BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 52d, 22h, 10m | CPU: 12% | MEM: 6031MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: New hardware detected - Net        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:57 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
Every time I start up my old PC, I get a Windows notification saying that "Net" new hardware was detected. It's a network card and Windows can't find the driver. What's happening? (Edited 26/Nov/2009)
Windows is clean (no virii/spyware/trojan).


Last edited by RichardG867 on Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:03 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12466

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Windows does not stock drivers for every card so you will need to download the driver through another method or use the original driver disk to install the driver.

Either that, or the card is malfunctioning/Windows is malfunctioning.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:06 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
@Andy:

You aren't understanding. Here's the message: (Edited 26/Nov/2009)

New hardware detected [X]
Net


Last edited by RichardG867 on Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:10 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12466

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
RichardGatinho wrote:
@Andy:

You can't understand. Here's the balloon tip:

New hardware detected [X]
Net


The balloon top means its trying to install it without user intervention, but still doesn't mean it is going to do it successfully. Check in device manager and you should see the device. See what its up to and whether its working at all.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:17 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
It's detected as an unknown device with ! (not properly configured device). (Edited 26/Nov/2009)
Removed it using the device manager. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)
Next reboot I'll post the results. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)


Last edited by RichardG867 on Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:19 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12466

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
RichardGatinho wrote:
It's detected as unknown device with ! (not properly configured device).
Removed the culprit using device manager.
Next reboot I will post the results.


That indicates it has no driver (or its faulty, but no driver is more likely).

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:07 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
Rebooted and still asking for "Net" :oops:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Posts
274

Location
The Bermuda Triangle

Favourite OS
WFW 3.11/Win 98SE
did you try downloading the network card's drivers, removing "net" from the device manager list, then reinstall the drivers (like andy said in the first place...)?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:52 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
@teriaki 511 & Andy:

It's NOT related to the network card. It already has drivers, and started a few days from installing VirtualBox. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)


Last edited by RichardG867 on Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:27 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7386
Try to find out if it has a device ID in device manager. If you doubleclick on the "unknown device" and check the "details" tab there should be a long line saying something like "PCI\VEN_................"... If you got that then it's some hardware in your system lacking drivers. Post the entire line (it should then have a VEN, DEV and SUBSYS section). That line tells us who made the device and which model it is.

If you don't have that then you got some kind of application that installs a device driver.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:47 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
@mrpijey:

Device ID: ROOT\NET\0001
Class Installer: NetCfgx.dll,NetClassInstaller

EDIT: VirtualBox network cards use nearly the same device IDs, only the number changes. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)


Last edited by RichardG867 on Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7386
Since it's a network card.... the only other "network cards" i know of that XP gladly wants to install is the Firewire network service and Bluetooth Network device... so unless you got VirtualBox, VirtualPC, VMWare etc or any other app that installs software NIC:s.... and it doesn't have any vendor ID tag...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:21 pm

Posts
595
My PC lacks Bluetooth and Firewire. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)

Tried to open netcfgx.dll in Resource Hacker, but I got the virtual networks dialog, all other resources gives me "Invalid pointer operation", error messages with no text, "Access Violation", and when I close Reshacker, it won't close, looping ntdll.dll "Access Violation" errors. Need to kill it with Task Manager. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)

Image
Focused window is "Net", the others are VirtualBox NICs. (Edited 26/Nov/2009)


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ATeamInc and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS