BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 16h, 6m | CPU: 65% | MEM: 2146MB of 3649MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Using WRT54G as a wireless ethernet hub        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:47 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Is it possible to use my WRT54G (flashed with DDWRT micro/mini) to do what is shown in this diagram? I have some computers in the basement without Wifi cards.
Image

If so, how? I would be willing to flash my firmware again, if necessary.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:54 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12407

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yes, you can have wired and wireless at the same time no problems. I don't see why you would think you can't...?

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:57 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I ment that the WRT54G could pull the wifi signal from my Airport Express and then give the computers down there a ethernet connection. So on the back of the WRT there would be nothing connected to the ethernet in (where you would normally plug in your DSL router), but there would be an ethernet cable plugged into the output port going to my computer down there.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:59 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12407

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
I ment that the WRT54G could pull the wifi signal from my Airport Express and then give the computers down there a ethernet connection. So on the back of the WRT there would be nothing connected to the ethernet in (where you would normally plug in your DSL router).


Ah right. I think you can run it in "client mode". I know my WAP54g can do it as I do it all the time at my mates house. If DD-WRT doesn't have it, try going back to the original linksys firmware.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:02 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
OK, thanks. Ill try it soon and report on what happens.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:07 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
You can, I know people who've done it. I would be doing it now but I dont have the power cord for my 2nd wireless router.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:45 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm

Posts
338

Location
West Sussex, United Kindom
Yep, its possible, i also have a WRT54G with more or less exactly the same setup

_________________
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS