BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 10h, 47m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 2475MB of 6411MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Bad RAM...        Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1835

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
... well, could it make a mother-board blow up? Or at least break beyond any repair?

Also, what all could cause a mother-board to blow up, or at least break beyond any repair? :?

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:12 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
If you mean PHYSICALLY blow up, then it would have to be a capacitor (assuming again that said explosion was ON the motherboard)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1835

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Well, a guy from Romania told me, that 5-6 years ago, a friend of his decided to plug in his PC's original RAM stick, which hadn't been used for months (he replaced it with another RAM stick before) back into that PC, in addition to the new stick, so to double the amount of RAM to 512 MB. And as a result, the mother-board blew up, or, as he said, it "ate half of his mother-board". :?

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
929
Memory doesn't explode. It's like saying my bowl of cereal exploded. Or my socks exploded.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1835

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Well, actually, he claimed that the bad RAM made a capacitor on the mother-board explode, causing a chain reaction, which in the end, led to the whole mother-board exploding. Now, is such an event really possible? :?

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:33 am

Posts
81
I suppose it is possible to cause a short with some bad ram.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 2:17 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Posts
1513
some motherboard have a limit of how many ram could be install.
like i got this low-end asus motherboard which does support more than 1 stick of 1GB ram. I think if you use 3 sticks of 1GB ram, it would overload the circuit which could lead to a blow up. As i never tested this, i can't confirm that this would happen, plus different motherboard acts differently. maybe he has a bad one... :roll:


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:24 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12384

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
It would never blow up due to a short. Power supplies have short circuit and overload protection, they pretty much always have.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:35 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
1835

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Well, I was asking, because I wanted to try the broken PC's RAM in the PC I'm currently on. However, I just found out, that this will be impossible, since the RAM in question is DDR 2 (PC2-5300), while the PC I'm currently on, has DDR. ;)

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
PCem help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS