How to create a .com website?

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

How to create a .com website?

Post by Dr Eggman »

Hey all,



I wanted to create my own website with .com for free. How do i do this?
Also, i recently got a @vista.aero address and i wanted to open one for
@scastudent.com, SCA being my school.
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

AFAIK, .com's are not free. However, they are usually $10/year.
-Jeff

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

As Jeff said, most domains do in fact cost money.
You would need a webhost in most cases too, godaddy.com or one.com will probably suit your needs.
(One's good and the other's dirt cheap.)
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

No domains are truely free. If you find a free domain, its not really free. You'll be getting a sub-domain instead.

If you want a domain you have to pay per year/2 years etc.

Lycos UK for example charge about £4.99 for 2 years for a .co.uk and £5.99 for 1 year for a .com. As you can see .coms are more expensive.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

The best option is to get a commercial web package that often comes with free domains. My Host provided me with 10 free domains when i ordered their top package, but even their lowest package at £4/Month came with a free domain.

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

I know only .tk domains are free but they are loaded with a lot of ads and only redirect to your url, they don't provide dns service for free, just redirect...
hounsell wrote:The best option is to get a commercial web package that often comes with free domains. My Host provided me with 10 free domains when i ordered their top package, but even their lowest package at £4/Month came with a free domain.
10 free domains? Cool.
Who is your host?

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Strato Hosting, but their top package is £200/year.
Watch though, because they have done a £1/year offer twice this year already, which is when i got my package

Edit: They are doing this now http://strato-hosting.co.uk

Apache
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Devon, United Kindom

Post by Apache »

Is there any catch to their £1 a year offer?
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Andy wrote:No domains are truely free. If you find a free domain, its not really free. You'll be getting a sub-domain instead.
What about .co.nr? They are proper domains, though they do you make you display a small image at the bottom of your main page I think.
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Andy wrote:No domains are truely free. If you find a free domain, its not really free. You'll be getting a sub-domain instead.
What about .co.nr? They are proper domains, though they do you make you display a small image at the bottom of your main page I think.
Its still a subdomain isnt it? Go to http://co.nr and it redirects

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

I guess maybe the domain is nr and the subdomain co, I don't know - I had assumed it was like .co.uk where the co is part of the actual domain, though it could be a subdomain. Website.co.nr is still better in my eyes than website.whatever.com etc though, like vze.com and all those ones, as .co.nr looks like a real domain as opposed to a subdomain.
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:I guess maybe the domain is nr and the subdomain co, I don't know - I had assumed it was like .co.uk where the co is part of the actual domain, though it could be a subdomain. Website.co.nr is still better in my eyes than website.whatever.com etc though, like vze.com and all those ones, as .co.nr looks like a real domain as opposed to a subdomain.
Yeah I agree, but like I said earlier, no domain is truely free. There is always some catch.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Apache wrote:Is there any catch to their £1 a year offer?
Its only that price for the first year, but the minimum contract is only 1 year, so you can cancel it then

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

hounsell wrote:
Apache wrote:Is there any catch to their £1 a year offer?
Its only that price for the first year, but the minimum contract is only 1 year, so you can cancel it then
When you cancel hosting can you save your domains and pay only for them?
I dont need their hosting but 10 domains for £1 is a good deal

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price , prices for domains

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

hounsell wrote:Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price , prices for domains
After year i will transfer them to another hosting service ;P (most transfers are free!)

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Lol, good idea

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

FiFi wrote:
hounsell wrote:Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price , prices for domains
After year i will transfer them to another hosting service ;P (most transfers are free!)
Transfers might be free you but you still have to pay for the domain...

fzajac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by fzajac »

Andy wrote:
FiFi wrote:
hounsell wrote:Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price , prices for domains
After year i will transfer them to another hosting service ;P (most transfers are free!)
Transfers might be free you but you still have to pay for the domain...
For the 1st year - not always

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

I can almost guarantee you will have to.

stitch
Permanently Banned
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Post by stitch »

99% of registrars don't provide free transfers. While the transfer is free, they usually stick you with a year registration (sometimes at a cheaper price) for a transfer.

www.domainsite.com <- $7 for a domain.

EDIT: $2.99 .info at domainsite. Still a valid ICANN TLD.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

Im going with no-ip for my domain(s)

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Those aren't domains, their subdomains.
-Jeff

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Jeff wrote:Those aren't domains, their subdomains.
But they do sell them, albeit at a lot higher cost than other registrars. toshua, I recommend http://webhosting.lycos.co.uk/consumer/domain/ - Lycos. I use them for all my domains, never put a foot wrong and full easy DNS control. Perfect for you.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

Hmmmm.....
They look good,
Im getting a .co.uk.
Andy do they have some sort of update cliant?

Locked