BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 8h, 0m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 5507MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: How to create a .com website?        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:19 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Hey all,



I wanted to create my own website with .com for free. How do i do this?
Also, i recently got a @vista.aero address and i wanted to open one for
@scastudent.com, SCA being my school.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:17 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
AFAIK, .com's are not free. However, they are usually $10/year.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:01 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm

Posts
732

Location
Norway

Favourite OS
HP keystroke RPL
As Jeff said, most domains do in fact cost money.
You would need a webhost in most cases too, godaddy.com or one.com will probably suit your needs.
(One's good and the other's dirt cheap.)

_________________
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:06 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
No domains are truely free. If you find a free domain, its not really free. You'll be getting a sub-domain instead.

If you want a domain you have to pay per year/2 years etc.

Lycos UK for example charge about £4.99 for 2 years for a .co.uk and £5.99 for 1 year for a .com. As you can see .coms are more expensive.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:10 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
The best option is to get a commercial web package that often comes with free domains. My Host provided me with 10 free domains when i ordered their top package, but even their lowest package at £4/Month came with a free domain.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:37 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
I know only .tk domains are free but they are loaded with a lot of ads and only redirect to your url, they don't provide dns service for free, just redirect...

hounsell wrote:
The best option is to get a commercial web package that often comes with free domains. My Host provided me with 10 free domains when i ordered their top package, but even their lowest package at £4/Month came with a free domain.
10 free domains? Cool.
Who is your host?


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:41 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Strato Hosting, but their top package is £200/year.
Watch though, because they have done a £1/year offer twice this year already, which is when i got my package :P

Edit: They are doing this now :P http://strato-hosting.co.uk

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:46 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:11 pm

Posts
338

Location
Devon, United Kindom
Is there any catch to their £1 a year offer?

_________________
|3e|\|

Image
Image
The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:55 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Andy wrote:
No domains are truely free. If you find a free domain, its not really free. You'll be getting a sub-domain instead.

What about .co.nr? They are proper domains, though they do you make you display a small image at the bottom of your main page I think.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:58 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Andy wrote:
No domains are truely free. If you find a free domain, its not really free. You'll be getting a sub-domain instead.

What about .co.nr? They are proper domains, though they do you make you display a small image at the bottom of your main page I think.


Its still a subdomain isnt it? Go to http://co.nr and it redirects ;)

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:04 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I guess maybe the domain is nr and the subdomain co, I don't know - I had assumed it was like .co.uk where the co is part of the actual domain, though it could be a subdomain. Website.co.nr is still better in my eyes than website.whatever.com etc though, like vze.com and all those ones, as .co.nr looks like a real domain as opposed to a subdomain.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:06 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
I guess maybe the domain is nr and the subdomain co, I don't know - I had assumed it was like .co.uk where the co is part of the actual domain, though it could be a subdomain. Website.co.nr is still better in my eyes than website.whatever.com etc though, like vze.com and all those ones, as .co.nr looks like a real domain as opposed to a subdomain.


Yeah I agree, but like I said earlier, no domain is truely free. There is always some catch.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:15 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Apache wrote:
Is there any catch to their £1 a year offer?


Its only that price for the first year, but the minimum contract is only 1 year, so you can cancel it then :)

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:21 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
hounsell wrote:
Apache wrote:
Is there any catch to their £1 a year offer?


Its only that price for the first year, but the minimum contract is only 1 year, so you can cancel it then :)
When you cancel hosting can you save your domains and pay only for them?
I dont need their hosting but 10 domains for £1 is a good deal :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:26 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price :(, prices for domains

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:29 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
hounsell wrote:
Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price :(, prices for domains
After year i will transfer them to another hosting service ;P (most transfers are free!)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:31 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Lol, good idea :D

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:33 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
FiFi wrote:
hounsell wrote:
Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price :(, prices for domains
After year i will transfer them to another hosting service ;P (most transfers are free!)


Transfers might be free you but you still have to pay for the domain...

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:42 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
Andy wrote:
FiFi wrote:
hounsell wrote:
Yes, you can chose to keep the domains and cancel the hosting after 1 year, though then the domains go full price :(, prices for domains
After year i will transfer them to another hosting service ;P (most transfers are free!)


Transfers might be free you but you still have to pay for the domain...
For the 1st year - not always :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:44 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I can almost guarantee you will have to.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:13 pm 
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
99% of registrars don't provide free transfers. While the transfer is free, they usually stick you with a year registration (sometimes at a cheaper price) for a transfer.

www.domainsite.com <- $7 for a domain.

EDIT: $2.99 .info at domainsite. Still a valid ICANN TLD.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:57 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2640

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Im going with no-ip for my domain(s)

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:59 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm

Posts
1004

Location
USA
Those aren't domains, their subdomains.

_________________
Old-Computer
BetaArchive VIP | Ex-OSBA Member


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:13 am 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12460

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Jeff wrote:
Those aren't domains, their subdomains.


But they do sell them, albeit at a lot higher cost than other registrars. toshua, I recommend http://webhosting.lycos.co.uk/consumer/domain/ - Lycos. I use them for all my domains, never put a foot wrong and full easy DNS control. Perfect for you.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:11 am 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm

Posts
2640

Location
Land of The Tea.

Favourite OS
Windows 10 Pro x64
Hmmmm.....
They look good,
Im getting a .co.uk.
Andy do they have some sort of update cliant?

_________________
Image
| Personal site - Social links - PC setup | TF2 Game Servers |
Liking traps isn't gay, its not gay if it looks like a girl
I-i-it's n-not as if I wanted to ban you or anything. B-baka. (「・ω・)「


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS