BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 4d, 0h, 17m | CPU: 21% | MEM: 2116MB of 4371MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Refreshing D:\ in DOS        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 1:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
Whenever I am booting from a Windows 98 CD and I switch the CD to a non-bootable OS (Windows 2000 beta in which I'm gonna install via d:\I386\WINNT), DOS lists the files from the previous CD (Windows 98 CD) and it won't allow me to access the actual files on the current Windows 2000 disc. This is just an example, I know it has nothing to do with the Windows 2000 CD. How can I "refresh" or make DOS re-read the contents of the current CD that's in the drive?

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am

Posts
40

Location
New Zealand
Are you at a command prompt? If so you could perhaps try "dir" to list the contents of the directory.

However I think that it would be more simple to boot from a Windows 2000 startup floppy, have you tried that?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
What I do is: (for NT4 or something)

(Put CD in)
d:
cd i386
winnt /b
(Bad command or file name)
cd i386
winnt /b

This works for me.

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
DOS (or MSCDEX, for that matter) assumes that as long as it didn't read anything (some data is still in the cache, so you can cd into directories that don't exist on the current CD), the media in the drive hasn't changed. When you try to access something that isn't there, DOS will realize the media has changed and drop you to the root of the drive (that's why the above suggestion works properly).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am

Posts
725

Location
TeXaS

Favourite OS
Windows Vista Beta 1 (6.0.5112)
kLOTTiS wrote:
Are you at a command prompt? If so you could perhaps try "dir" to list the contents of the directory.

However I think that it would be more simple to boot from a Windows 2000 startup floppy, have you tried that?


Tried that.. When I type in /dir, it just lists the previous files for the CD that WAS in the drive. Secondly, I'm using a Windows 98 CD to boot rather than 4 Windows 2000 boot floppies because that just takes too long. I just load smartdrv from the windows 98 cd, lock the c: drive, and swap cd's so I can start installation from the unbootable :? Windows 2000 Beta.

_________________
Laptop: Precision M6300 2.4GHz Core 2 T8300 / 4GB RAM / 320GB HD / ATI Quadro FX 3600m
Server: PowerEdge 1950 (Gen III) (x1) 2.5Ghz Xeon E5420 / 24GB FB-DDR2 / 1.5tb 7.2k SAS RAID 0
Desktop: Precision T5500 2.66GHz Xeon X5650 / 24GB DDR3 ECC / 2x 300GB Seagate 15k7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:04 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
4tified wrote:
kLOTTiS wrote:
Are you at a command prompt? If so you could perhaps try "dir" to list the contents of the directory.

However I think that it would be more simple to boot from a Windows 2000 startup floppy, have you tried that?


Tried that.. When I type in /dir, it just lists the previous files for the CD that WAS in the drive. Secondly, I'm using a Windows 98 CD to boot rather than 4 Windows 2000 boot floppies because that just takes too long. I just load smartdrv from the windows 98 cd, lock the c: drive, and swap cd's so I can start installation from the unbootable :? Windows 2000 Beta.

Try dir when there's no disc in the drive (select abort when it complains), then inserting the CD. This should flush the cache and let you see the new CD.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 6:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:42 am

Posts
173

Location
Manchester, UK

Favourite OS
AmigaOS3.9
I would advice you to get a win98 bootdiskette..... so that you can boot from the diskette with your W2kBeta in the CD-drive, already.....

Win98SE Bootdisks are wonderful inventions :D


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS