Your Favorite Toshiba Laptop

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Your Favorite Toshiba Laptop

Post by clt_42 »

Whats Yours

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Portégé R500. Small, light and beautiful. I'd buy it in a heartbeat if it weren't so expensive.

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

toshiba 1100 and 6100

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

I've only ever owned a Satellite 4000CDS and an old school (from what I can remember, accompanied by a little googling) T3100e. both were good machines, the Satellite's been replaced by a Compaq Armada 1700 of a similar spec but I would've been happy to keep using the Satellite.

I've heard the quality of Toshiba portables has fallen in recent years but not having used a newer model I wouldn't know. Older laptops though, Toshiba and Compaq all the way.

AnDrEwP182
FTP Access
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Post by AnDrEwP182 »

It was and still will be, my good old Libretto 50ct.

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

BTW AndrewP182 cant you put windows xp on a libretto 100 ct? My friend put a 128 mb dimm in there and it worked!(even though it's max is 64 MB)

AnDrEwP182
FTP Access
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Post by AnDrEwP182 »

I don't have one, so I wouldn't be able to test. If you put in a RAM extention you could run FLP quite nicley and faster than XP.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

clt_42 wrote:BTW AndrewP182 cant you put windows xp on a libretto 100 ct? My friend put a 128 mb dimm in there and it worked!(even though it's max is 64 MB)
XP works on 64 MB anyway, MS say 64 MB is the minimum requirement, and it will even work on less than that, down to about 24 MB I think.
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
clt_42 wrote:BTW AndrewP182 cant you put windows xp on a libretto 100 ct? My friend put a 128 mb dimm in there and it worked!(even though it's max is 64 MB)
XP works on 64 MB anyway, MS say 64 MB is the minimum requirement, and it will even work on less than that, down to about 24 MB I think.
You have to have 64MB present during Setup if you don't override the check, otherwise it'll fail.

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

empireum wrote:
Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
clt_42 wrote:BTW AndrewP182 cant you put windows xp on a libretto 100 ct? My friend put a 128 mb dimm in there and it worked!(even though it's max is 64 MB)
XP works on 64 MB anyway, MS say 64 MB is the minimum requirement, and it will even work on less than that, down to about 24 MB I think.
You have to have 64MB present during Setup if you don't override the check, otherwise it'll fail.
nLite ftw!

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

On the internet on Loadup.ru this guy ran windows vista home premium on 128 mb of ram. It took a long time to load

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

meh, toshiba.
Thinkpad+Windows 2000=
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?

hjort
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 11:08 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post by hjort »

ZSS9393 wrote:meh, toshiba.
Thinkpad+Windows 2000=
Agree

However, the Toshiba Libretto line looks nice
My gaming machine: AST Advantage 6066d. Cyrix 66MHz 486DX. 4MB RAM. 512KB Cirrus Logic onboard graphics. Creativa Vibra 16 ISA. 520MB HDD, 3.5" FDD, 40x CD-ROM. MS-DOS 6.22/Windows 3.1

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

ibm makes the worstest comps ever, their thinkpads cant even play bioshock

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

clt_42 wrote:ibm makes the worstest comps ever, their thinkpads cant even play bioshock
That was a joke, right? :/

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

clt_42 wrote:ibm makes the worstest comps ever, their thinkpads cant even play bioshock
Dude, wth is "bioshock"? Must be some kiddie game. Yet another reason IBMs rock.
EDIT: Ah, no it's some stupid XBox>PC port game, an example of bad programming. id>You. BTW, id's games run on Thinkpads. Yet another reason Thinkpads own your bonez.
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

clt_42 wrote:ibm makes the worstest comps ever, their thinkpads cant even play bioshock
ROFL!!! Who would buy a ThinkPad to play games on it?

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

empireum wrote:
clt_42 wrote:ibm makes the worstest comps ever, their thinkpads cant even play bioshock
ROFL!!! Who would buy a ThinkPad to play games on it?
Me. Well, Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds works well. Made in 1999. One of the best games ever. Not to be confused with Star Wars Galaxies or Star Wars Battlefront.
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

bioshock is not a kiddie game and it needs at least a geforce 6600 ibm's overall are VALUE pC's heed my words Cheap Chinese Small buiness market and hey IBm doesnt make computer products lenovo does. Do your research. You are a stupid n00b ZSS9393. Wanna take a look Mr.n00bish? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bioshock and moonlit compaqs can even play 3d games and laptops should be made for all purposes.Ibm's cant, i had a t30 with mobility radeon 7500 and half life 2 site it could play it. It couldnt!

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

clt_42 wrote:moonlit compaqs can even play 3d games
I wasn't saying that laptops couldn't play 3D games, I was suggesting that evaluating a laptop based on the fact it can't play BioShock is really pitiful...

strekship
FTP Access
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:33 am

Post by strekship »

Back in the day I used to have a Toshiba Satellite 460CDT. It was great back then.

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

yes toshiba CDT 's were one of the best laptops in 98

ZSS9393
FTP Access
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: In front of a Thinkpad
Contact:

Post by ZSS9393 »

clt_42 wrote:bioshock is not a kiddie game and it needs at least a geforce 6600 ibm's overall are VALUE pC's heed my words Cheap Chinese Small buiness market and hey IBm doesnt make computer products lenovo does. Do your research. You are a stupid n00b ZSS9393. Wanna take a look Mr.n00bish? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bioshock and moonlit compaqs can even play 3d games and laptops should be made for all purposes.Ibm's cant, i had a t30 with mobility radeon 7500 and half life 2 site it could play it. It couldnt!
Playing cheaply programmed games on a business laptop. A great pastime for a total n00b. aNd whEn YoU talk like this it Makes you look like a total Kiddie.
http://ubuntu.com
^Ubuntu 8. New installer. Why the heck didn't they do this years ago?

Rocky

Post by Rocky »

Well I have a Toshiba Satellite A135 and I really like it, so I'd say I'd stick with it so far, unless I find one that's outstandingly better

compact-mac
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:55 pm
Location: /bin/bash
Contact:

Post by compact-mac »

Have not used Tosh mutch, can't really say (But they make good telly's )
CM's Old Website
Post Tenebras Spero Lucem
Forget DNS/HTTPS or DNS/TLS, the future is DNS over Avian.

Post Reply