Office 2007 on DVD...??

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Office 2007 on DVD...??

Post by 4tified »

I just recently recieved my veryown authentic copy of Office 2007 Enterprise Edition (Empoyee Home Use Program). I opened the case and noticed that it was in DVD format...beautiful! Only thing is, when I popped it into my DVD-RW drive to run it for the first time, I noticed that the disc only had 540~ MB of data on it... What's up with that? This would well-fit on a CD-ROM...why are they using DVD's? The only two reasons I could think of woulld be 1>Faster Data Throughput vs. Standard 52x CD-ROMDrive or 2> Microsoft is trying to fool the user into believing the product is more than what it really is.... I know for a fact it can't be compatibility issues either... Any of toda DVD-ROM/DVD-RW/Blue-Ray Drives can read CD-ROMs as well....only about 2 Blue-Ray models I know of can't read CD-ROM's...so what's up with this? Just curious.
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7

longview
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by longview »

First off, you just answered your own question.
I'd bet DVDs are a lot cheaper to press too.

Second: wall.txt
Let's sperg about hardware
E6410 - i5-560m, 8GB, WXGA+, NVS 3100M, Samsung SSD 830 128GB, WWAN, 9-cell, E-Port Plus Replicator
Desktop - i5-2500k (4.3 GHz TB), 8 GB, HD6950 2GB, 2x24" 1080p, Samsung SSD 830 128GB + 2 TB stripe, Xonar D2X

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

CD-Rs seem cheaper than DVD-Rs though, I would have assumed it was more expensive to use DVDs when pressing discs too? It does seem very strange, I've never seen anything smaller than a CD shipped on a DVD, and a lot of companies seem to assume that there's still people out there that don't have DVD drives eg games with big "Warning: DVD compatible only!" things on the box, and MS offering a CD set of Vista, as if any Vista-capable PC wouldn't have a DVD drive.

What is wall.txt? My copy of Enterprise doesn't have that file (is it a file on the disc?), but then isn't this official DVD version, it's my own CD of it.
Image

RentedMule
Donator
Posts: 937
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Post by RentedMule »

It is simply "forsight", or "planning for the future". Eventually, Office WON'T fit on CD. So they have transitioned to DVDs to be ahead of the need. Also, the more they put forth in cost of manufacturing one thing, the more that one thing comes down in overall cost to produce.

Ludacris
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by Ludacris »

It is on a CD. Office 2007 Ultimate is <700 MB large :/

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

MSDN lists and ships Enterprise and Ultimate and only those two as DVDs.
The reason for any of this is that anything that's 681,984,000 bytes (650MB) or more, CDIMAGE (and therefore Microsoft) considers it a DVD. While this explains why some products are shipped on DVDs such as SharePoint 2007, there isn't really a reason why these are. Windows Vista could've easily been 4 CDs, but it's 5 (the last one being 20MB, what a waste)
Also probably they probably need reason to master with UDF

Unknown

Post by Unknown »

I'm holding a DVD of it in my hands at the moment that's 2.53 gig in
size.
Office Enterprise 2007 VLK.
Blue & white DVD with a holographic ring around the outside of it.

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

not only dvd are cheaper, its actually faster to read / write data to dvd than cd.
It saves them production time and number of discs which is alot of money when you start making millions of copies.

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

Hmmm.. can you post a screenshot of the directory for me to look at? Apparently our Enterprise versions are very different.
Unknown wrote:I'm holding a DVD of it in my hands at the moment that's 2.53 gig in
size.
Office Enterprise 2007 VLK.
Blue & white DVD with a holographic ring around the outside of it.
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7

Unknown

Post by Unknown »

4tified wrote:Hmmm.. can you post a screenshot of the directory for me to look at? Apparently our Enterprise versions are very different.
Unknown wrote:I'm holding a DVD of it in my hands at the moment that's 2.53 gig in
size.
Office Enterprise 2007 VLK.
Blue & white DVD with a holographic ring around the outside of it.
Image
Image

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

That looks to be the MSDN disc that contains all of the Office 2007 suites and standalone programs, as I see you have folders for Project Standard, Project Pro, Visio Standard, Visio Pro, SharePoint Designer etc, none of which are included in Enterprise. Enterprise is a single suite including Access, Excel, Groove, InfoPath, OneNote, Outlook, PowerPoint, Publisher and Word only, and that suite fits on a 650 MB CD (MS don't use the 700 MB format, I think for compatibility reasons). When you launch setup.exe on the Enterprise disc it will go straight into the installation of the Enterprise suite, whereas on that one you have it should ask you what suite or standalone program you would like to install.
Image

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

MSDN doesn't offer that disc, only the Volume License program of Software Assurance.

unkle_stu

Post by unkle_stu »

very interesting.. i had always assumed the iso going around was a 'homemade' n-in-1, not of an authentic disc

oh, and it probably saves them hassle/time/money in the long run to just use DVD across the board

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

TheWahbinator wrote:MSDN doesn't offer that disc, only the Volume License program of Software Assurance.
Certainly is olly, & indeed it is 2.53gig...
This one below is the one I assume "unknown" is talking about...
Bought it from Austria for 11 Euro + 6 Euro postage, along with
Vista Business & others...


Image

joecool
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Post by joecool »

KenOath wrote:
TheWahbinator wrote:MSDN doesn't offer that disc, only the Volume License program of Software Assurance.
Certainly is olly, & indeed it is 2.53gig...
This one below is the one I assume "unknown" is talking about...
Bought it from Austria for 11 Euro + 6 Euro postage, along with
Vista Business & others...


Image
Can you PM me the shop please?
Thanks

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

joecool wrote:
KenOath wrote:
TheWahbinator wrote:MSDN doesn't offer that disc, only the Volume License program of Software Assurance.
Certainly is olly, & indeed it is 2.53gig...
This one below is the one I assume "unknown" is talking about...
Bought it from Austria for 11 Euro + 6 Euro postage, along with
Vista Business & others...
Can you PM me the shop please?
Thanks
...Ebay...
There were others bought off the same seller too, too cheap to believe I
actually won them...
& it was 11.50 Euro, not 11.00, but still cheap...

Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@KenOath
Woah, good find, and cheap indeed. I suppose it didn't come with keys, or did it?

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

empireum wrote:@KenOath
Woah, good find, and cheap indeed. I suppose it didn't come with keys, or did it?
No, I didn't get that lucky, though the old Key@ens seem to work without
a problem so far...

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

KenOath wrote:No, I didn't get that lucky, though the old Key@ens seem to work without
a problem so far...
Yes, although in my experience the generated keys for Office Enterprise no longer pass "Genuine Office Validation". Not that it really matters at the moment as MS Update built into Vista seems to update Office regardless. Nice find anyway - although using these without the relevant licence is as illegal as using the burned CDs that the rest of us have, there's still something nice about having a real disc!
Image

zchri9
Donator
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:51 am

Post by zchri9 »

my office 07 came on a dvd

Post Reply