BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 8h, 3m | CPU: 60% | MEM: 2133MB of 4491MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Got a new PC.        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:41 pm

Posts
108

Location
Nova Scotia Canada
Okay so my parts finally came a couple days ago and I got finished putting this together last night. Hope to soon overclock :D
Specs:
Motherboard: Asus M2A-VM HDMI
CPU: AMD X2 4200+ AM2 2.2GHz
Ram: Two sticks DDR2 512MB
HD: 160GB Western Digital


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:05 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:53 am

Posts
38
.....ok, that's pathetic.

You bought DDR2 but only 1gig of it.

GET OUT. :x


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:16 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Flare wrote:
.....ok, that's pathetic.

You bought DDR2 but only 1gig of it.

GET OUT. :x


lmao :P

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:34 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
Flare wrote:
.....ok, that's pathetic.

You bought DDR2 but only 1gig of it.

GET OUT. :x


Maybe he doesn't need 1gb of the [censored]. I manage to get WebKit compiled in a reasonable amount of time on 1.6ghz Pentium M/512mb RAM.

[censored] off.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:35 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yeah but for crying out loud, 1GB should be a bare minimum for ANY pc these days, no matter what the specs are of the CPU etc. If you can fork out for a nice CPU then i'm sure you can fork out for 1gb more RAM.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
Yeah but for crying out loud, 1GB should be a bare minimum for ANY pc these days, no matter what the specs are of the CPU etc. If you can fork out for a nice CPU then i'm sure you can fork out for 1gb more RAM.

Maybe he's his reasons for not buying more, maybe he'll upgrade later, what do we know? Is this a reason to freak out like this (not referring to your post)?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:40 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Andy wrote:
Yeah but for crying out loud, 1GB should be a bare minimum for ANY pc these days, no matter what the specs are of the CPU etc. If you can fork out for a nice CPU then i'm sure you can fork out for 1gb more RAM.

Maybe he's his reasons for not buying more, maybe he'll upgrade later, what do we know? Is this a reason to freak out like this (not referring to your post)?


I wasn't freaking out, I was simply making it known that normally people wouldn't buy such a small amount of RAM with the rest of the pc being such a high spec.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:42 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
empireum wrote:
Andy wrote:
Yeah but for crying out loud, 1GB should be a bare minimum for ANY pc these days, no matter what the specs are of the CPU etc. If you can fork out for a nice CPU then i'm sure you can fork out for 1gb more RAM.

Maybe he's his reasons for not buying more, maybe he'll upgrade later, what do we know? Is this a reason to freak out like this (not referring to your post)?


I wasn't freaking out, I was simply making it known that normally people wouldn't buy such a small amount of RAM with the rest of the pc being such a high spec.

And I wasn't saying it was you who freaked out.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:44 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Andy wrote:
empireum wrote:
Andy wrote:
Yeah but for crying out loud, 1GB should be a bare minimum for ANY pc these days, no matter what the specs are of the CPU etc. If you can fork out for a nice CPU then i'm sure you can fork out for 1gb more RAM.

Maybe he's his reasons for not buying more, maybe he'll upgrade later, what do we know? Is this a reason to freak out like this (not referring to your post)?


I wasn't freaking out, I was simply making it known that normally people wouldn't buy such a small amount of RAM with the rest of the pc being such a high spec.

And I wasn't saying it was you who freaked out.


I know that ;) The freaking out bit seemed like an open question to all in the topic.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:45 am 
Reply with quote
I'd be willing to bet that Beta_train is a young lad with little cash to spare.
Not everyone builds a mega ram unit from scratch, gee's some people
like to [censored] & moan don't they. 8-)


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:49 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Unknown wrote:
I'd be willing to bet that Beta_train is a young lad with little cash to spare.
Not everyone builds a mega ram unit from scratch, gee's some people
like to p**s & moan don't they. 8-)


Yup. But it gets me that people fork out on mega CPU and mega GFX and then get a weak amount of RAM and still expect mega performance. If anything just getting more RAM can have a massive performance boost.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
Unknown wrote:
I'd be willing to bet that Beta_train is a young lad with little cash to spare.
Not everyone builds a mega ram unit from scratch, gee's some people
like to p**s & moan don't they. 8-)


Yup. But it gets me that people fork out on mega CPU and mega GFX and then get a weak amount of RAM and still expect mega performance. If anything just getting more RAM can have a massive performance boost.

In this case, he didn't get a mega CPU (the 4200+ is moderate) and a mega GFX (the chipset has integrated graphics). The specs are moderate, and so is the amount of RAM. Why do you think he's expecting mega performance? We don't even know what he's going to use the PC for. But still, some people go on saying that's pathetic and all. That is entirely unnecessary. It's his PC, he uses it and he probably will be satisfied.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:01 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
empireum wrote:
Andy wrote:
Unknown wrote:
I'd be willing to bet that Beta_train is a young lad with little cash to spare.
Not everyone builds a mega ram unit from scratch, gee's some people
like to p**s & moan don't they. 8-)


Yup. But it gets me that people fork out on mega CPU and mega GFX and then get a weak amount of RAM and still expect mega performance. If anything just getting more RAM can have a massive performance boost.

In this case, he didn't get a mega CPU (the 4200+ is moderate) and a mega GFX (the chipset has integrated graphics). The specs are moderate, and so is the amount of RAM. Why do you think he's expecting mega performance? We don't even know what he's going to use the PC for. But still, some people go on saying that's pathetic and all. That is entirely unnecessary. It's his PC, he uses it and he probably will be satisfied.


Maybe so but this is often the case when people go out and build new pc's these days. They cut back on one thing to buy something else more expensive on some other hardware then realise once its built, hold on, that wasn't a great idea.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:05 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
Maybe so but this is often the case when people go out and build new pc's these days. They cut back on one thing to buy something else more expensive on some other hardware then realise once its built, hold on, that wasn't a great idea.

This may be true in some cases, but not in all. An example: If I were to build a new box right now, I'd get: a) a quad-core CPU, b) at least 4GB of RAM but c) a low-end GPU. So I buy a kick-ass CPU and a load of RAM but heavily cut back on the GPU. Why? Because I am not a gamer at all, but still need a powerful system for development. What's wrong with that if the system suits my needs? And there's no reason for others to have a go at someone. In other words, everyone shall buy what he needs.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:30 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12392

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I understand your point but RAM should never be something to cut back on.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Andy wrote:
I understand your point but RAM should never be something to cut back on.

Fully agreed.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Agree also, but i have done this before for the following reason.

When i get some cash, enough to build a computer, i will always build with a view to upgrade. Since RAM is the cheapest major upgrade, i will build the computer with a smaller amount of RAM (usually 1 stick) and within a month, if not less, i will be able to buy a matching stick and upgrade the RAM...

That said, i wouldn't leave it with 1Gb... not with those components..

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Posts
149
As always, as a person with only old computers, I see nothing wrong with those specs. :P


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 2:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:42 am

Posts
173

Location
Manchester, UK

Favourite OS
AmigaOS3.9
When I can afford to get a better computer than this one (AMD Sempron 2600+) I'll get the best possible CPU and GFX I can aford, the RAM and HD's will have to be upgraded at a later date. RAM is by FAR the easiest of the to upgrade/replace, so 1GB will prolly be enough untill such time where an upgrade can be afforded.

Thanks.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 3:18 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:33 am

Posts
81
There is nothing wrong with those specs. Before I got my laptop, my main pc was my desktop that runs a Socket 754 Athlon 64 3000+, has 1GB of PC3200, and until recently, had a Radeon 9600 Pro (upgraded to 7600 GS last winter). I did everything, including gaming on that. Ram is cheap, so when he feels he needs to get more ram, he can easily get it. The only thing I see lacking on that list is a good gfx card, but if he doesn't game, then it is fine.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 8:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:41 pm

Posts
108

Location
Nova Scotia Canada
First off, I only plan on using this as my main PC(Internet, Programming, Youtube) Also install some beta's of Vista. It is currently running linux and I can notice a BIG difference from my Mac Mini, so I'm more than content. Also I will be getting more ram when I can get some more cash, I will probably buy a bigger Hard Drive. Thanks to all who defended me.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:24 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am

Posts
1915

Location
New Zealand
if he wants to run vista, its way better with 2gb ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:34 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:45 pm

Posts
1432

Location
UK

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074
___ wrote:
if he wants to run vista, its way better with 2gb ;)
o' rly?
I have vista on 1GB ram and it runs smoothly. Yes, its true, i use XP most of time, its just simply better than Vista. But i have tested Vista and it runs as nice on 1GB (DDR2) as on 2GB (DDR2). And yes, i tryed both x86 and x64. Now i use x86 because of better driver support (that is not so good anyway) and i dont need x64...
EDIT: Maybe my specs are not too new but i dont need upgrating it right now, everything just runs fine. And no, i do NOT need DX10 GPU and quad core CPU :^)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:42 am

Posts
173

Location
Manchester, UK

Favourite OS
AmigaOS3.9
Beta_Train, no worries.

I for one, can understand lack of money... adn as I said, RAM is by far the cheapest upgrade, so I would be content for now with one GB, though I would of course look to get more when the moeny for it arrives.

On a strictly personal note, I would probably go for a better gfx-card than my current one first of all.... because, GeForce4MX isn't really that much to be proud of anymore :lol


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:41 pm

Posts
108

Location
Nova Scotia Canada
Okay so I just ran into some money. I may order another gig or two maybe. And I just installed Windows FLP on this(Only windows disc I could find laying around, and going to install Vista Pre-RTM though (that still works right?)).


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS