BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 29d, 21h, 1m | CPU: 47% | MEM: 5866MB of 10943MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [eBay] SOLD Apple MacBook 2GHz Core2Duo 1GB RAM 80GB Boxed..        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Hello all,

Yes, I am selling my MacBook. Those who have spoken to me on MSN will know why.

It is on eBay for £550 Buy-it-now. I am selling to UK ONLY, so sorry to anyone else outside the UK who may want to buy it.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... :IT&ih=002

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Last edited by Andy on Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
Utter fail >.>

Your reason for selling such a beutiful peice of equipment is crap :P

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
kichimi wrote:
Utter fail >.>

Your reason for selling such a beutiful peice of equipment is crap :P


Indeed but would you keep something worth £550 that you'd likely break beyond it being usable or sellable? I think not some how...

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Do you have fears of breaking your MacBook? If that is the problem you could try getting a desktop Mac on ebay. I got an iMac G3 off ebay for only AU$49 and it's an excellent computer.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
mdogg wrote:
Do you have fears of breaking your MacBook? If that is the problem you could try getting a desktop Mac on ebay. I got an iMac G3 off ebay for only AU$49 and it's an excellent computer.


I have fears of breaking it because of how much it pisses me off, hence why I'm cutting my losses now and selling it before I break it and its lost all value.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Would you mind telling me (by PM if it need be)? I'm just interested.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:42 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Would you mind telling me (by PM if it need be)? I'm just interested.


OK...

[rant]

I get really impatient a lot of the time. I've never been a very patient person. I tend to get violent when my patience runs out (but never towards people, only towards things like PC's). Sometimes I get to the point where I hit it or throw it. Take a chill pill you might say, well sometimes you can see a very good reason why I'd do it.

Take last night for example (when I decided to sell it). I was set there, and I opened a word document someone sent me. Great, it opened in about 15 seconds. Slow, but bearable. I read what's on the first part of the page I can see and go to scroll. Two finger scroll didn't work so I went for the scroll bar. Didn't work. So I went for Quit so I could try again. Didn't work. Tried force close. Didn't work. So I thought, sod this, and tried to go back to Firefox. Didn't work. Tried msn. Didn't work. By this point i'm VERY irritated. I hit the macbook forcefully. No effect. So I get so pissed off I go for the power button. Suddenly everything springs into life. The word document scrolls about 15 times, then quits, firefox opens, then msn opens, then they crash and also quit...

THAT is why I am pissed off with the mac. Windows has never ever done that to me. If a program hangs, it still lets me go back to another and continue with that just fine.

[/rant]

That is why i'm selling it and cutting my losses before its too late.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Has never ever happened to me, if a program crashed, I could always continue my work as if nothing had happened, the only app that plays that bad on me occasionally is VLC. And even then, I'd just cut the power, restart the machine and go on. Anyway, as it's happened to you, I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment. Hope you won't make too much of a loss.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:09 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
Windows has never ever done that to me. If a program hangs, it still lets me go back to another and continue with that just fine.

[/rant]

That is why i'm selling it and cutting my losses before its too late.

Why not just use only Windows on it if you really don't like OS X? Presumably you'll still want some kind of Windows-based laptop so I'm a bit perplexed at why you are selling it and taking the loss for that reason alone :S Plus, I would give it another chance rather than sell it just because it went a bit unstable once...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
if you hate it then sell it and get something you like.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:33 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
betaluva wrote:
if you hate it then sell it and get something you like.

Exactly what he's doing.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 7:22 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
then why are the mac people trying to talk him out of getting rid off it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:47 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Andy wrote:
Windows has never ever done that to me. If a program hangs, it still lets me go back to another and continue with that just fine.

[/rant]

That is why i'm selling it and cutting my losses before its too late.

Why not just use only Windows on it if you really don't like OS X? Presumably you'll still want some kind of Windows-based laptop so I'm a bit perplexed at why you are selling it and taking the loss for that reason alone :S Plus, I would give it another chance rather than sell it just because it went a bit unstable once...


Because Windows refuses point blank to work natively on it. I get a HAL.DLL error every single time guaranteed. And believe me, I've tried giving it more chances, but now I've snapped.

I have 9 people watching it on eBay now, and had someone asking if i'd sell it for £500, and I said I might re-list it at £500.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
The Mac sold just a few minutes ago :)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@betaluva
Noone was actively trying to talk Andy out of selling it, we were just pointing out possible options, e.g. running Windows via Boot Camp.

@Andy
That is because you used an XP RTM install disc (didn't you?). These will not work on Intel Macs, period.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
@Andy
That is because you used an XP RTM install disc (didn't you?). These will not work on Intel Macs, period.


Why is this? And why don't Apple quote this? Or anyone quote this? Its the first I've heard. What version should I have used?

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
empireum wrote:
@Andy
That is because you used an XP RTM install disc (didn't you?). These will not work on Intel Macs, period.


Why is this? And why don't Apple quote this? Or anyone quote this? Its the first I've heard. What version should I have used?

On http://www.apple.com/macosx/techspecs/:
Quote:
Boot Camp requires a Mac with an Intel processor and Windows XP Service Pack 2 or Windows Vista (sold separately).

I don't really know why it is, but I can imagine it is because of the NT loader (when are you getting the HAL.DLL error?). Win2k's loader also refuses to work on Intel Macs. Thus, you shoulda used an XP SP2 disc (an SP1 disc is said to work as well, but I've not tested it). I've had no problems installing XP w/SP2, FLP and various Vista betas on my MacBook.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I used various combinations of disks including 3 different Windows XP SP2 disks and none of them allowed me to install XP. They all had the same error.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:19 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Strange. Were they slipstreamed? And when did the error appear? Also, you mentioned the error that convinced you to sell it was not the only one you got, is that correct? What kinds of other misbehaviors did your machine exhibit?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Strange. Were they slipstreamed? And when did the error appear? Also, you mentioned the error that convinced you to sell it was not the only one you got, is that correct? What kinds of other misbehaviors did your machine exhibit?


Yes they were slipstreamed. The error appears directly after it finishes copying setup files and reboots.

The other annoying behaviour was:

1. USB devices not always appearing on the desktop (USB pen for example) until a reboot.
2. Got a CD locked in the drive because the mac thought there wasn't one in it and wouldn't allow an eject.
3. Random total lockups on any application for 15+ seconds, sometimes having to force quit.
4. And the problems explained above.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I'm no genius, but it sounds to me like you may have gotten a bad apple...

Well, at least you sold it! :)

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
I'm no genius, but it sounds to me like you may have gotten a bad apple...

Well, at least you sold it! :)


Well its out of my hands now. Money is in my account, and the Mac is on its way via courier. Whether it was a bad apple or not, I'll never know. All I know is that I prefer Windows over a mac now, but I still don't like Vista... ;)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I'd second that, maybe there was something wrong with the machine. Anyway, sorry you had a bad experience. What are you gonna do with the money, buy another laptop or what?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:26 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
I'd second that, maybe there was something wrong with the machine. Anyway, sorry you had a bad experience. What are you gonna do with the money, buy another laptop or what?


Not sure yet. The original plan was to buy a cheap Windows laptop and put the rest towards my new desktop pc. I don't know what I'm going to do yet but I hope that plan stands.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS