BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 11h, 7m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 2657MB of 4289MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: DivX problem        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:23 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
On this PC I want to watch an AVI file. It's encoded in DivX. I've installed DivX and no errors came up. It works fine on the family computer but it doesn't work on this other one that I'm trying to watch it on (which happens to be my computer). When I play it with Windows Media Player, I get one of those Send Error Report dialogs. If I play it in VirtualDub, it comes up with something about a CPU instruction that the CPU doesn't support. The only CPU instruction that's different from the family computer CPU and mine is SSE. My computer doesn't have it and the family computer does. Is this my problem and is there an actual way I can play the videos on my computer?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:37 pm

Posts
73

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RC1 (Build 7100)
The lack of SSE could be your problem as DivX uses optimized SSE/3DNow! code to (de)compress video quickly.

_________________
The other answer! (i.e. not 42)
Current PC: Asus G2Sg laptop, Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 (2.5GHz), 4GB RAM.
Current main OS: Windows 7 RC1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:36 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
Is there a way I can watch the video or do I have to upgrade?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:52 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:37 pm

Posts
73

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RC1 (Build 7100)
You could use another PC to convert it to MPEG2 or something else that the PC you want to use can view. CCE Basic is REALLY good for that kind of thing [and about £2000 less than CCE SP :D ]

_________________
The other answer! (i.e. not 42)
Current PC: Asus G2Sg laptop, Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 (2.5GHz), 4GB RAM.
Current main OS: Windows 7 RC1


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:25 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
Get MPlayer. It has its own DIVX decoder, and can disable SSE optimizations when they aren't available (which it does automatically).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
try VLC http://www.videolan.org/

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Even if the Divx codec didnt install properly, the Divx player can play divx without the codec. If that isnt working, something more sinister is going on.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
RentedMule wrote:
Even if the Divx codec didnt install properly, the Divx player can play divx without the codec. If that isnt working, something more sinister is going on.

DIVX Player just has the regular codec built in. It shouldn't work either.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
ppc_digger: I dont install codecs on my machine. Actually I dont install really ANYTHING on my machine. I tend to throw the files onto my file server, and if the situation needs it, I make a thinstall of the app.

With that said, there is NO divx codec installed on my machine, but launching divxplayer.exe (no need to install this puppy), it plays divx just fine.

Try it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
RentedMule wrote:
With that said, there is NO divx codec installed on my machine, but launching divxplayer.exe (no need to install this puppy), it plays divx just fine.

That's exactly what I said. DIVX player has the codec built in (in the player, just like MPlayer and VLC do), so it doesn't need the codec to be installed. The codec is the same, it's just included in the player, rather than installed in the windows directory. Either way, if won't work if the CPU doesn't support SSE.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:24 am

Posts
24
I install community codecs package, and like from stage6 where the extension shows ".divx" i change it to avi and play em though mediaplayer 6.4 no prob.
No i just associate the divx extension with mp6.4


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
cron

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS