BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 30d, 4h, 53m | CPU: 29% | MEM: 5780MB of 10961MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Something weird in google...        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:41 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Anyone happen to know why when i searched for "Gamestop Preordering Story" this happened (I wanted to know weather it was safe to preorder a game from there)
Image

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:45 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
You probably made too many requests on google in a certain time frame. If you have the google search bar or something running it can often do this. Just enter the code and continue as normal. It was nothing to do with the site you were wanting to visit.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:01 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Posts
352
Sometimes it doesn't happen for days at a time, sometimes I get it every time I search for a few hours. Real PITA.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:50 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Yep, well I had actually only done about 3 googles in the past 12 hrs, so it must have been a random occurrence. :)

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:11 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:04 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:28 pm

Posts
352
Considering it's happened to me on windows and linux, at two different ISP's in different physical regions, I'd say google has some issues. And it's been happing for months.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:53 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
I used to get this occasionally but there seems to be a number of factors google uses to work out if it thinks you're a bot, I'm not sure what they are though. Seems the search terms and number of searches in a given time frame seems to make a difference, I'd imagine there might be some agent string checking too and perhaps checking how many searches there are from a given IP/block of IPs. Purely guess work though, no real idea what causes it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:36 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
There is one reason this may happen... ISP Transparent Proxies. If you are behind a transparent proxy, you will be sharing the same IP with hundreds of other people. Although your WAN IP is different, the server see's the proxy IP first and so takes this as your IP.

A simple test is to go to www.abyssunderground.co.uk/ip and see if it says you have a proxy or not.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Last edited by Andy on Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:47 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:07 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Andy wrote:
There is one reason this may happen... ISP Transparent Proxies. If you are behind a transparent proxy, you will be sharing the same IP with hundreds of other people. Although your WAN IP is different, the server see's the proxy IP first and so takes this as your IP.

A simple test is to go to www.abyssunderground.co.uk/ip and see if it says you have a proxy or not.


The test says that we dont have an proxy, but we have an proxy server here at my work.

Hava not hanging on the screen with the proxy.
Maybe it cant detect indoor proxy's.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:21 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:09 pm

Posts
529

Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Kanada

Favourite OS
Longhorn
hey dude that is weird i had the same error about 3 days ago or so now....i showed Andy the other night, as it was only the second time i have seen an error with google, freeked me out when it happened...i was at werk and just doin a random search (i cant remember what for right now)....

and bam! same error you posted....it makes no sense to me...

peas
cityboy


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:25 am 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes, on the same day everyone at my school had difficulties accessing Google and got the same message.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:30 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Andy wrote:
There is one reason this may happen... ISP Transparent Proxies. If you are behind a transparent proxy, you will be sharing the same IP with hundreds of other people. Although your WAN IP is different, the server see's the proxy IP first and so takes this as your IP.

A simple test is to go to www.abyssunderground.co.uk/ip and see if it says you have a proxy or not.


I know for sure I'm not behind a transparent proxy... I host websites from home.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:34 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
Andy wrote:
There is one reason this may happen... ISP Transparent Proxies. If you are behind a transparent proxy, you will be sharing the same IP with hundreds of other people. Although your WAN IP is different, the server see's the proxy IP first and so takes this as your IP.

A simple test is to go to www.abyssunderground.co.uk/ip and see if it says you have a proxy or not.


I know for sure I'm not behind a transparent proxy... I host websites from home.


Its mainly AOL that are famous for their transparent proxies, but there are others.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:52 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
Jeff wrote:
Andy wrote:
There is one reason this may happen... ISP Transparent Proxies. If you are behind a transparent proxy, you will be sharing the same IP with hundreds of other people. Although your WAN IP is different, the server see's the proxy IP first and so takes this as your IP.

A simple test is to go to www.abyssunderground.co.uk/ip and see if it says you have a proxy or not.


I know for sure I'm not behind a transparent proxy... I host websites from home.
AT&T doesn't use proxies at alll. I've got them, and I have no problems.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:03 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
Andy wrote:
There is one reason this may happen... ISP Transparent Proxies. If you are behind a transparent proxy, you will be sharing the same IP with hundreds of other people. Although your WAN IP is different, the server see's the proxy IP first and so takes this as your IP.

A simple test is to go to www.abyssunderground.co.uk/ip and see if it says you have a proxy or not.


I know for sure I'm not behind a transparent proxy... I host websites from home.


I hosted websites from home when I was behind a transparent proxy, so that proves nothing.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS