BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 21d, 19h, 31m | CPU: 37% | MEM: 5626MB of 12227MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: upgrading an ipaq h3630        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Posts
274

Location
The Bermuda Triangle

Favourite OS
WFW 3.11/Win 98SE
i was wondering, i have a new/used compaq ipaq h3630, and i comes with wince 3.0, i was wondering, is it possible to upgrade wince 3.0 in my ipaq to a more recent version? any ideas?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:40 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:51 pm

Posts
164

Location
massachusetts

Favourite OS
4074
ipaqs use ROM which cant be overwritten with a new version of windows ce, but if you look around on the internet, you might find a linux distro for it somewhere, like Familiar Linux


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Posts
274

Location
The Bermuda Triangle

Favourite OS
WFW 3.11/Win 98SE
yeah, the closest i could find were for HP ipaq models 2xxx and 4xxx, ironic ain't it?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
930
Besides, you cant just "Install" Windows CE. It has to be "built" for specific hardware, generally with proprietary drivers.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:38 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:33 am

Posts
81
There might be an update from hp.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Posts
274

Location
The Bermuda Triangle

Favourite OS
WFW 3.11/Win 98SE
sorry, i figured windows ce worked the same way the sony PSP firmwares do(i am a proud PSP CFW user.), only you have to pay through the nose....

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:30 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
teriaki 511 wrote:
sorry, i figured windows ce worked the same way the sony PSP firmwares do(i am a proud PSP CFW user.), only you have to pay through the nose....

Unless HP/Compaq provides a ROM update explicitly for the H3630 containing a newer Windows CE version, you're pretty much out of luck.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS