BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 4h, 23m | CPU: 57% | MEM: 2123MB of 4337MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Specs for a server - help?        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:55 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Want to get back into the home server thing for a couple of months, unlike my "Kiddies: Computers, The Internet and You" I'll be paying how much it uses in electricity.

Need help with specs, older specs are fine, trying to get the speed:low power usage ratio right.

What it would be doing:
* Hosting a small website
* Running MySQL (using as little memory as possible)
* Running an IRC Server + client
* Running a DC++ Hub
* Recieving and sending alot of data

So yeah, just need some help with what specs I should be aiming for. And please, do not ask me to host an FTP for BA, I only get 10GB/down and 10GB/up a month, you get my drift?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:20 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
A intel centrino duo laptop.
Not power hungry nor loud. :wink:

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:49 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
Yea.
Just a modernish laptop with a stuffed LCD would do the job for a smallish server.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Heh
I have a 2.4Ghz laptop sitting here unused...with a dead mobo :P
I don't particularly like leaving laptops on 24/7... so a desktop is what I'm looking for.

If worse comes to worse I'll buy a loldell.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:17 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Get a cheep rack/base server off fleebay.
Nice and cheep (And full of flees) :P

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:45 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Get a cheap celeron 2.0ghz pc with 256-512mb ram and a small 40gb hd. That will do the job perfectly. You could get that for around $200.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I used a sempron 1.66ghz with 512mb (later upgraded to 1gb to kinda run vista, but not for the server) and an 60gb hard drive. It also was my main computer, so that would most likely be overkill if you were just running a server on it (im gonna sell that pc on ebay soon...)

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 1:55 pm 
Reply with quote
I use a 1700 Celeron with 1024 DDR an a 80gig hdd thats works fine for me :D


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:42 pm

Posts
632

Location
c:\tmp\*

Favourite OS
Server 2003
a nice, cheap setup would be a dual P3 setup.

Good value for money, and good tough processors.

_________________
Cheapy cheap VPS and hosting for BA members!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:26 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel P4.
They are good.
Thats what i recommend intel P4 socket 775

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:03 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
I used to have a P3 but I gave it to my uncle.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?


Should do. Won't hurt to try.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2628

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Wont harm it.
Only you will have a p 3 not a dual p 3, lol.

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Jeff wrote:
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?

Most dual boards will work in a single-CPU config, but some (mostly older boards to which yours belongs) require unused sockets to be "terminated", i.e. you'll need a terminator which could be hard to come by. It shouldn't hurt to try it first though.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Out of pure boredom... I've temporarily setup a 200Mhz box as a server :? I'll give links to it once I fully setup the wireless network card


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:16 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
empireum wrote:
Jeff wrote:
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?

Most dual boards will work in a single-CPU config, but some (mostly older boards to which yours belongs) require unused sockets to be "terminated", i.e. you'll need a terminator which could be hard to come by. It shouldn't hurt to try it first though.


OK. I'll try and find a heatsink, but I might as well try it first. It would burn up the CPU within 10 seconds, i've read, if I don't have a heatsink.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Last edited by Jeff on Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
empireum wrote:
Jeff wrote:
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?

Most dual boards will work in a single-CPU config, but some (mostly older boards to which yours belongs) require unused sockets to be "terminated", i.e. you'll need a terminator which could be hard to come by. It shouldn't hurt to try it first though.


OK. I'll try and find a heatsink, but I might as well try it first. It would burn up the CPU within 10 seconds, i've read, if I don't have a heatsink.


It would burn up in under half a second without a heatsink. Been there and done it. Don't try it.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
The processors are these: http://cgi.ebay.com/Pentium-III-733-256 ... dZViewItem and the board is an A-Open DX34 Plus.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
empireum wrote:
Jeff wrote:
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?

Most dual boards will work in a single-CPU config, but some (mostly older boards to which yours belongs) require unused sockets to be "terminated", i.e. you'll need a terminator which could be hard to come by. It shouldn't hurt to try it first though.

Wouldn't finding a compatible heatsink be easier?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
ppc_digger wrote:
empireum wrote:
Jeff wrote:
I have a dual P3 board laying around, but one of the processors doesn't have a heatsink. If I removed the processor without the heatsink, would the computer work?

Most dual boards will work in a single-CPU config, but some (mostly older boards to which yours belongs) require unused sockets to be "terminated", i.e. you'll need a terminator which could be hard to come by. It shouldn't hurt to try it first though.

Wouldn't finding a compatible heatsink be easier?

Yes, of course. I just stated that he might need a terminator if he decides to remove one of the CPUs.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Hmm, I think I know what PC I want to get.
Although it is only a P3, it should do the job (I've done all these on a P3 500Mhz before)

* 533Mhz
* 256MB SDRAM (got spare sticks lying around)
* 5.3GB HDD (spare HDD's lying around also)

currently its going for $1 on eBay, and pickup only :P So I should hopefully get it cheap :)

Edit: its a loldell.
Image


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS