86 (http://www.memtest86.com/) running. Configure it to run a full test for at least three passes.
Memtest86 also verifies the CPU cache and the memory bus.
BTW, my computer survived from a power cut while running 115th pass (technician misconfigured to a very high value) (Edited 26/Nov/2009)
Last edited by RichardG867 on Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

I will try that.

The backup server is holding strong.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

What spec is the backup server and main server?

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Toshua123 wrote:What spec is the backup server and main server?
Main: and backup.
Pentium 4 x64 range: 2.5 GHz.
4GB ram
total of 500GB space.

Its not a big business but this will do.

The only things this had to do is:
DNS
DHCP
Active Directory Services
Profile and Documents folders.

We have an external company managing the e-mail and give us internet.

Locked