BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 9d, 19h, 34m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 2934MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: System Requirments for 2 CPU        Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:06 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am

Posts
40

Location
New Zealand
I have just bought an old Dell server, it currently has a very old 450mhz PIII. The minimum system requirements for Windows Server 2008 are a 1ghz processor. If I got two 500mhz processors would it count towards system requirements as 1ghz or 500mhz?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:15 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
It should install on a slower processor, but it will simply run slower. Two 500MHz cpu's will certainly make a difference.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:27 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am

Posts
40

Location
New Zealand
Thanks Andy. I'm gonna try get at least pair of 700mhz XEONs, but I never knew if it really made that much of a difference :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:28 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
kLOTTiS wrote:
Thanks Andy. I'm gonna try get at least pair of 700mhz XEONs, but I never knew if it really made that much of a difference :)


Check that the motherboard supports them before going ahead and buying them.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: System Requirments for 2 CPU        Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
kLOTTiS wrote:
I have just bought an old Dell server, it currently has a very old 450mhz PIII. The minimum system requirements for Windows Server 2008 are a 1ghz processor. If I got two 500mhz processors would it count towards system requirements as 1ghz or 500mhz?

You can't just add the frequencies on a multi-core/-CPU system. It'll still count as 500MHz.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Does Vista/Server 2008 actually enforce the CPU requirement though? You may find that it doesn't, it would be worth checking.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:39 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Correct me if Im wrong, but doesnt Server 2008 require a 64bit cpu anyway?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
There are separate 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Server 2008, so no.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:45 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am

Posts
40

Location
New Zealand
Andy wrote:
Check that the motherboard supports them before going ahead and buying them.


Yep, Motherboard supports up to 700mhz which is lucky :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am

Posts
40

Location
New Zealand
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
Does Vista/Server 2008 actually enforce the CPU requirement though? You may find that it doesn't, it would be worth checking.


I don't actually know, I just assumed that, will try install anyway in a bit - but on a 450mhz that might take a while :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
I believe that it doesn't, nor has any NT build for a while.
I don't know from when though.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS