Laptop Server

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Laptop Server

Post by ewan275 »

I have done I have created a Laptop server!!!!

And it works, I am gona upload screenshots of the laptop and Ill take some digital photos to prove its real. It runs Windows server 2003 RC2 and Is currenty running as a File, print and internet gateway server!
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Nice one! I look forward to the pics.

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

LOL! We are entering the new age of portable servers
The better candies are in the cage

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

The next step would be using a PDA as a server... It's already possible!

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

A friend of mine did but it was useless because he couldnt run php or mysql on it without recompiling it.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I'm lucky because there is MySQL and PHP for the Linux distro my PDA runs...

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

My PDA's run Windows Mobile and PalmOS 4. I cant be fussed with it anyway since I have my server running great as it is.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I cant be fussed with it anyway since I have my server running great as it is.
That's one hand, and on the other hand, a PDA acting as a server couldn't handle the load when it's accessed by multiple machines simultaneously. It's just something to play around with, nothing to use in a "productive" environment.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Yeah I understand that but I dont have a lot of time to mess with these things anyway so Ill give it a miss.

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

I have found a way to import the Windows XP Laptop power managment to Win 2K3, but I havent got round to trying it. A 2.8 pentium 4 suckks powere like mad
Image

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

ewan275 wrote:A 2.8 pentium 4 suckks powere like mad
You should try a P4HT 3.4 then - I only get just over one hour battery life, just using Word or whatever - that's with maximum performance but the screen automatically slightly dimmed.
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

You should try a P4HT 3.4 then - I only get just over one hour battery life, just using Word or whatever - that's with maximum performance but the screen automatically slightly dimmed.
Oh my... My MacBook gets >4h when doing light work, with the screen at 40% brightness... It gets a bit hot, however...

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

empireum wrote:It gets a bit hot, however...
How hot's hot though? The Pentium 4 is one of the hottest CPUs out there (that seems to be why they ditched it and went for Core Duo, as they couldn't get the P4 above 4 GHz without it overheating) - compared to a P4 your MacBook would probably feel like an ice block to me. I can feel the heat pouring off this thing just sitting here typing now! CPU temperature's 50 C apparently - that's actually pretty low for this machine!
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

The MacBook usually is at 30C-40C when idle and at 1.5GHz, and when under 50% load (100% on core #1, 0% on core #2), it gets up to 65C at 1.83GHz. It gets up to 72C until the fan significantly ramps up and when under 100% load, it usually reaches 75C with the fan blowing at >>4000rpm; that's the maximum now, though. Before the firmware update which was dealing with that, the CPU could reach up to 86C under full load. This thing was (is?) really hot, literally! But the Core Duo is specified to run at up to 100C before errors oocur, and it turns off at 125C.

prx984
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:38 pm

Post by prx984 »

im an imperial kinda guy, but i gauged the temperature on my inspiron 7000 one time, it was about 153'F (i thinkg thats about 68'c?) but damn that's hot for a PII 366 (this was whule charging the batteries though)

battery time on mine, i get about 6 hours

im considering turning my other laptop like this one into a server later on, but i dont know if itll be able to handle more than 2 people

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

One thing I'd worry about when using a laptop as a server is the hard drive. 2.5" drives are usually not meant for 24/7, although that doesn't mean they'll die if you run them 24/7.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Yeah, i would worry about the hdd too. However, a laptop server sounds like a kewl idea!
-Jeff

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

That's right, and there are some 2.5" HDDs explicitly meant for 24/7, for example Hitachi's Travelstar E series. A laptop that can act as a server can be a good and portable testbed, too.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

When I get a laptop, I might invest in one of those hdds so I can have piece of mind if i leave it on 24/7.
-Jeff

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Yes, but be sure to check out the specs, I think I read these Travelstar E HDs meant for 24/7 are only specified for up to 40C environment/operating temperature, whereas the normal Travelstars (of which I have one) is specified for up to 60C.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Ok, Will do.
-Jeff

Koptor
FTP Access
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: Lincolnshire UK

Post by Koptor »

Heh, I once inadvertently left my old Compaq Armada M500 running for a week...it would probably have made a pretty cool server (low power, low noise, battery backup )
lol, internet

DanielC
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by DanielC »

A laptop server eh? Well that's certainly different ... hehe ...

Can't be as fast as a normal pc, but at leats it takes up less space and has it's own monitor etc!
~ Dan

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Can't be as fast as a normal pc, but at leats it takes up less space and has it's own monitor etc!
Do you mean that concerning the CPU or the HD?

DanielC
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:30 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by DanielC »

empireum wrote:Do you mean that concerning the CPU or the HD?
Both really ...

Laptop CPU's run lower FSB's ... 533 Mhz instead of 800 Mhz for example.
Laptop HDD's run lower RPM's ... 5400 rpm instead of 7200 rpm for example.

But, a laptop does use less electricity, which is an upside ...
~ Dan

Post Reply