BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 23h, 12m | CPU: 7% | MEM: 4139MB of 10235MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Laptop Server        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
I have done I have created a Laptop server!!!!

And it works, I am gona upload screenshots of the laptop and Ill take some digital photos to prove its real. It runs Windows server 2003 RC2 and Is currenty running as a File, print and internet gateway server!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:49 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Nice one! 8) I look forward to the pics.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm

Posts
407

Location
Essex, UK

Favourite OS
Gentoo
LOL! We are entering the new age of portable servers 8)

_________________
The better candies are in the cage


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:08 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
The next step would be using a PDA as a server... :D It's already possible!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:10 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
A friend of mine did but it was useless because he couldnt run php or mysql on it without recompiling it.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
I'm lucky because there is MySQL and PHP for the Linux distro my PDA runs... :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:14 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
My PDA's run Windows Mobile and PalmOS 4. I cant be fussed with it anyway since I have my server running great as it is.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
I cant be fussed with it anyway since I have my server running great as it is.

That's one hand, and on the other hand, a PDA acting as a server couldn't handle the load when it's accessed by multiple machines simultaneously. It's just something to play around with, nothing to use in a "productive" environment.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:21 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12467

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yeah I understand that but I dont have a lot of time to mess with these things anyway so Ill give it a miss.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
177

Location
UK, Home of RISCOS
I have found a way to import the Windows XP Laptop power managment to Win 2K3, but I havent got round to trying it. A 2.8 pentium 4 suckks powere like mad

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:26 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
ewan275 wrote:
A 2.8 pentium 4 suckks powere like mad


:D You should try a P4HT 3.4 then - I only get just over one hour battery life, just using Word or whatever - that's with maximum performance but the screen automatically slightly dimmed.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:01 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
You should try a P4HT 3.4 then - I only get just over one hour battery life, just using Word or whatever - that's with maximum performance but the screen automatically slightly dimmed.

Oh my... My MacBook gets >4h when doing light work, with the screen at 40% brightness... It gets a bit hot, however...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
It gets a bit hot, however...


How hot's hot though? The Pentium 4 is one of the hottest CPUs out there (that seems to be why they ditched it and went for Core Duo, as they couldn't get the P4 above 4 GHz without it overheating) - compared to a P4 your MacBook would probably feel like an ice block to me. I can feel the heat pouring off this thing just sitting here typing now! CPU temperature's 50 C apparently - that's actually pretty low for this machine!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:19 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
The MacBook usually is at 30C-40C when idle and at 1.5GHz, and when under 50% load (100% on core #1, 0% on core #2), it gets up to 65C at 1.83GHz. It gets up to 72C until the fan significantly ramps up and when under 100% load, it usually reaches 75C with the fan blowing at >>4000rpm; that's the maximum now, though. Before the firmware update which was dealing with that, the CPU could reach up to 86C under full load. This thing was (is?) really hot, literally! :D But the Core Duo is specified to run at up to 100C before errors oocur, and it turns off at 125C.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:24 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:38 pm

Posts
95
im an imperial kinda guy, but i gauged the temperature on my inspiron 7000 one time, it was about 153'F (i thinkg thats about 68'c?) but damn that's hot for a PII 366 (this was whule charging the batteries though)

battery time on mine, i get about 6 hours 8)

im considering turning my other laptop like this one into a server later on, but i dont know if itll be able to handle more than 2 people :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
One thing I'd worry about when using a laptop as a server is the hard drive. 2.5" drives are usually not meant for 24/7, although that doesn't mean they'll die if you run them 24/7.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Yeah, i would worry about the hdd too. However, a laptop server sounds like a kewl idea!

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
That's right, and there are some 2.5" HDDs explicitly meant for 24/7, for example Hitachi's Travelstar E series. A laptop that can act as a server can be a good and portable testbed, too.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
When I get a laptop, I might invest in one of those hdds so I can have piece of mind if i leave it on 24/7.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yes, but be sure to check out the specs, I think I read these Travelstar E HDs meant for 24/7 are only specified for up to 40C environment/operating temperature, whereas the normal Travelstars (of which I have one) is specified for up to 60C.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Ok, Will do.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
Heh, I once inadvertently left my old Compaq Armada M500 running for a week...it would probably have made a pretty cool server (low power, low noise, battery backup :D )

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:07 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:30 pm

Posts
156

Location
France

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1 x64
A laptop server eh? Well that's certainly different ... hehe ... :)

Can't be as fast as a normal pc, but at leats it takes up less space and has it's own monitor etc!

_________________
~ Dan


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Quote:
Can't be as fast as a normal pc, but at leats it takes up less space and has it's own monitor etc!

Do you mean that concerning the CPU or the HD?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:13 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:30 pm

Posts
156

Location
France

Favourite OS
Windows 7 SP1 x64
empireum wrote:
Do you mean that concerning the CPU or the HD?

Both really ... :?

Laptop CPU's run lower FSB's ... 533 Mhz instead of 800 Mhz for example.
Laptop HDD's run lower RPM's ... 5400 rpm instead of 7200 rpm for example.

But, a laptop does use less electricity, which is an upside ... :)

_________________
~ Dan


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS