BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 17h, 0m | CPU: 22% | MEM: 2920MB of 8095MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: vmWare or Virtual PC?        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:38 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
I'm getting sick of constantly having to update/obtain serials for vmware workstation...

Is VPC2007 that much of a step down from the latest VMWare?

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:44 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
it's slower (by quite a bit, but it still runs ok, its just more CPU intensive taks are slower), but it has better compatibility with older Windows...

You just have to be careful if you plan on using Virtual PC with Linux...

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm

Posts
342

Location
Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Favourite OS
Chicago (hometown pride)
Having problems with your VMware serials? I have one that has yet to cause me problems /digs around for file


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:48 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
VMware's superior to VirtualPC, and there's the free VMware Server. I'd never use VirtualPC under any circumstances.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
That is your choice, what you prefer.

But with VPC you dont have USB and it is a bit slower.
You cant capture a movie, still you can get a screen to capture.

But if you only install windows (Linux can also but VPC doesnt support 24bit colour), than you can use VPC.
And with VMware you can ajust more settings then VPC like Videocard memory, stuck at 8MB with Additions and without additions 2-4MB.

I have both but VPC is the one i prefer.

I was writing this up when hounsell answerd so maybe some doubles.

Check [url]vpc.visualwin.com[/url] for what OS's works and dont work in VPC and how to correct it.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:12 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
VMware is far better than Virtual PC, as it has many more features and seems to be much faster. I had one serial for Workstation 5 and one for Workstation 6 and have never needed to change them, not sure what the issue you're having is.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
Meh, my vmware 6 serial keeps deciding to become invalid as I update it...god knows whats wrong with it...

All I really use it for is stuff that doesn't work with Vista x64, I have a vm of XP Pro running in there...

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:06 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
Why do you update it then.

It works fine without updates.
And updating with a generated serial from a keygen doesn't work because its not a registered serial at their end.
Because you register it with a valid-email account.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:13 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Definatley VMWare...better/faster virtual machine emulation in my opinion. It has way more options and is more customizable. However, older version of Windows seem to install easier in VPC.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:14 am 
Reply with quote
vmware, its much faster and has much more features, you should be beta tester, then youll get a free fullversion like me :D



greetz


Top
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
DjRob wrote:
Why do you update it then.

It works fine without updates.
And updating with a generated serial from a keygen doesn't work because its not a registered serial at their end.
Because you register it with a valid-email account.

It forces me to upgrade, telling me the build I'm using has expired :shock: Pretty sure I'm not using the betas too.

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am

Posts
1115

Location
Germany
I prefer VirtualBox :)

_________________
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:04 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Koptor wrote:
DjRob wrote:
Why do you update it then.

It works fine without updates.
And updating with a generated serial from a keygen doesn't work because its not a registered serial at their end.
Because you register it with a valid-email account.

It forces me to upgrade, telling me the build I'm using has expired :shock: Pretty sure I'm not using the betas too.

I've never had that message. Try just downloading the trial version from their website and then entering a non-trial Workstation 6 serial. What do you mean by updating? I downloading build 6.0.0.45731, which I got from the VMware website when 6 was released and that is still the current version on there today.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:36 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Posts
149
Vmware is a lot better, however I don't use it. I use VPC2007. Vmware installs way too many services, and devices into the host system. I personally don't like all that stuff on my computer so because of that fact I use VPC.

I know it is a stupid reason, but VPC2007 suits my needs just fine.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:26 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
idontknow wrote:
Vmware installs way too many services, and devices into the host system. I personally don't like all that stuff on my computer so because of that fact I use VPC.

I just disable all the services, they don't seem to be particularly necessary to VMware's operation.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:42 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm

Posts
186

Location
Lincolnshire UK

Favourite OS
Neptune
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
idontknow wrote:
Vmware installs way too many services, and devices into the host system. I personally don't like all that stuff on my computer so because of that fact I use VPC.

I just disable all the services, they don't seem to be particularly necessary to VMware's operation.

Anything I can do about those fake network devices? They're slightly annoying...

_________________
lol, internet


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:50 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
@Koptor
They should only be necessary if you require networking in the VMs. If you don't, it may be worth a try to disable them. I have never tried this myself though, so be prepared for unexpected results.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:02 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
I think it's safe to disable them - one seems to be for the "Bridged" network setting in a VMware machine, and the other for the NAT setting, so you should be able to disable one or both of them if you don't use those settings.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:09 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
I'll agree that VMWare is far superior to Virtual PC...

One solution is to get the free VMWare player and make or download a frontend for it that basiclaly just edits the vm's config file and I'm sure on some frontends you get functionality equal to QEMU Manager (for QEMU).

Give it a shot, it's gotta be better than warezing it or using Virtual PC.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:33 am

Posts
81
Another vote for VirtualBox here. I use it and find that performance is on par with VMware. It is much better than virtual pc.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
strekship wrote:
Another vote for VirtualBox here. I use it and find that performance is on par with VMware. It is much better than virtual pc.

Seconded. It's a great open-source alternative to VMware but I found it to be a bit rough on the edges sometimes. And it doesn't have a function to directly make a screenshot of the VM window, you have to rely on your host OS' feature to do that. That's pretty much the only feature I'm actively missing, though.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: vmWare or Virtual PC?        Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:25 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1365

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
I like virtual box, VPC & Qemu... Qemu is kind of fun to play with the source from time to time.... But yeah VPC is kind of limited, but it's free (like beer)... Virtual Box is the real dark horse.... Heck, it's got the USB pass thru that Virtual PC on windows is sadly lacking.

After dealing with Macromedia BS on ESX I'm done with Vmware. Heck even the player has gone from a 20mb download to some 200MB OS worthy download.

VMWare has lost scope of itself, and is about to be netscaped.

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re:        Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
965

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Luckie wrote:
I prefer VirtualBox :)

Yeah V'Box is good, runs Linux so perfectly that, but for not supporting widescreen, you'd swear it's running native :P.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: vmWare or Virtual PC?        Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:27 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:30 pm

Posts
303
VirtualBox here, although I should try VMWare again sometime.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: vmWare or Virtual PC?        Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2404
My analysis:
VMWare, it's fast but incompatible
VPC2007, it's slow but more compatible


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS