BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 19h, 15m | CPU: 54% | MEM: 2778MB of 7291MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: [TUT] How to free ram on vista.....        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
BOO,
I'm currently board so i made this:
How to free ram from vista.
All you have to do is go on a game/program that requires a lot of ram.
Dont worry this is tried and tested. :D


(Btw im board)

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Lol, good one.

More of a joke so moved to jokes and funny stuff.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:55 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
LOL, actually a good post for once. ;-)

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Isn't this supposed to be in the jokes section?

"Tutorial: How to prevent viruses et al from penetrating into your Vista install:
Open the Network connections window, right-click on your active network or internet connection, and click Disconnect."

"Tutorial: How to improve a bad Vista experience:
Open the start menu, click on the small arrow on the right, and click Shut Down."


Last edited by empireum on Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Roller coaster tycoon takes one hell of ram.
from 700Mb to 450Mb.
The vista diet doctor :P :P :D

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:57 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Isn't this supposed to be in the jokes section?

"Tutorial: How to prevent viruses et al from penetrating into your Vista install:
Open the Network connections window, right-click on your active network or internet connection, and click Disconnect."


It is ;)

And lol, another good one. Vista bashing ftw! (oops, is that classed as fanboyism? lol)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Die vista.
Cant help but hating vista.
Plus the spell checker know's the F,S,W words :P :P :P

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
And lol, another good one. Vista bashing ftw! (oops, is that classed as fanboyism? lol)

It's not bashing, it's just a joke. I've added another one BTW. And here's yet another one:

"How to fix bugs in Mac OS X Leopard:
Insert a Mac OS X Tiger Install DVD, reboot your Mac holding down the 'c' key, in the Installer window, select Erase the hard drive and install a new copy of Mac OS X."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
i thought the answer was "fomat your drive and install windows xp,then walk to the nearest window and throw your vista dvd as far as you can"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Most used button's in vista:
Start
Shut Down.
Yes
:D
There the usual button's i have to use every 10 minuets

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
This isn't really a joke - Vista appears to use lots of Ram in Task Manager because it's designed to take advantage of large amounts of memory available in modern PCs, after all, what's the point of having all that memory sitting there doing nothing when it could be being used for caching etc to improve performance. If you do run a program/game that needs the memory, it will free it up for its use - people think Vista is using a lot more memory than XP because they think it manages memory in the same way as XP and the figure in Task Manager is how much it's actually using and it won't give that up if something else needs it.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Is to us :P
Any whoooo.
Ive found it useful.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 2:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Words of wisdom

Seriously, when you run a huge program that takes up RAM your machine gets slower because everything gets paged to make room for the app.
This can only make things slower and if you reboot every ten minutes there is something wrong with your install or PC, I've gotten uptimes of well above 2 weeks on Vista without problems, then I had to reboot for some updates.

Vista gets a lot of crap from the uninformed and ignorant who leech onto the bandwagons and a few people who used the betas and didn't really want something new anyway. Vista is not bad, it's average and overhyped, a lot of people confuse the two.

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am

Posts
2068

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Neptune/Whistler2419/Linux Mint
well some of us having following the developement of vista since the first longhorn alpha leaked and i can tell you the final product is a p.o.s


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rumowskiantek6 and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS