BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 0h, 21m | CPU: 51% | MEM: 2168MB of 4371MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: November 2007 Desktops        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:57 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Image

PS: 10 points to the person who can correctly guess the OS I'm running in VMware on that screenshot. Hint: Have a look at the dock... :wink:


Last edited by empireum on Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:20 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:21 pm

Posts
458
cool :D

mine :


Image


markus :D :D :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:22 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Forgot to sticky thread, rectified.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:34 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
empireum: If I'm not mistaken you are Running Mac OS X Tiger in vmware.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:46 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Ooh, very well spotted :D - I only noticed that when you pointed it out! OSx86 on a real Mac is that? ;)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:54 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yep, correct. I just finished installing it (I was just installing it on that screenshot, not actually running it) and am now working on getting it to boot (only getting a non-blinking cursor so far).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:05 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I got that as well - did you remember to format the partition using the option for PCs as opposed to GUID (for EFI only) - that's what was causing the problem for me, it defaults to GUID and I didn't realise that you had to open up that option in Disk Utility and change it.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 5:19 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
I got that as well - did you remember to format the partition using the option for PCs as opposed to GUID (for EFI only) - that's what was causing the problem for me, it defaults to GUID and I didn't realise that you had to open up that option in Disk Utility and change it.

No, I didn't do that; checked and it was GUID indeed. Reinstalling now. Big, big thanks for the hint. :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:37 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@Vista Ultimate R2:
You're a star – that was it. :D Now to start tweaking. (Note: The screenshot below is intentionally only showing the relevant parts, not the entire screen).
Image
Running with an 8.9.1 kernel as 8.10.x ones don't work in VMware yet.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:58 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
empireum wrote:
@Vista Ultimate R2: You're a star – that was it.

Thanks, glad I could point you in the right direction :)


My desktop's still the same one with the Merc SLRs as last month at the moment so I won't bother posting it again, but here's my OSx86 desktop inside VMware, with a Parallels machine beginning to boot a Windows CD as I was curious to see whether it was possible to do this! (I didn't actually bother completing the installation as it would have taken forever, it was very slow)

Image

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 1:42 am 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am

Posts
386

Location
Australia

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate
Image
Yes it's a mac :)
And it's great.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:14 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
merty wrote:
(snip)
Yes it's a mac :)
And it's great.

It's very rare seeing a screenshot of Mac OS X Panther. Most people have upgraded to Tiger for their main computer and have Panther on their test/backup/other computer.

Can't be stuffed to boot up the rest this month so I'll just post mine:
Image
I didn't add the system information dialog so that everyone could see my lovely wallpaper.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:49 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Screenshot in first post: Leopard. :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 2:57 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I like this months desktop for me...

Image

I'm not sure why... perhaps its the neat icons, and obviously the old ones have been moved to the "Old Desktop Stuff" folder.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 5:04 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
Image

Nothing special...

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 6:59 am 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
D.Konieczny wrote:
(snip)
Nothing special...

OMG! No taskbar! BILL GATES WILL SUE!!!

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:43 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
mdogg wrote:
D.Konieczny wrote:
(snip)
Nothing special...

OMG! No taskbar! BILL GATES WILL SUE!!!


You could just use the windows key for the start menu and access the different program windows by using the Alt+Tab function.

I prefer my taskbar though :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:45 pm 
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm

Posts
2607

Location
Germany, Earth

Favourite OS
Windows 10
callumh wrote:
mdogg wrote:
D.Konieczny wrote:
(snip)
Nothing special...

OMG! No taskbar! BILL GATES WILL SUE!!!


You could just use the windows key for the start menu and access the different program windows by using the Alt+Tab function.

I prefer my taskbar though :P


Or use the taskbar's auto hide feature..... :D

_________________
MS vNext: Windows 10 ESD Database - Windows 10 Build Labs - Windows 10 Update Archive - Office 2016 Version Tracker - Office Downloader


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:43 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
mdogg wrote:
It's very rare seeing a screenshot of Mac OS X Panther. Most people have upgraded to Tiger for their main computer and have Panther on their test/backup/other computer.
I still have 10.3.7 on my iMac G5. Well... i have downloaded Leopard but im too lazy to upgrade :P


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:41 pm 
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
D.Konieczny wrote:
callumh wrote:
mdogg wrote:
D.Konieczny wrote:
(snip)
Nothing special...

OMG! No taskbar! BILL GATES WILL SUE!!!


You could just use the windows key for the start menu and access the different program windows by using the Alt+Tab function.

I prefer my taskbar though :P


Or use the taskbar's auto hide feature..... :D


Perhaps, but I still like my taskbar, without the quicklaunch toolbar, because that its just space-wasting in my opinion. We should just launch it via the Start Menu or directly by navigating to its directory in \Program Files\.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:02 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
Same as last month, but my SuperKaramba monitor is a little more detailed (what's on TV, music, etc.) and the clock is on the other side (background still by nfinitegpu):
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:50 pm 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:41 am

Posts
114

Location
NY

Favourite OS
Arch Linux
Image

Mine currently.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 9:08 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
@Shrimp

Nice wallpaper. Mac's are awesome...too bad I don't have one. :D

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 11:13 am 
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:51 pm

Posts
164

Location
massachusetts

Favourite OS
4074
my iBook G4 1.33ghz, 512mb, and Leopard- slow combination
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 10:25 pm 
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
School Desktops



These systems are very locked down.
Image

Our network is powered by some sort of DSL, with teh main line coming from the district tech building. All traffic is filtered, and blocked by MEDCC filtering system/ BESS

Image

Image

Spyware sites are blocked too
Image

These systems range in specs from a 1.7GHz P4 with 256mb of ram, 30GB hd, XP Pro and a CD rom to a Pentium D, 3.06GHz, 1.5GB of ram, 120GB hd, DVD writer, and a 17in LCD. Plus we have G4s in the video editing studio.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS