What was your first laptop, and what OS did you have on it?

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

What was your first laptop, and what OS did you have on it?

Post by Tootles »

Mine was an original (I think) ThinkPad. It had:

3MB RAM
120MB or so HDD
VGA 640*480*16colour display

and a really cool thing on the screen that meant I could unclip it and rotate it round like a tablet.

I ran DR-DOS 6 on it and multiple versions of Windows, 1.01 to 3.11 (I had a different installation of Windows for each variety of task - one basic Windows 3.0 installation for loading DOS games, one 3.1 setup for document processing, and one 3.11 for programming. Windows 1x and 2x were just there to make the thing complete.)
Have a day.

wrapa
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

My 1st Laptop

Post by wrapa »

My first laptop was a Presario C700:

Windows Vista Home Premium
512 Ram
80GB HD
Image

Grisa
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm
Location: Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands

Post by Grisa »

Acer AnyWare
- Intel 386SX16
- 210MB desktop hdd (originally it had only a 40mb drive, but I've changed it immediately after buying)
- 5mb SIMM ram
- detachable keyboard
- greyscale STN vga (640x480) display

I ran MSDOS 6.22 on it, but soon the unit became bricked.

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

FSC Amilo M1424 with XP MCE 2005
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Sharp Muramasa PC-UM10 (bought from eBay in 11/2005, sold in 05/2006):
Pentium III 600MHz ULV
128MB RAM
20GB HD
12" XGA screen
ext. USB CDROM drive
PCMCIA WLAN card
Windows 2000 Pro SP4 & Debian GNU/Linux w/IceWM

This was the first laptop I bought for myself, previously I was using the ones my father owned and/or Windows CE-based "Handheld PCs". Then came a ThinkPad 600E, an Apple MacBook (1st gen) and now I have an Asus U1F.

missingno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:47 pm

Post by missingno »

Some sort of Toshiba Satellite -CDS model. I forgot its model, but it was used and looked like it had come out of a school environment (its Office suite was registered to some school >_>). But it ran Windows 95 nicely.

I believe it was a Pentium 120 MHz box with 12 MB of RAM. The batteries held quite nicely for the machine, but the modem I got with it never was detected on Windows 95.

With my lack of 72 or so floppies to make a recovery disc set, I trashed the install and put MS-DOS 7.10 on it. It ran pretty nicely with DOS on it.

I had it taken away from me (I was little and got in trouble), and being me, I put the power-on password on it.

Fast forward a week from that day. I get the laptop back.
And then I forget the power-on password.

So I tried taking it apart myself, to try and clear the CMOS thinking it'd work. I never knew about the KEY disc with DIY parallel port dongle method of clearing it.

I managed to break it.

This laptop I have now is the first new laptop of the house - a Compaq Presario C714NR - dual core Pentium, 1 GB RAM, 120 GB harddrive - the first Vista machine, first machine with 1 GB RAM, etc, so it's name is Pandora. (Pandora was the first woman )

And of course, Pandora's a step up from Riva, my old AMD K6 desktop hand-me-down

stitch
Permanently Banned
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Post by stitch »

Some P1 75mhz surplus AST laptop.
8mb RAM
800mb HD, later upgraded to a 1.2gb.
Windows 95, later NT 4.0.

It wasn't bad, I got bored one day and set fire to it though.

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

Some really old Sanyo. I dont know much about it, and it is long gone.

My first 'recent' (and my current) laptop is an IBM Thinkpad R30, with 1Ghz P3, 256MB RAM (need to update), DVD-ROM/CD-RW out of friends dead laptop, 60GB hdd also out of dead laptop. Oh and it runs Windows fundamentals for Legacy PC's
Last edited by happy dude on Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

the one i got last week

Core 2 Duo T7250 2ghz
3GB DDR2-667 ram
8600m GT 256mb gpu
160gb HDD
Vista Business

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

Tandy 100.

It had 24K gross memory.
80*360K monocrome display
No operating system.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

IBM ThinkPad

CPU: Intel Celeron 700MHz
RAM: 96mb RAM
HD: 120gb
OS: Windows Me
Image

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

os2fan2: Nice, have you still got it?
Have a day.

logicaL
FTP Access
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Post by logicaL »

Thinkpad 600
P2 300
128MB Ram
NeoMagic 4MB (no D3D Acceleration)
12.1"TFT (I think)

Windows 98 SE

Then I got a my Thinkpad T40... suffice to say, its a major upgrade.

ddrmaxromance
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:57 am

Post by ddrmaxromance »

Current and First Laptop:

PowerBook G3 (Bronze Keyboard)
[*]333Mhz PowerPC G3
[*]320MB RAM
[*]4.25GB HDD
[*]Mac OS 9.2.2 / Mac OS 10.3.9 (Panther)
[*]Working battery (up to 5 hours roughly!)
[*]$180 on eBay, $50 for Battery, $20 for USB Mouse
[*]I plan on getting a used AirPort Wireless card soon!

And I'm on it right now, and I'm using Internet Explorer 5.1.6 for Mac OS 9. Surprisingly, it runs a lot faster than other browser and displays everything more accurately. Obviously Safari and Firefox 2.0 are better in OS X, but I prefer running Classic on the laptop for that "Classic" feeling.
Since January 2005, I've been in the Operating Systems Prototype Community. I've enjoyed learning more these past four years about the development of the Windows and Macintosh operating systems, as well as learning of new user-based projects that optimize system performance.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

You all got laptops so long ago! My first was a P4HT 3.4 GHz, 1 GB memory, 128 GB Go5700, 17" screen, Acer laptop back all those years ago in 2004 (:P). I ran Windows XP Professional up until a few months into 2007 when I put Vista Business on, and it promptly died a few months later (don't buy Acer PCs, they are shockingly bad quality, barely 3 years out of that and it was pretty expensive). I've got several ancient laptops now though - 8086, 286 and 386 PC ones, and an Apple PowerBook Duo and PowerBook 520. The PB 620 is my newest ('94/'95 vintage) laptop these days
Image

Andrew
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:10 pm
Location: New Zealand

Post by Andrew »

My first laptop was a Compaq SLT286. I felt like a king typing on my own computer (This was in 2002-03). It had a very small screen, but it ran Windows 3.1 fine and was lots of fun.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

My first laptop is one I still have.

Acer Aspire 1350
AMD Athlon Mobile 2600+
512MB RAM
40GB HD
15" TFT
Windows XP Pro

I got this off my Uncle when he moved away to Dubai nearly 4 years ago. Its still working, even if I have repaired some of it. The CD drive is dead but that was my fault. I am going to get an external USB powered CD drive for it some time.

All hardware is original from manufacture, even the HD. Its had a new PSU and a new power socket. Apart from that, nothing is changed. I added a wireless PCMCIA card (on my 3rd now, first 2 broke, bad quality).

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Dell Inspiron 6400
Core 2 Duo T7200
2gb DDR2
100gb 7200RPM hdd
15.4" LCD at 1680x1050
XP Media Center

pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

Jens
Donator
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:39 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jens »

A PCD-4ND from Siemens Nixdorf, featuring a 486DX50, 20 MB of RAM and about 800 MB HDD.
My OS was NT 3.51, although I even installed Windows 2000 for testing purposes. Took 9 minutes to start, if I remember correctly.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Jens wrote:A PCD-4ND from Siemens Nixdorf, featuring a 486DX50, 20 MB of RAM and about 800 MB HDD.
My OS was NT 3.51, although I even installed Windows 2000 for testing purposes. Took 9 minutes to start, if I remember correctly.
So Win2k does work on a 486?! Interesting.

zdanee
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:20 pm

Post by zdanee »

I had (still has) a DELL Lattitude XPi. P133, 40 MB RAM, 10.5 GB HDD, 10.4 800x600x8b cSTN, ESS sound (SB16 comp), FDD, and a battery witch worked for 5 hours, and still is good for 1h. At first I used W98SE, but it could not use the 10.5 HDD, only 8 GB, so on the remaining 2 GB I istalled a Debian Linux Potato, later a Woody. After time the 2GB partition became 5 GB, and the Win partition shrinked. The Linux used Xf86, and wmaker, alteratively blackbox and for some time even Xfce. I also tried KDE2, but was waz to slow. As for the windows I used it mainly for gaming Carmageddon, GTA I, Red Alert, NFS I / II, Duke Nukem, Blood, Quake I/II. After a short while IE got wiped out, and used Opera instead. I had an 56k external modem, at tose times after 18.00 internet was free till the morning, so I got less and les sleep I wrote scripts for my linux kazaa client for automatic start, and spent a months to download movies, good old times Well, the machine is stil here, it is conected to my IBM 3151 dumb-terminal just for showoff. It shows time in big ASCii art over ttyS0.
rm -R *

IsaacD
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia

Post by IsaacD »

10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.
Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eON

Post by eON »

I always avoided getting a laptop till relatively recently, so im only on my 2nd... 1st was:

Inspiron 6400
Core duo 1.66GHz T2300
1GB DDR2
80GB HDD
ATI mobility radeon x1300
Came with MCE 2005 but i put the latest Vista build(at the time) on it as soon as i got it.

mewrox99
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:22 pm
Location: New Zealand

Post by mewrox99 »

I have had three laptops

my first was a old PowerBook from Apple (don't know specs)

my 2nd was a IBM Thinkpad A20m

Intel Pentium III 733 or 833 Mhz
384MB Ram
7GB? Hard Drive
4mb Vram

merty
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am
Location: Australia

Post by merty »

My first laptop was my PowerBook 190CS which i still have today, which i got about 3-5years ago.

PowerBook 190CS
CPU: Motorola MC68LC040 @ 33Mhz
8MB RAM
500MB HDD
Mac OS 7.6

Post Reply