BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 19h, 25m | CPU: 37% | MEM: 2503MB of 6103MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

How many screens does your main machine have?
None 3%  3%  [ 1 ]
1 54%  54%  [ 19 ]
2 40%  40%  [ 14 ]
3 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
More than 3 3%  3%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 35
Author Message
 PostPost subject: How many screens do you have?        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
I just got my dual head setup back up and running and it made me wonder, how many monitors do people here have? I'd guess mostly 1, but I'm curious... vote away!

Actually, since I'm asking, post your graphics cards and monitor types/sizes/resolutions too...

ATi Radeon 9250 256MB with 1 VGA out, 1 DVI out and 1 TV-out
19" CRT @ 1600x1200x75Hz
15" LCD @ 1280x800x60Hz


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm

Posts
321

Location
Eggmanland/Toronto

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
We have a monitor, and we have it hooked up to our TV.

_________________
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
I have this screen (and my monitor sitting disused, since there's nowhere to plug it, I just VNC the server now) so I choose 1

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Only 1 on my main PC (HP w2207 22" widescreen glossy LCD 1680x1050 DVI, ATI Radeon 2600 XT 512MB), but I have two old 15" Apple Studio Display LCDs (1024x768) too that I was given, one attached to my Power Mac G3 and one just as a spare, currently hooked up to my little HP e-Vectra PIII box. I could connect one of the Apples up to the second output on my graphics card but it's not really worth it as the main screen is big enough!

_________________
Image


Last edited by Vista Ultimate R2 on Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
one is enough for me :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Two. A 20" Apple Cinema Display (1680x1050) as the primary screen and my MacBook's internal 13.3" (1280x800) display as the secondary screen. The ACD is hooked up to the MacBook via DVI. The additional screen estate is really useful, especially as I always have multiple windows open and especially when dealing with VMs.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:23 am

Posts
36

Location
C:\Documents and Settings\gparker
Just one. A 17" (43.1cm) ViewSonic E75f: 1280x1024@32. Have the ports for two, but only one monitor.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
1x 17in for each Desktop in use.
dual monitors are too expensive to power.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:01 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm

Posts
398

Location
Copenhagen, Denmark

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 95 OSR 2.1 RTM
One here...

Who have 0 monitors? :P

_________________
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:28 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
My server had no monitor before i put XP on it

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:02 am 
Reply with quote
ive got only 1, but perhaps ill get a new one at christmas :D (or perhaps a new 1tb hd :D )


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:29 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Club 3D (Nvidia Geforce 6600) 256MB with 1 VGA out, 1 DVI out and 1 TV-out
17" LCD @ 1280x1024x60Hz

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:09 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:49 pm

Posts
85

Location
Halifax, UK
two... technically
the only one that i use is 19" widesceen @ 1440x900
but i have a spare 15" widescreen @ 1280x768


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Peteski wrote:
but i have a spare 15" widescreen @ 1280x768

15" widescreen? Which model is that, just out of interest? Locally, I've only seen 17" (or bigger) widescreen models...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:49 pm

Posts
85

Location
Halifax, UK
empireum wrote:
Peteski wrote:
but i have a spare 15" widescreen @ 1280x768

15" widescreen? Which model is that, just out of interest? Locally, I've only seen 17" (or bigger) widescreen models...


Digimate L-1523. on closer inspection its 15.4"
i got it about two years ago for £100


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
1x Philips Brillance 109P20 [1280x1024@100Hz, 19"] (if we don't count that 4x20 char. alphanumeric LCD display hooked on LPT1).
When I finish repairing that old 21" trinitron I've got for free (Sony GDM-1934, fixed 72Hz), then it'll be attached too.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:34 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am

Posts
201

Location
USA
This PC:
Samsung SnyMaster 941BW - 1440x900 using DVI
BFG GeForce 7300GT - 512MB grfx card with DVI, VGA and TV

3 lower computers (8+ years old) share an NEC CRT monitor on a kvm

_________________
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:37 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:44 pm

Posts
90

Location
San Francisco, CA, USA
Hi all !

I have two 19'' screens :
LG Flatron L1918S - 1280x1024
HP VS19B - 1280x1024
Without any material borders (I put them away) I can watch HD movies using a "real" 2560x1024 area...

My laptop's screen is a 15,4" widescreen (1280x800), my Windows server's one is a 17", but my Linux server hasn't any screen...

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:33 am

Posts
170

Location
EV-ERY-ONE!

Favourite OS
IRIX 6.5.22
One on my PC and one on my Mac. They are next to each other.

_________________
IRIX enthusiast | OSBA refugee
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:57 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
empireum wrote:
Peteski wrote:
but i have a spare 15" widescreen @ 1280x768

15" widescreen? Which model is that, just out of interest? Locally, I've only seen 17" (or bigger) widescreen models...

Well, technically, your MacBook has a wide 13.3" screen...

My main screen is a 17" CRT at 1024x768@85Hz, although I intend to buy a 22" wide LCD sometime soon. I also have a TV hooked up, but it is only used for videos, by using a (you guessed it) shell script.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
ppc_digger wrote:
empireum wrote:
Peteski wrote:
but i have a spare 15" widescreen @ 1280x768

15" widescreen? Which model is that, just out of interest? Locally, I've only seen 17" (or bigger) widescreen models...

Well, technically, your MacBook has a wide 13.3" screen...

Yes, I know, I was referring to "stand-alone" screens connected via VGA/DVI/HDMI when I wrote that. Sorry if it was misleading.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
empireum wrote:
ppc_digger wrote:
empireum wrote:
Peteski wrote:
but i have a spare 15" widescreen @ 1280x768

15" widescreen? Which model is that, just out of interest? Locally, I've only seen 17" (or bigger) widescreen models...

Well, technically, your MacBook has a wide 13.3" screen...

Yes, I know, I was referring to "stand-alone" screens connected via VGA/DVI/HDMI when I wrote that. Sorry if it was misleading.

Yeah, I know. That's why I said "technically".


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:43 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm

Posts
549

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Apple iOS 5.1
hjort wrote:
One here...

Who have 0 monitors? :P


People who are magic and can control a computer without physically contacting it. And Robots.

_________________
My Blog - Interesting TV YouTube
Ecclesia Semper Reformanda Est


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:52 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Compact-mac wrote:
hjort wrote:
One here...

Who have 0 monitors? :P


People who are magic and can control a computer without physically contacting it. And Robots.

So VNC/ssh/... is magic? You learn something new every day. :wink:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:59 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm

Posts
197

Location
teen4m.net

Favourite OS
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Compact-mac wrote:
hjort wrote:
One here...

Who have 0 monitors? :P


People who are magic and can control a computer without physically contacting it. And Robots.

So VNC/ssh/... is magic? You learn something new every day. :wink:


Good point :P


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS